• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Xfx 470 8gb Bios flash corupted and no backup

alynut99

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
12 (0.20/day)
Hello
I have an xfx 470 8gb with black fans, received from a friend, who tried to change his bios, but unfortunately did not save a backup to the original bios.
I tested the whole list of bios and they all appear the same to me in gpu-z .


I specify that I used AMD VBFlash / ATI ATIFlash 3.20 On Windows . I had no error uploading the bios

After deleting the amd driver, gpu-z shows me that I have memory micron, but I didn't upload bios with micron memory (screen 1.png)
 

Attachments

  • gpuz.png
    gpuz.png
    124.4 KB · Views: 44
  • 1.png
    1.png
    55.2 KB · Views: 39
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
231 (0.37/day)
System Name UniRig
Processor i7-7800X @4.3GHz (1.1v)
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling DeepCool Neptwin (1x 120mm TF fan)
Memory 2x16GB Corsair LPX 3600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 6GB Gaming X
Storage 32GB Optane (standalone for OS) + 2TB Seagate Skyhawk (2016) + 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek crap
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Old IBM
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
Please post photos of the card, as you dont have the original (good) bios, then you also need to take the heatsink off to identify the manufacturer of the vram chips. So 2 photos are needed: id sticker of the card, and photo of the memory chips, as shown in the example.
Example:
 

Attachments

  • EXAMPLE identification sticker.jpg
    EXAMPLE identification sticker.jpg
    139.3 KB · Views: 40
  • EXAMPLE memory chips.jpg
    EXAMPLE memory chips.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 45

alynut99

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
12 (0.20/day)
@Nike_486DX Thank you for your time
SKhynix memory .
I only tested bios that have SKhynix
 

Attachments

  • fc771461-eedf-4033-898b-a85634e544f9.jpg
    fc771461-eedf-4033-898b-a85634e544f9.jpg
    584.4 KB · Views: 42
  • bc25a4cb-5d93-4635-9766-1604f77cc45d.jpg
    bc25a4cb-5d93-4635-9766-1604f77cc45d.jpg
    475 KB · Views: 38
  • c7f7ae6b-4acc-4893-8ff9-239430e6fe28.jpg
    c7f7ae6b-4acc-4893-8ff9-239430e6fe28.jpg
    474.8 KB · Views: 45
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
231 (0.37/day)
System Name UniRig
Processor i7-7800X @4.3GHz (1.1v)
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling DeepCool Neptwin (1x 120mm TF fan)
Memory 2x16GB Corsair LPX 3600MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1060 6GB Gaming X
Storage 32GB Optane (standalone for OS) + 2TB Seagate Skyhawk (2016) + 1TB WD Caviar Blue (2010)
Audio Device(s) integrated Realtek crap
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-750FX
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Old IBM
Software Windows 7 Ultimate SP1
try this one https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/197047/197047. the issue about this model of 470 8gb is that there is no vbios for the 8gb in the database, but you can still try "unverified" bios, just be prepared to reflash the card multiple times, until u get it working. Also, in situations like this u will certanly get "subsystem id mismatch", so u will need to use command prompt to force flash the vbios.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
566 (2.03/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
Hello
Keep in mind that there is a chance that your card could be fried(broken).
So all you need right now is patience in order to flash the card many times and try all files that match your card.
 

alynut99

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
12 (0.20/day)
@impero
Hello.
I downloaded them all bios for rx 470 xfx . I try difrend motherboard maybe help but the same.
I also tried an older version of amdvbflash ...no work.
I installed hiveos, I tested all the bios versions there, but nothing.
I have a friend who mines and he also gave me his default bios and I tried to upload them through the hiveos, but it still doesn't work
 

