• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

xfire sli mobo

Garb3

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
398 (0.10/day)
Likes
6
Location
Hartlepool, England
Processor AMD Athlon 5200+ x2 stock
Motherboard Abit KN9-S
Cooling zalman 9500 modded with 120mm fan + 3x120mm front, rear and side fans
Memory OCZ 5GB DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Gold GX XTC
Video Card(s) PowerColour Ati Radeon 3850 512Mb
Storage 220 gig
Display(s) LG Flatron L1730S
Case Termaltake VC2000 Mambo (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC 97 HD
Power Supply EYE-T POWER MAGNA 600W
Software Windows Vista 64bit
#1
i'm really sorry asking the question :eek: but......

xfire and sli mobo's does it matter performace wise what cards you have in them

e.g. sli mobo with 2x x1950 pros or xfire mobo with 2 x 8800gts

really sorry if this is a total noob question but i just thought u that with sli being nvidia's 2 gfx card solution and xfire being ati's it would make sense to have the same brand cards and get better performance:confused:
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#2
If you use dual ati cards it has to be xfire, for dual nvid it has to be sli.

they wont work in opposites.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#3
If you use dual ati cards it has to be xfire, for dual nvid it has to be sli.

they wont work in opposites.
right, but some boards support both.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#4
fo rly?
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#5
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#6
what i meant is that so? and what models are these?
 

Garb3

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
398 (0.10/day)
Likes
6
Location
Hartlepool, England
Processor AMD Athlon 5200+ x2 stock
Motherboard Abit KN9-S
Cooling zalman 9500 modded with 120mm fan + 3x120mm front, rear and side fans
Memory OCZ 5GB DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Gold GX XTC
Video Card(s) PowerColour Ati Radeon 3850 512Mb
Storage 220 gig
Display(s) LG Flatron L1730S
Case Termaltake VC2000 Mambo (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC 97 HD
Power Supply EYE-T POWER MAGNA 600W
Software Windows Vista 64bit
#7
just as well i asked then cause i'm lookin for a new mobo and was thinkin of gettin 1 so that i can go xfire cause i already got a x1950 pro and i dont think i need any connections/bridges for xfire to work with pro's

thanks for gettin bk quick(all tho there was no rush lol)
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.82/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#8
I would like to see some actual proof on that claim. I havn't heard of anything like that.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#9
just as well i asked then cause i'm lookin for a new mobo and was thinkin of gettin 1 so that i can go xfire cause i already got a x1950 pro and i dont think i need any connections/bridges for xfire to work with pro's

thanks for gettin bk quick(all tho there was no rush lol)
nah, you need two internal bridges.
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#10
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#11
what board is this?
 

Garb3

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
398 (0.10/day)
Likes
6
Location
Hartlepool, England
Processor AMD Athlon 5200+ x2 stock
Motherboard Abit KN9-S
Cooling zalman 9500 modded with 120mm fan + 3x120mm front, rear and side fans
Memory OCZ 5GB DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Gold GX XTC
Video Card(s) PowerColour Ati Radeon 3850 512Mb
Storage 220 gig
Display(s) LG Flatron L1730S
Case Termaltake VC2000 Mambo (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC 97 HD
Power Supply EYE-T POWER MAGNA 600W
Software Windows Vista 64bit
#12
:nutkick: just goes to show u how much i know about xfire lol
 

Garb3

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
398 (0.10/day)
Likes
6
Location
Hartlepool, England
Processor AMD Athlon 5200+ x2 stock
Motherboard Abit KN9-S
Cooling zalman 9500 modded with 120mm fan + 3x120mm front, rear and side fans
Memory OCZ 5GB DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Gold GX XTC
Video Card(s) PowerColour Ati Radeon 3850 512Mb
Storage 220 gig
Display(s) LG Flatron L1730S
Case Termaltake VC2000 Mambo (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC 97 HD
Power Supply EYE-T POWER MAGNA 600W
Software Windows Vista 64bit
#13
what u think of this board is it any good Asus M2R32-MVP ???
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#14
:nutkick: just goes to show u how much i know about xfire lol
lol it's ok. you would think that if a mobo supported dual x16 (physical) slots, it would be able to run both xfire and sli. i bet that it's just properitory, if they really wanted to do it, they could, but they just don't like the consumer. perhaps there is more than just the need for two pci-e slots, i don't know.
 

