• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

-XP Pro. Safe Mode Problem-

Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#1
Hi leutz!!!
Today I tryed to start in safe mode and right after I typed in my password, the PC instantly logged me off!!!
But it worked the 2nd time!!!
I thought, that it was a Virus so I reinstalled win XP Pro.
That didnt fix it!!!! :banghead:
I always have to type in my password twice to log in because the first time i always get logged off instantly!
Its only in safe mode. :confused:

What could it be?
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.57/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#2
i don't know, but i do wonder if regular logon works fine? do you have to use safe mode
or are you just curious as to why it's happening?
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
i don't know, but i do wonder if regular logon works fine? do you have to use safe mode
or are you just curious as to why it's happening?
It bothers me!! :/
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
UPDATE:
I found out that after a clen install (no drivers / Updates) safemode login works with the 1st try! But since there are no drivers in safe mode, I dont think that it is driver related!
Could it be an Update problem or maybe a account setting that has to be changed?


No joke: I had a nighmare last night about not being able to log in anymore and all my call of duty safe date was lost!!!! xD
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,529 (6.38/day)
Likes
6,950
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
UPDATE:
I found out that after a clen install (no drivers / Updates) safemode login works with the 1st try! But since there are no drivers in safe mode, I dont think that it is driver related!
Could it be an Update problem or maybe a account setting that has to be changed?


No joke: I had a nighmare last night about not being able to log in anymore and all my call of duty safe date was lost!!!! xD
OMG what would we do???? I don't think your could survive without it.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,976 (2.24/day)
Likes
2,337
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#6
Do you have a UPS by chance? A user at work unplugged his UPS trying to get another free USB plug (he won't unplug any damn cables) and it shutdown, then as soon as windows would load it would shutdown again......rinse & repeat



Or try Safe Mode without networking and any other options or last good configuration next time.


Or boot to a recovery disk and check it out.

And since it did allow you in on the second time it sounds like a corrupt user hive or issues with permissions.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
540 (0.20/day)
Likes
58
Location
TX
System Name W540
Processor i7 4700MQ 4x 3.40GHz
Motherboard W540
Cooling Modded Fan + AS5
Memory 16GB PC12800 DDR3 Dual Channel
Video Card(s) nVidia Quadro K2100M 2GB GDDR5
Storage 256GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) 15.4" 3K IPS
Case ThinkPad W540
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD Audio
Power Supply 175W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder WOT Edition
Keyboard Razer Deathstallker
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
Do you have a UPS by chance? A user at work unplugged his UPS trying to get another free USB plug (he won't unplug any damn cables) and it shutdown, then as soon as windows would load it would shutdown again......rinse & repeat



Or try Safe Mode without networking and any other options or last good configuration next time.


Or boot to a recovery disk and check it out.

And since it did allow you in on the second time it sounds like a corrupt user hive or issues with permissions.

Problem solved!!!
Instead of using a cheap torrent copy of a XP disk, I spent the effort in finding my original Dell XP CD! After reinstalling it again with the "Legit" xD Dell CD the problem is gone!!! :/
Maybee the XP CD from torrent was messed up!

Anyways guys, THANKS FOR ALL THE EFFROT IN HELPING ME!!!
You all have earned yourself a big "Thanks man"!!! :toast: