• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

X800XL Crash 'n burn ???

leo.1980

I am a overclocking newbie and after reading postings here about how to go about overclocking my ATi x800xl, i let ATITool find my max core. It went up to 423.xx (temp 63) when it started showing artifacts. The core came down to 420.xx (Temp. 65) when the monitor went in standby mode. I tried turning the PC on off and back on but the monitor wont come out of standby. The fan on the Ati x800xl is still working, I can feel the air. I removed the ATi card and connected the monitor to onboard graphics port and it works. Have I ruined my card? :confused: I was in front of the comp when it happened so I am sure about the temperatures. Can the card burn at 65 ?? :confused: please help as I dont have the invoice for the card so cannot get it replaced.

Processor AMD 5800x
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom Water Loop
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z neo
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage Sabrent Rocket 4 NVMEs / SSDs
Display(s) 27" AOC AG271QX
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolve
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster AE-7
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750
Software Windows 10
Go into safemode and delete your drivers and get new ones...

-Dan

leo.1980

It is not even going to the bios, let alone safe mode.

Processor AMD 5800x
Motherboard ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Custom Water Loop
Memory 32GB G.Skill Trident Z neo
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage Sabrent Rocket 4 NVMEs / SSDs
Display(s) 27" AOC AG271QX
Case Phanteks Enthoo Evolve
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster AE-7
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750
Software Windows 10