• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Your thoughts on the PC version of GTA IV

Your thoughts on the PC version of GTA IV

  • It runs but I am not satisfied with the performance

    Votes: 2 14.3%
  • It runs but I am not satisfied with the IQ

    Votes: 1 7.1%
  • It runs but may crash, blue screen, etc

    Votes: 1 7.1%
  • It runs but textures, etc are missing

    Votes: 1 7.1%
  • It runs but crashs/B.S., lacks proper texutres & I'm not satisfied with the performance

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I am having problems installing this game

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I had problems installing this game but it's working now

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I haven't purchased this game & won't based on what I've read

    Votes: 5 35.7%
  • GTA IV is not the type of genre I normally play so these issues don't bother me

    Votes: 1 7.1%
  • I've experienced all the problems mentioned in this poll

    Votes: 1 7.1%
  • I've experienced other problems + all the problems mentioned in this poll

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No problems installing/playing this game. IQ & Perf. is fine for me

    Votes: 2 14.3%

  • Total voters
    14
  • Poll closed .
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Messages
6,885 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,501
System Name MY PC
Processor E8400 @ 3.80Ghz > Q9650 3.60Ghz
Motherboard Maximus Formula
Cooling D5, 7/16" ID Tubing, Maze4 with Fuzion CPU WB
Memory XMS 8500C5D @ 1066MHz
Video Card(s) HD 2900 XT 858/900 to 4870 to 5870 (Keep Vreg area clean)
Storage 2
Display(s) 24"
Case P180
Audio Device(s) X-fi Plantinum
Power Supply Silencer 750
Software XP Pro SP3 to Windows 7
Benchmark Scores This varies from one driver to another.
#1
Everyone knows (or should know by now) the problems people are reporting for this game on the PC. What are your thoughts about it?
 
M

MiST91

Guest
#2
I bought the game today. NOT HAPPY!!!!!!!!

My PC can play pretty much every PC game on the market on high/max @ 1280x1024 4/2xAA and never drop below 35FPS, even crysis. I bought GTA 4 today, and the installation was going well, before i realised you have no coice but to install the Rockstar Games Social Club software, wich will run and try to log you in when you run the game. And you also have to install the "Games For Windows" software, wich you NEED internet access for because the instalation package on the disk doesn't work with GTA4 so you need to get the latest version, thank god i have internet because without it there would be no GTA4 for me. Also you have to activate the game, wich originaly i agreed with, although i download/pirate games my self, i dont believe in piracy lol. However when you activate the game, if you change any major hardware (graphics and CPU) your serial (to my knowledge) is null and void, the problem with this is most people who already have the game, need to upgrade the graphics card and CPU to play the damn thing at anything above 30fps lol.

Not happy at all with it, and thats without mentioning the performance issues (15 - 20FPS at medium settings)
 
M

MiST91

Guest
#3
Does anybody know if you can return a video game at HMV in the United Kingdom because you dont like it? lol
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#5
M

MiST91

Guest
#6
yup, i was maybe exadurating a little :eek: but, if i run the game at 1280x1024 60Hz with no AA (obviously because the game doesn't have it) with texture and render options at medium, draw distance at 25, traffic at 30, and everything else at around 15 - 25 and shadow dencity (think thats what it is called) turned off, i get 15 - 40 fps, so the game is very choppy because it will drop from 40 - 20 suddenly depending on time of day, were i am and what is happening
 
M

MiST91

Guest
#7
i'v voted :) "It runs but I am not satisfied with the performance" wich is about right, i havnt had any crashes or missing textures, there is a few graohics glitches, but tbh idk because i am not going to attempt to run it until i have a better system, R* release a patch fixing graphics glitches, performance issues and give the game AA and when i find a good crack (yes, resorting to piracy because it is easier and doesn't require all the shit you need to install on a retail game, like "games for windows" and rockstar social club" i never play games on line, and filling my PC with resource hogging, back ground running software that if it was called "Starware Disk Clean 2009" or somthing would be classed as spyware doesn't make me want to go online any more.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,914 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,010
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#8
"Would buy if it weren't candy coated in DRM."
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#9
The poll would be better as a "multiple choice" (ie can select more than one answer). Ask a mod to mod it?
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#10
I mean, the game itself is good, but does have some problems. Overall, I am satisfied.