• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

XFX RX580 will only start with one bios

Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
I just got a replacement for my old r9 270x - used rx580. Everything was fine until I noticed that gpu clock is at 1150mhz. This XFX has dualbios, but when I try to move dip switch to second position, card won't send video signal and windows won't boot. Working position is the one closer to gpu outputs.

Here's screenshots of working bios:
bios1.gif
bios1adv.gif


And not working:
bios2.gif
bios2adv.gif


Card model is exacly: RX-580P8DFD6. Anyone knows what might be going on? I can post rom files if needed.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Yeah its a mining bios on other side

Ill find you a slew of them
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
I figured I'm on the mining one right now, but why the stock one won't boot? I went ahead and uploaded both roms to mega. 1st is 1150, 2nd is not working 1366 one.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Use this tool to flash, make sure you flash non working bios only,


Make sure to boot up with the working bios, then flip switch to non working bios and flash this file



Here is a verified bios


Here are others








I figured I'm on the mining one right now, but why the stock one won't boot? I went ahead and uploaded both roms to mega. 1st is 1150, 2nd is not working 1366 one.
The one with 1366 which is hynix samsung is not compatible with micron memory.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
Okay, flashed first one you posted and it seems to be working just fine, many thanks.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Okay, flashed first one you posted and it seems to be working just fine, many thanks.
It was easy because you already had a working bios.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
Still thanks for pointing out correct bios for that gpu, I'd probably lose few hours making sure thats the one.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Still thanks for pointing out correct bios for that gpu, I'd probably lose few hours making sure thats the one.
There are many compatible with that card, each file has micron tables.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
Okay, just tried running Kombustor to see if it's any stable, and unfortunatelly - no. It runs ok, but when I try to maximize test from window, pc restarts after few seconds. Changing bios can affect this? Or is this card damaged?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Replace the gpu die thermal compound and provided complete detailed system specs please to include power supply model number, the more detailed the better.

Also stop using konbustor/furmark, its a power virus test.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
PSU: CoolerMaster V550,
CPU: i5-4460,
MOBO: B85M pro3.
I don't think temps are the problem - it reached 76oC max, but it crashes whenever I try to use maximized kombustor for more than few seconds.

#edit
Okay, just tried that second BIOS from your list, and this one lets me maximize kombustor, but it still resets pc after some time. Is that a matter of picking good bios, or card is faulty?
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Powersupply cant handle the load, get a 600-620+ Seasonic/Antec/EVGA/SuperFlower/XFX/Corsair check the original equipment manufacturers for all but Seasonic/Superflower

Check the cpu temps, what case do you have?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
Case is some Zalman, now partially open, cpu temps are ok. Are you sure its insufficient PSU? I just flashed 2nd bios from your list, and it seems to be working better, maybe it's a matter of finding right one?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Case is some Zalman, now partially open, cpu temps are ok. Are you sure its insufficient PSU? I just flashed 2nd bios from your list, and it seems to be working better, maybe it's a matter of finding right one?
Sometimes, what OS are you running?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
Win10 1903 64bit, latest AMD drivers. Woah, I was pretty sure that PSU is good enough, it powered my r9 270x just fine, it had 2x6pin, this one only uses 1x8pin. Even tried using 2x6>1x8pin connector from the box, instead of 6+2 from PSU, but to no avail.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,236 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
The PSU is supposedly an 80+ Gold unit that has 45amps running through a single 12V rail which should be enough, XFX recommends a minimum 500W PSU, unless of course the unit is faulty.

 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Win10 1903 64bit, latest AMD drivers. Woah, I was pretty sure that PSU is good enough, it powered my r9 270x just fine, it had 2x6pin, this one only uses 1x8pin. Even tried using 2x6>1x8pin connector from the box, instead of 6+2 from PSU, but to no avail.
The 270 to 580 are way different in power

Let me check something here.

Lets see if you crash, are your motherboard chipset drivers updated?

Follow this video, lets see what crash if any you are getting.


I would suggest replacing the gpu die thermal compound too with arctic mx4


Get this too

The PSU is supposedly an 80+ Gold unit that has 45amps running through a single 12V rail which should be enough, XFX recommends a minimum 500W PSU, unless of course the unit is faulty.

