• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

YouTube Begins Beta-testing AV1 CODEC on Beta Web-browsers

Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
473 (0.24/day)
System Name Diablo | Baal | Mephisto | Andariel
Processor i5-3570K@4.4GHz | 2x Xeon X5675 | i7-4710MQ | i7-2640M
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth Z77 | HP DL380 G6 | Dell Precision M4800 | Lenovo Thinkpad X220 Tablet
Cooling Swiftech H220-X | Chassis cooled (6 fans + HS) | dual-fanned heatpipes | small-fanned heatpipe
Memory 32GiB DDR3-1600 CL9 | 96GiB DDR3-1333 ECC RDIMM | 32GiB DDR3L-1866 CL11 | 8GiB DDR3L-1600 CL11
Video Card(s) Dual GTX 670 in SLI | Embedded ATi ES1000 | Quadro K2100M | Intel HD 3000
Storage many, many SSDs and HDDs....
Display(s) 1 Dell U3011 + 2x Dell U2410 | HP iLO2 KVMoIP | 3200x1800 Sharp IGZO | 1366x768 IPS with Wacom pen
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D | HP DL380 G6 Chassis | Dell Precision M4800 | Lenovo Thinkpad X220 Tablet
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi HomeTheater HD | None | On-board | On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX850 | Dual 750W Redundant PSU (Delta) | Dell 330W+240W (Flextronics) | Lenovo 65W (Delta)
Mouse Logitech G502, Logitech G700s, Logitech G500, Dell optical mouse (emergency backup)
Keyboard 1985 IBM Model F 122-key, Ducky YOTT MX Black, Dell AT101W, 1994 IBM Model M, various integrated
Software FAAAR too much to list
There's couple of settings you need to change in about:config & then choose AV1 at youtube.com/testtube :cool:
View attachment 106826

I chose Always Prefer AV1 & that enabled AV1 at 480p & resolutions above.
How's the CPU usage looking?
 
Joined
Aug 21, 2013
Messages
426 (0.19/day)
Nope. No luck. Even double checking that i have today's build: 64.0a1 (2018-09-13) (64-bit) and setting both preferences to true and restarting nightly, testtube still says AV1 is not supported on my browser:
AV1 decoding is not available on this browser yet. For full support, use Chrome 70 or newer, or Firefox 63 or newer with the media.av1.enabled pref set.
Maybe Youtube does not like that i'm running Windows 7?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,653 (3.26/day)
One of the (many) reasons why you can skip Turing.
That is easily one of the most absurd statements made lately. How, in any reasonable technological way, is this development a valid reason to skip RTX cards? It can't be for hardware optimizations, because even low end ARM SOC's can render 10bit UHD60 HEVC flawlessly. An RTX will have zero trouble with it. Low end GTX, GT or RX have no problems running such. Even Intel's offerings have zero issues. So please explain your logic in a way that actually makes reasonable sense. My bet is that you can not.

Maybe Youtube does not like that i'm running Windows 7?
Doubtful. Might be a driver issue, though that is also unlikely. Keep in mind this is all in beta right now. Given time it'll be fixed.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,560 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
So...……….I tried to compare old codec and new but if you right-click on the video and select "stats for nerds" it shows that it is using "AVC1" for all videos... at least on Edge.

I think AVC is h.254 which makes sense because that's what my R9 390 can decode, which it was, at 10%. So...???
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
It's not only available in 480p, youtube-dl can download higher resolution AV1 videos from those links.

Capture.PNG



MPV can do the playback, stutters a bit even if my Ryzen 1700 is under 20% load (with VMware Workstation running VMs and other softs running in the background) videos look like they are sharpened.

Capture.PNG


Code:
youtube-dl -f 399 https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLyqf6gJt7KuHBmeVzZteZUlNUQAVLwrZS
To grab the videos in 1080p with AV1
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,560 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
av01
425x240 mp4 container
640x360 mp4 container
854x480 mp4 container
1280x720 mp4 container
1920x1080 mp4 container


854x480 has avc1 (21.22 MiB mp4), av01 (22.17 MiB mp4), and vp9 (18.06 MiB webm)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,706 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
I don't care about junk encoders. HIGHER bitrate, now. Youtube is such garbage that good channels upscale to get the higher bitrates.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,691 (4.34/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
I don't care about junk encoders. HIGHER bitrate, now. Youtube is such garbage that good channels upscale to get the higher bitrates.
Why would you not want better codecs? Ramming things with bitrate is just silly. Smaller bitrate means the content is more easily accessible to people with less than stellar internet connections (be it plain low speed, data caps or both). It means being able to fit more content in the same storage space.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,706 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
Why would you not want better codecs? Ramming things with bitrate is just silly. Smaller bitrate means the content is more easily accessible to people with less than stellar internet connections (be it plain low speed, data caps or both). It means being able to fit more content in the same storage space.
B/c they're not used responsibly. Image quality is clearly not a concern. If they're not going to maintain bitrate with newer codecs, then we don't need it.