Garb3

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2006
Messages
398 (0.10/day)
Likes
6
Location
Hartlepool, England
Processor AMD Athlon 5200+ x2 stock
Motherboard Abit KN9-S
Cooling zalman 9500 modded with 120mm fan + 3x120mm front, rear and side fans
Memory OCZ 5GB DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Gold GX XTC
Video Card(s) PowerColour Ati Radeon 3850 512Mb
Storage 220 gig
Display(s) LG Flatron L1730S
Case Termaltake VC2000 Mambo (Black)
Audio Device(s) Realtek AC 97 HD
Power Supply EYE-T POWER MAGNA 600W
Software Windows Vista 64bit
#15
the only thats miffed me is there are not that many good xfire boards but yer can get a sli for like £55 (from the 1's i have seen so far like anyway
 

Random Murderer

The Anti-Midas
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
6,977 (1.73/day)
Likes
1,887
Location
Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
System Name TOO MUCH RADIATOR! | The TV Box a.k.a. The Shoebox
Processor Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz | Core i5 6600K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard Asus X79 Rampage IV Extreme | Asus Z170i Pro Gaming
Cooling Custom water on CPU and GPU, dual 360mm radiators | Corsair H80i
Memory 4x 8GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-1600 | 2x 4GB G.Skill RipJaws 4 DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD R9 295x2 | PowerColor AMD HD7970
Storage Samsung SSD 830 256GB, various others | 2x 1TB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
Display(s) Dell U2713HM 2560x1440 IPS | Panasonic TC-L32E5 1080p IPS TV
Case Thermaltake Suppressor F51 (stripped down to hold two radiators) | Cooler Master Elite 130
Audio Device(s) RM-DAC -> Xiang Sheng 708b -> Sennheiser HD650 | HDMI sound device on 7970
Power Supply LEPA G1600-MA 1600W | Corsair CX750M 750W
Software Win 10 64
Benchmark Scores over 9000 BungholioMarks, "Bitchin' Fast"
#16
lol it's ok. you would think that if a mobo supported dual x16 (physical) slots, it would be able to run both xfire and sli. i bet that it's just properitory, if they really wanted to do it, they could, but they just don't like the consumer. perhaps there is more than just the need for two pci-e slots, i don't know.
a lot of times you can run sli on crossfire boards with the use of hacked drivers.
in the case of sli, drivers are all you need (and two pcie 16 slots :p), but the drivers wont allow you to run sli unless you are using hardware the drivers want you to, which is why hacked drivers work...
in the case of crossfire, a special hardware chip is required within the northbridge, so you can't run crossfire on an sli board.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#17
a lot of times you can run sli on crossfire boards with the use of hacked drivers.
in the case of sli, drivers are all you need (and two pcie 16 slots :p), but the drivers wont allow you to run sli unless you are using hardware the drivers want you to, which is why hacked drivers work...
in the case of crossfire, a special hardware chip is required within the northbridge, so you can't run crossfire on an sli board.
ahh ok thank you.
 

MaxBurn

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#18
Nvidia hacked for SLI drivers are pretty old versions too, so I wouldn't go shopping with this in mind.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#19
There isn't any hardware limitation. The issue simply is drivers. Like Maxburn said the hacked SLI drivers are quite old, 86 or so. Plus they don't support 8800's.

Perhaps some day AMD and NV won't limit SLI and Crossfire to certain chipsets.
 

MaxBurn

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#20
There isn't any hardware limitation. The issue simply is drivers. Like Maxburn said the hacked SLI drivers are quite old, 86 or so. Plus they don't support 8800's.

Perhaps some day AMD and NV won't limit SLI and Crossfire to certain chipsets.
I think I read somewhere that ATI is\was working on opening this up to all chipsets. I think it is in their best interests. I can't remember the name of the article to google, will ask my friend what it was. Might have been killed from the merger too...

I ran dual 7800GT's on a ULI chipset that had dual PCIEX16 for a little while but had problems with the older driver and some games. Those that worked showed a big jump in speed. It is a damn shame that nvidia chooses to dictate to us what we may use for SLI to sell their only their products.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2005
Messages
1,769 (0.39/day)
Likes
96
Location
Singapore
Processor Intel Core i7 2600k 3.40Ghz @ 4.50Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte P67 UD7 B3
Cooling Antec Kuhler H2O 920
Memory G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3 4GB X2 1600Mhz (Model F3-12800CL7Q-8GBXM)
Video Card(s) Powercolor R9 290 (Stock)
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB / Western Digital Black Cavier 2TB X2
Display(s) Dell U2715H 2560X1440
Case NZXT Phantom
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro Gold 1000W
Mouse Logitech G510
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur Spectrum
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional
#21
I think I read somewhere that ATI is\was working on opening this up to all chipsets. I think it is in their best interests. I can't remember the name of the article to google, will ask my friend what it was. Might have been killed from the merger too...

I ran dual 7800GT's on a ULI chipset that had dual PCIEX16 for a little while but had problems with the older driver and some games. Those that worked showed a big jump in speed. It is a damn shame that nvidia chooses to dictate to us what we may use for SLI to sell their only their products.
That board you're talking about is very old already.