Its the OEM that concerns me...
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
Updated chipset drivers, disabled automatic restart - pc still just restarts with no bsod.
It's funny because I think that with mining bios it's stable - is it possible that power usage betwen two bioses are just so that one can work, and one demands too much power?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Updated chipset drivers, disabled automatic restart - pc still just restarts with no bsod.
It's funny because I think that with mining bios it's stable - is it possible that power usage betwen two bioses are just so that one can work, and one demands too much power?
For some power supplies yes. Or card was abused.

If anything get msi afterburner and lock the boost clock down to 1340 then 1284, 1244 and see if that changes anything. Run games only though.
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,236 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
I had a similar problem a few years back and it was the PSU, lower clocks or playing a game in Windowed Mode rather than full screen would work in any of my games, go full screen and/or up the clocks back to reference speeds and she would restart.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I had a similar problem a few years back and it was the PSU, lower clocks or playing a game in Windowed Mode rather than full screen would work in any of my games, go full screen and/or up the clocks back to reference speeds and she would restart.
I concur with this because I've seen this happen before that's only reason why I asked about the power supply typically if a system is restarting you there it is going to be the power supply, heat or a software problem.

Sometimes with heat a system will just shut down totally.

Typically a indication of the power supply or the processor or volts regulation circuitry
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
Well, I just noticed that mining bios had lowered gpu voltages - I tried 1340@1,1V with normal bios and it didn't crash for like 10 minutes in kombustor. Is it really PSU fault? Stock voltages (1,15V) can cause unstability?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
30,358 (6.52/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Well, I just noticed that mining bios had lowered gpu voltages - I tried 1340@1,1V with normal bios and it didn't crash for like 10 minutes in kombustor. Is it really PSU fault? Stock voltages (1,15V) can cause unstability?
Listen up the mining bios has too tight of memory timings on it that's the reason why It will crash in games or tests

And by the way I highly suggest that you use games only for testing stop using combustor or furmark it doesn't do anything for the card, otherwise use 3dmark or unigine Heaven, Valley

And also I'm just going to suggest that you get it to a shop since you don't have the equipment to be able to test everything.
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
13 (0.36/day)
Processor i5-4460
Motherboard ASRock B85M Pro3
Cooling Zalman CNPS10X Performa
Memory 8GB Crucial + 2x4GB Patriot DDR3@1600MHz
Video Card(s) XFX RX580 8GB
Storage 850 EVO + WD10EZEX + ST1000MD003
Display(s) BenQ G2222HDL
Power Supply CoolerMaster V550
Mouse Logitech Master MX
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software W10
But mining bios is working perfectly, it's normal bios which is causing problems. I just lowered voltages in normal bios and it seems to be working, but again - if card is stable at 1,1, and unstable at 1,15, it is the card, or psu fault?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moder@tor
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
22,236 (4.29/day)
Location
Worcestershire, UK
System Name The Grey
Processor Skylake i7 6700k @ 4.6gig - 1.35V
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX3000 @ 3200mhz CL15 1T
Video Card(s) Palit 8GB GTX 1070 GameRock OC Edition
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4 64GB/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) SB Xifi Elite Pro 7.1through VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Mouse Coolermaster Storm Octane wired
Keyboard Element Gaming Carbon Mk2 Tournament Mech
Software Win 10 Home x64
But mining bios is working perfectly, it's normal bios which is causing problems. I just lowered voltages in normal bios and it seems to be working, but again - if card is stable at 1,1, and unstable at 1,15, it is the card, or psu fault?
I don't think you quite get it...…. if it is the PSU, there is a chance it may not be but what you are doing now is similar to what I did to fault find my bad PSU, the PSU is only going to get worse if it is faulty or failing so if it is the PSU, and for me at least it sounds fairly likely, it will go before too long or you will be gaming at 500mhz not 1100 in time. As advised, try a couple of your favourite games on the performance bios without downclocking/volting, if it crashes, try both lower detail and windowed mode and what results from that will better inform you.

If you are happy to run downclocked on the mining 2nd bios you may as well have just bought yourself a 570 instead.
 
Top