1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X1900XT to X1900xtx BIOS flash

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Flint, Jan 28, 2006.

  1. Flint

    Flint New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    G'burg, MD
    Since the only difference I can see so far in the specs between the ATI x1900xt and the x1900xtx are clock speeds, is it possible that the only real difference is in the BIOS? What I'm wondering is if I could purchase an x1900xt version for less and just flash it to the xtx version.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    xt has the 1.2ns mem chip the xtx has the 1.1ns mem chip !!

    u can just overclock the x1900xt to xtx speeds , better than flashing the bios , which may or may not work properly ! safer bet that way
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Flint

    Flint New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    G'burg, MD
    Ahhhh...I thought they both had 1.1ns memory. Thanks for that bit of info.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Rattle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Any place with 1900 card bios yet? I have a Sapphire 1900XT coming in the mail. If it has 1.1 memory I'll be flashing it but I'd like to get the right bios. Does anyone think it even matters which bios is used since all the cards XT/XTX will be using sammy memory?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    858 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    I have the Built by ATI X1900xtx bios if anyone needs it:toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Send it to W1zzard so he can add it to the Bios Collection.

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. HousERaT New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    109 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Is there a bios vault here? If so please show me the way.......
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,448 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    course if the two cards chips are speed graded flashing the faster bios might just end up with a chip that dosnt work.. apart from the self-kidology factor (my card is really an xtx cos the bios says so) i cant see much point..

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    858 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!

    Done! :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Ser-J

    Ser-J

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    213 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, USA
    So did anybody flashed x1900xt yet???:banghead:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Rattle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    41 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yes mines been flashed for a while, runs perfect at xtx speeds.....
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Ser-J

    Ser-J

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    213 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, USA
    Hey can you post some benchmark numbers? Also after you flashed the card did you have any issues, is it 100% stable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. isasa74 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi guys
    i've tried to flash my sapphire x1900xt to the bios of xtx and to do it i've used the bios i've found in the vault of this site..but the tool atiwinflash didn't let me finish the flashing since a message popped up "p/n doesn't match" it was in italian but the sense was the same..
    what can i do?
    thanks
     
  16. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    I had my X1950XT flashed at 678/825 and runned smoothly...
    Oh and another difference is that the XT has DDR3 and the XTX DDR4 if i aint mistaken, not to mention the 256 vs 512 ram.
     
  17. isasa74 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no the ddr4 are for x1950xtx...not for x1900 series
     
  18. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Sorry my bad, confused the versions
     
  19. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    No need, just adjust GPU voltage with the cards current BIOS and edit clocks to desired frequencies
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. isasa74 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How to operate to change voltage? and what's the difference between xt's voltage and xtx's one?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)