• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Yet another Crossfire question...sorry!

adam9977

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Apogee GTZ, MCW60, PA 120.3, MCP355 w/ Petra's Top
Memory 4Gb DDR2 PC8500
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4870
Storage 64 GB SSD, 2x 1TB SATA
Display(s) 22" Wide Acer LCD
Case Silverstone TJ-07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1Kw
Software Vista Ultimate x64
#1
OK...here's the deal...I'm confused with something about crossfire. According to the chart located on ATI's website, (here: http://i10.tinypic.com/63h3j8m.jpg ), what kind of card do I need for crossfire? I have a Connect3d X1900GT (574/600), and from what I've read, I need a CF edition card...but according to the chart do I only need another X1900GT?

If just another X1900GT is needed, the brand doesn't matter, as long as the specifications match up...right?

Sorry if this has been asked and answered 100 times, but I couldn't find anything matching my question on a search.

Any other info for a Crossfire newbie would be appreciated. Also, I have an Asus M2R32-MVP mobo.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.4ghz stock
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Rocket Cooler-Pro
Memory Corsair DDR2 800mhz 2x1024-6400 XMS2 Pro Platium@4-4-4-12 stock
Video Card(s) Asus ATI Radeon HD 2900XT 512mb
Storage 2X250gb SataII Seagate Barracuda in Raid 0
Display(s) Diamond View CRT 17inch flatscreen
Case Cooler Master Cavalier black
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 850 Truepower Quattro
Software Windows XP SP2
#2
From what i've read, i think your right all you need is an identical GPU to the one your using now to run crossfire, however if your going to run a 3rd GPU for pyhsics or whatever i think the GPU could be anything....but thats only basing to what i know, i going to be running crossfire soon too so i'm glad this question was brought up.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
75 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E6600@2.4ghz stock
Motherboard Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Rocket Cooler-Pro
Memory Corsair DDR2 800mhz 2x1024-6400 XMS2 Pro Platium@4-4-4-12 stock
Video Card(s) Asus ATI Radeon HD 2900XT 512mb
Storage 2X250gb SataII Seagate Barracuda in Raid 0
Display(s) Diamond View CRT 17inch flatscreen
Case Cooler Master Cavalier black
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec 850 Truepower Quattro
Software Windows XP SP2
#3
Oh yeah you gotta make sure your mobo and GPU are crossfire ready...you probably already know that but thought i'd mention just in case
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,686 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,362
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#4
OK...here's the deal...I'm confused with something about crossfire. According to the chart located on ATI's website, (here: http://i10.tinypic.com/63h3j8m.jpg ), what kind of card do I need for crossfire? I have a Connect3d X1900GT (574/600), and from what I've read, I need a CF edition card...but according to the chart do I only need another X1900GT?

If just another X1900GT is needed, the brand doesn't matter, as long as the specifications match up...right?

Sorry if this has been asked and answered 100 times, but I couldn't find anything matching my question on a search.

Any other info for a Crossfire newbie would be appreciated. Also, I have an Asus M2R32-MVP mobo.
Does your card have the internal bridge socket? if so then same card can be used ...if not you will need a crossfire edition...look in ur manual;)
 

adam9977

New Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE
Motherboard Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Apogee GTZ, MCW60, PA 120.3, MCP355 w/ Petra's Top
Memory 4Gb DDR2 PC8500
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4870
Storage 64 GB SSD, 2x 1TB SATA
Display(s) 22" Wide Acer LCD
Case Silverstone TJ-07
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1Kw
Software Vista Ultimate x64
#5
I don't have the internal bridge socket...so the only way for me to have a Crossfire setup is to find an X1900 CF card? Are they available anywhere, or are they still being produced? I had a very hard time locating one, and am leery about buying one if the technology has so quickly become obsolete.
 
Last edited: