• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

xbmc live is the balls!

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#26
Noticed no difference what so ever my self. Wireless \ wired PC laptop or PS3 load and stream all the same to me using Netflix.

What have you noticed ?.
not sure. both a wired PC and a wired PS3. PS3 just looks better.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#27
I agree...I stream threw my PC to my Plasma in the sig and I stream from my LG Blu-Ray player to the Plasma in the sig and I see absolutely no difference.
Having said that if you are streaming netflix HD and you RE ON A CONNECTION THAT NETFLIX DEEMS NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR hd STREAM THEN YOU GET A STANDARD STREAM..i SEE THIS IN MY HOUSE WITH MY WIRELESS CONNECTIONS..THEY ARE NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR hd STREAM...opps shit I didn't mean to shout the damn caps key got me..srry.
Well 20Mbs\4Mbs is plenty for HD. Even with with the PS3 playing a HD program as well as a PC running one at the same time looks the same as if just one of them running it.

not sure. both a wired PC and a wired PS3. PS3 just looks better.
Dunno... I have noticed streaming to be better quality than the actual DVD's though lol.

I take it you mean any HD program right or are you on about some HD ones ?.

EDIT: With the new netflix ( PS3 ) you can turn on options to show you if it's in HD and will show from low\SD to the highest that i have seen yet is xHigh\HD which still don't say how high that is lol.

Been thinking of trying to rig the connection though the comp just to see what the bandwidth really is lol.
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#28
beats me.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,605 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,363
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#29
I burned the ISO image but it's asking for a pass word when I boot off the disk! WTH?

any Ideas?
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#30
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,715 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#31
The user is xbmc and the pass is xbmc - read that on their site somewheres.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#32
Netflix on PS3 performs better for me, especially on audio.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#33
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#34
Netflix Plays better on all LOCKED (DRM) OEM hardware...
Silverlight will not allow HD content to be streamed on a Pc from Netflix like Adobe Flash does with HULU....yet...
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#35
Netflix Plays better on all LOCKED (DRM) OEM hardware...
Silverlight will not allow HD content to be streamed on a Pc from Netflix like Adobe Flash does with HULU....yet...
Well thats BS as when HD is available or a movie on PC it shows you a little HD option so you can turn it on or off.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#36
Well thats BS as when HD is available or a movie on PC it shows you a little HD option so you can turn it on or off.
I see what your saying but it seems to be more like DVD Quality to me...
Case and point
Watch Heros Season 4 on Xbox and on Pc
It's not the same HD
On Xbox it's clear vibrant and shiny on my 47" TV and on my HTPC it's dull and blotchy

I picked Heros season 4 because it's on the HD>HD for PC & MAC list
Plus almost all Watch instantly is HD on Xbox not just a short list
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2009
Messages
860 (0.28/day)
Likes
117
Location
Manteca, Ca
System Name Rebirth
Processor Intel i5 2500k @4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Megahalem 120x25 x2 GT AP-15 Push/Pull
Memory 2x4Gb Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X + MSI HD7950 TF3
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 120 SSD + Seagate 7200.12 1TB + 500gig WD + 3TB Hitachi
Display(s) X-Star Glossy DP2710
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar STX
Power Supply Antec CP-850
Software Microsoft Windows 8 Pro x64
#37
How are you guys connecting to your TVs, via HDMI? Have any of you tried WHDI yet? If so how is it?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#38
HDMI with Xbox and HTPC
Xbox has better sound But I'm using a HD2600 on the HTPC prolly a bit better with a HD3xxx or better

Xbox has higher frame rates smoother shinier appearance Looks as good as 720p (1368x720) with Medium contrast
Pc looks no better than 1280x720 with dull color and bad contrast
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#39
1280x720 IS 720p, jmc.

You are thinking of 1366x768. That's the resolution of most "720p" TVs. They initially chose that resolution on LCD TVs for manufacturing reasons, and it just stuck.

Thing is, the movies are only 1280x720. Those TVs just stretch the signal to fit their panel. Some of the older ones don't even accept the 1366x768 signal from a computer. They will only accept a 1280x720 signal.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
3,340 (1.04/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Ohio
System Name Spanky
Processor Ryzen 1400
Motherboard MSI 350 gaming pro
Cooling NZXT Kracken X42
Memory 8gb Crucial 2133 at 2667
Video Card(s) Nvidia 1060
Storage 250gb WD blue
Display(s) Acer 32" 2560x1440
Case Raidmax Sigma
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy FX
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Epicgear
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
#40
YEAH..
Netflix on Xbox is 720 which is 1280x720 OK I get that
But That's what it's supposed to be on PC Which I guess it could be but with really bad contrast compared to the Xbox...

and shit that's not HD for PC is for the XBOX

But the PC even with HD doesn't look as good as the Xbox or the PS3 or Roku or Sony Bravia Tv's or with Samsung BR players & Tv's

Anyways Does Silverlight play nice with XBMC
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,405 (3.56/day)
Likes
4,257
System Name VHOST01 | Desktop
Processor i7 980x | i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard Gigabyte x58 Extreme | AsRock MicroATX Z170M Exteme4
Cooling Prolimatech Megahelams | Stock
Memory 6x4 GB @ 1333 | 2x 8G Gskill Aegis DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) Nvidia GT 210 | Nvidia GTX 970 FTW+
Storage 4x2 TB Enterprise RAID5 |Corsair mForce nvme 250G
Display(s) N/A | Dell 27" 1440p 8bit GSYNC
Case Lian Li ATX Mid Tower | Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) NA | On Board
Power Supply SeaSonic 500W Gold | Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse N/A | Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard N/A | Posiden Z RGB Cherry MX Brown
Software Centos 7 | Windows 10
#41
YEAH..
Netflix on Xbox is 720 which is 1280x720 OK I get that
But That's what it's supposed to be on PC Which I guess it could be but with really bad contrast compared to the Xbox...

and shit that's not HD for PC is for the XBOX

But the PC even with HD doesn't look as good as the Xbox or the PS3 or Roku or Sony Bravia Tv's or with Samsung BR players & Tv's

Anyways Does Silverlight play nice with XBMC
silverlight does not matter. xbmc in no way uses silverlight.