Attachments

  • rx-bios.png
    rx-bios.png
    28.9 KB · Views: 29
Joined
Apr 22, 2021
Messages
566 (2.03/day)
Location
Romania
System Name Office
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Gygabyte H110M
Cooling Zalman
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) MSI Armor OC RX 580 8GB
Storage Main: 1x SSD Samsung 870 Evo 1Tb ; Secondary: 4x SAS HDD in RAID Array
Display(s) 2x Dell 3008 WFP
Case CoolerMaster HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Thermaltake Smart RGB 700W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Dell SmartCard Reader SK 3205
Software Win 10 Pro X64 / Win 7 X86 / Ubuntu
Then mate, there is a chance that your card is dead at a hardware level.
Try to search some tech lab from your area and contact them in order to repair it.
Cheers
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
168 (0.14/day)
Location
Uttar Pradesh, India
Processor AMD R7 1700X @ 4100Mhz
Motherboard MSI B450M MORTAR MAX (MS-7B89)
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory Crucial Technology 16384 MB (DDR4-2666) - XMP 2.0 - P/N: BL16G36C16U4W.M16FE1 X2 @ CL14 DR
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8GB @ 1408Mhz (AMD Auto OC)
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) Acer KG271 1080p @ 81Hz
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex II 750W 80+ Gold
Keyboard Redragon Devarajas RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/mvvj3a
Seems that RX 470 8GB card was sold mainly in Hungaria and your best bet would be to try to find someone with the exact same card
and get them to send you a vBIOS or contact XFX support and ask them nicely for a BIOS with your serial number etc.

If you get a XFX 470 8GB mining bios that works that would be better than having nothing. I was able to game with all my RX 480s mining vBIOS in most cases.
 

brufoloso29

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
6 (0.10/day)
‎Howdy. I give you a tip fail the loading of the bios directly from the cip of the video sceda with a programmer "CH341A 24 25SERIE EEPROM " connects to a usb port download a little programs and delete everything then loads in your bios and you will see that it goes .then offer me a coffee for virtual help of course ...‎
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Ahhzz

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
7,865 (1.55/day)
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 1Tb/WD BLACK SN750 500GB NVMe
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard K68 RGB — CHERRY® MX Red
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit
Salve . ti do un consiglio fail il caricamento del bios direttamente dal cip della sceda video con un programmatore "CH341A 24 25SERIE EEPROM " si collega a una porta usb scarichi un programmini e cancelli tutto poi carichi in tuo bios e vedrai che va .poi mi offri un caffe per l aiuto virtuale naturalmente ...
I'm sorry, this is an English speaking forums :)
 

alynut99

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
12 (0.20/day)
Hello
I found the original bios on someone. I uploaded it, in device manager everything seems to be fine, without error. But in gpuz clock 0 memory 0.
I tried with antimdag-patcher and error to load the driver.
 

Attachments

  • rx470.png
    rx470.png
    125.6 KB · Views: 26
  • original xfx rx470.rom
    256 KB · Views: 21
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
168 (0.14/day)
Location
Uttar Pradesh, India
Processor AMD R7 1700X @ 4100Mhz
Motherboard MSI B450M MORTAR MAX (MS-7B89)
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory Crucial Technology 16384 MB (DDR4-2666) - XMP 2.0 - P/N: BL16G36C16U4W.M16FE1 X2 @ CL14 DR
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8GB @ 1408Mhz (AMD Auto OC)
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) Acer KG271 1080p @ 81Hz
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex II 750W 80+ Gold
Keyboard Redragon Devarajas RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/mvvj3a
Hello
I found the original bios on someone. I uploaded it, in device manager everything seems to be fine, without error. But in gpuz clock 0 memory 0.
I tried with antimdag-patcher and error to load the driver.
Is your monitor plug into your AMD GPU or the Intel onboard GPU?
If you click on the Driver tab in the device manager, what does it show?

You should Also perform a clean driver install after doing the BIOS update.
 

alynut99

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
12 (0.20/day)
@The King thanks to replay.
The monitor its plug into motherboard used gpu integradet.
i try to plug on GPU (rx 470) and it doesn't work, no display... i restarted the pc and no display with RX 470. i do to the motherboard bios to force display on pci and take off the integrated intel gpu and no display.
Now i deteled all the AMD driver with AMDCleanupUtility on safe mod. restart pc. Reinstall the original driver from amd.com and the gpu no work again on device manager show me "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)"

@ After i deleted all the driver and restart the pc, on gpu-z show me memory type MICRON ! But my gpu have sk hynex no micron .
 

Attachments

  • no-driver.png
    no-driver.png
    205.2 KB · Views: 24
  • reinstall-driver.png
    reinstall-driver.png
    786.5 KB · Views: 22
  • driver-finish-install.png
    driver-finish-install.png
    164.2 KB · Views: 26
  • driver-install-ready-and-restart.png
    driver-install-ready-and-restart.png
    209.9 KB · Views: 21
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
168 (0.14/day)
Location
Uttar Pradesh, India
Processor AMD R7 1700X @ 4100Mhz
Motherboard MSI B450M MORTAR MAX (MS-7B89)
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory Crucial Technology 16384 MB (DDR4-2666) - XMP 2.0 - P/N: BL16G36C16U4W.M16FE1 X2 @ CL14 DR
Video Card(s) XFX RX480 GTR 8GB @ 1408Mhz (AMD Auto OC)
Storage Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) Acer KG271 1080p @ 81Hz
Power Supply SuperFlower Leadex II 750W 80+ Gold
Keyboard Redragon Devarajas RGB
Software Microsoft Windows 10 (10.0) Professional 64-bit
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/mvvj3a

brufoloso29

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
6 (0.10/day)
‎I biOS you are using is not good must not have the number 1 in the final part of the version‎
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Ahhzz

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
7,865 (1.55/day)
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Samsung 860 EVO 1Tb/WD BLACK SN750 500GB NVMe
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard K68 RGB — CHERRY® MX Red
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit
io biOS che stai usando non va bene non deve avere il numero 1 nella parte finale della versione
This is an English only Forums. Please repost in English. Use google translate if necessary. thanks!
And this is the second time you've been told. Please don't repost in Italian again.
 

alynut99

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2021
Messages
12 (0.20/day)
Good evening
I bought a ch341a for bios rewriting. but I can't find my face model in the chip list.
My chip its fm25q02 .
 

brufoloso29

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
6 (0.10/day)
‎I send you the photo of how the programmer should be connected‎
 

Attachments

  • 16383357060463481481281351718884.jpg
    16383357060463481481281351718884.jpg
    2.4 MB · Views: 22
Last edited by a moderator:

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,332 (1.96/day)
Location
Pune
System Name Oldie But Close to Heart | Dell OptiPlex | Hp Probook
Processor FX 8320 | intel i7 8700 | R5 3500U
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Some OEM stuff | zz
Cooling Antec 240mm AIO Push Pull | Turbo Jet | Not needed
Memory 2x8GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz | 16 x 2 GB DDR4 2666 | 16 GB DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Sappghire Pulse RX 580 8GB | ------ | Vega 8
Storage 250GB Samsung EVO860 + 2x 1TB WD10EZEX | Seagate 500gb | Samsung Evo 500
Display(s) Dell 2240L | 2x Dell E1916H | ??
Case Ant Esports Tempered case | Teeny | Probook g6
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z333 | ATH
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | Probably delta | Meh
Mouse Logitech G400 |
Keyboard Circle RGB gaming shitboard | Logitech k230 wireless
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Mark was too heavy. I couldn't bench him.

brufoloso29

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2021
Messages
6 (0.10/day)
‎this is the image of the linked program reading the careful BIOS telling you "connected even if it is not connected"‎
 

Attachments

  • 16383517479778931670297442258169.jpg
    16383517479778931670297442258169.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 18
Last edited by a moderator:
Top