And I don't care about the plebs. They can watch 360 garbage for all I care.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,691 (4.34/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Not used responsibly? Hmm... I will rip a bluray disc, convert to HEVC while cutting it down to 720p with a low-ish CRF value (that is, low on the quality side, better for compression) which cuts down bitrate, and therefore the resulting filesize considerably. I've even done DVDrips in the same way (though I do not reduce the resolution of DVD video any) and my rips look perfect on a 50+ inch TV. Image quality is very much a concern, though, because I spent a very long time arriving at the process I use to transcode video to achieve the best results.

What about maintaining bitrate? If you have a 5000kbps video, and you have a new codec that can give you the same quality at half the bitrate, why not go with a smaller video? You can only push quality so much. There are a lot of "plebs" who would welcome a new codec that can chop bitrate in half without sacrificing quality. Ask anybody with a data cap and/or slow internet.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2012
Messages
15 (0.01/day)
B/c they're not used responsibly. Image quality is clearly not a concern. If they're not going to maintain bitrate with newer codecs, then we don't need it.

And I don't care about the plebs. They can watch 360 garbage for all I care.
Look at the screenshot I posted, av01 @ 1080p has more than 2x the bitrate of avc1 and 3x the bitrate of VP9.
What's the matter then?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,706 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
Not used responsibly? Hmm... I will rip a bluray disc, convert to HEVC while cutting it down to 720p with a low-ish CRF value (that is, low on the quality side, better for compression) which cuts down bitrate, and therefore the resulting filesize considerably. I've even done DVDrips in the same way (though I do not reduce the resolution of DVD video any) and my rips look perfect on a 50+ inch TV. Image quality is very much a concern, though, because I spent a very long time arriving at the process I use to transcode video to achieve the best results.

What about maintaining bitrate? If you have a 5000kbps video, and you have a new codec that can give you the same quality at half the bitrate, why not go with a smaller video? You can only push quality so much. There are a lot of "plebs" who would welcome a new codec that can chop bitrate in half without sacrificing quality. Ask anybody with a data cap and/or slow internet.
Yes, you are exactly what I'm talking about. Current quality isn't even acceptable.

This isn't progress, it's status quo.

Streaming is a joke and this won't help.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,691 (4.34/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
There's no discernible quality loss, to my eyes. Certainly not when actually watching something. Maybe dissecting it frame by frame (which I actually did when I noticed interlace artifacts left behind by Handbrake's decomb filter... a terrible method for handling interlaced media, but it was my first attempt as a n00b).

Current quality not acceptable? 25Mb/s bluray discs not clear enough? 4k not enough?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
3,706 (0.83/day)
Location
Police/Nanny State of America
System Name More hardware than I use :|
Processor 4.7 8350 - 4.2 4560K - 4.4 4690K
Motherboard Sabertooth R2.0 - Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H-CF - AsRock Z97M KIller
Cooling Mugen 2 rev B push/pull - Hyper 212+ push/pull - Hyper 212+
Memory 16GB Gskill - 8GB Gskill - 16GB Ballistix 1.35v
Video Card(s) Xfire OCed 7950s - Powercolor 290x - Oced Zotac 980Ti AMP! (also have two 7870s)
Storage Crucial 250GB SSD, Kingston 3K 120GB, Sammy 1TB, various WDs, 13TB (actual capactity) NAS with WDs
Display(s) X-star 27" 1440 - Auria 27" 1440 - BenQ 24" 1080 - Acer 23" 1080
Case Lian Li open bench - Fractal Design ARC - Thermaltake Cube (still have HAF 932 and more ARCs)
Audio Device(s) Titanium HD - Onkyo HT-RC360 Receiver - BIC America custom 5.1 set up (and extra Klipsch sub)
Power Supply Corsair 850W V2 - EVGA 1000 G2 - Seasonic 500 and 600W units (dead 750W needs RMA lol)
Mouse Logitech G5 - Sentey Revolution Pro - Sentey Lumenata Pro - multiple wireless logitechs
Keyboard Logitech G11s - Thermaltake Challenger
Software I wish I could kill myself instead of using windows (OSX can suck it too).
There's no discernible quality loss, to my eyes. Certainly not when actually watching something. Maybe dissecting it frame by frame (which I actually did when I noticed interlace artifacts left behind by Handbrake's decomb filter... a terrible method for handling interlaced media, but it was my first attempt as a n00b).

Current quality not acceptable? 25Mb/s bluray discs not clear enough? 4k not enough?
Youtube/streaming services, they're awful.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,691 (4.34/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Then advanced codecs are good for you. If Netflix adopts a superior codec, for example, they can put out higher quality video, and they can do so at lower bitrates (or even better quality at the same bitrate).

Now youtube is a whole nother mess. Anybody and their brother can upload to youtube. If I started a youtube channel, I could assure you my content would be high quality (at least as far as audio/video is concerned :p), because I don't like to produce garbage, and I know enough about that sort of thing to produce a quality result. There's no standard, no guidelines... if I wanted to I could capture a video of a cool base I built in 7 Days to Die for example, but upload a terrible 100kbps 320x240 video. Youtube also goes back quite a few years. Teamfourstar channel is a wonderful example of this. When they started DBZ Abridged, the audio sucked, the videos were small and of poor quality. As things went on in years the quality of their video (and audio) improved significantly.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2011
Messages
5,312 (1.77/day)
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Memory 16GB(2x8) DDR3@2133MHz 1.5v Patriot
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
Storage 59.63GB Samsung SSD 830 + 465.76 GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO + 2TB Hitachi + 300GB Velociraptor HDD
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 3440x1440@100Hz G-Sync
Case NZXT PHANTOM410-BK
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium PCIe
Power Supply Corsair 850W
Mouse Anker
Software Win 10 Pro - 64bit
Benchmark Scores 30FPS in NFS:Rivals
How is AV1 compared to H.265 ?? From both quality/size perspective?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,560 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
AV1 is supposed to be better (picture and compression) than HEVC (h.265) but HEVC is likely going to be used for ATSC 3.0 (because MPEG lobby wants their money) so like AVC, HEVC is likely to be much more popular. AV1 is something Google is pushing to replace VP9 (if memory serves) so Google services will likely gravitate towards AV1. Because AV1 is royalty free, AV1 is also likely to see more widespread adoption in the open source community. Going forward, there's gonna be a lot of both, sadly.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,691 (4.34/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
Not sure why we wouldn't move forward with AV1. Why use a worse product that costs money when there's a free alternative?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,653 (3.26/day)
Not sure why we wouldn't move forward with AV1. Why use a worse product that costs money when there's a free alternative?
Exactly. AV1 seems like it actually going to be better, spec wise,, and save everyone a ton of money.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,560 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Not sure why we wouldn't move forward with AV1. Why use a worse product that costs money when there's a free alternative?
The primary reason is because HEVC allows for more packet loss than AV1.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,691 (4.34/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
The primary reason is because HEVC allows for more packet loss than AV1.
That seems silly. Even streaming is not an application that relies on internet performance like that. That's why buffering exists - it loads the content ahead of time to ensure smooth play.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,560 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
ATSC is intended for terrestrial broadcast where it's impossible to request resending of lost packets.
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
2,674 (1.10/day)
That is easily one of the most absurd statements made lately. How, in any reasonable technological way, is this development a valid reason to skip RTX cards? It can't be for hardware optimizations, because even low end ARM SOC's can render 10bit UHD60 HEVC flawlessly. An RTX will have zero trouble with it. Low end GTX, GT or RX have no problems running such. Even Intel's offerings have zero issues. So please explain your logic in a way that actually makes reasonable sense. My bet is that you can not.


Doubtful. Might be a driver issue, though that is also unlikely. Keep in mind this is all in beta right now. Given time it'll be fixed.
So you're not counting the absurd pricing, the RT botch job & of course the Nvidia tax?

If it doesn't have dedicated hardware (or hybrid) encode/decode blocks for AV1 then how do you suppose the GPU will handle it? AFAIK the CPU will do most if not all the decode/encode for AV1, unless my understanding of this matter is lacking.

What logic is that ~ HEVC was late, more expensive & still not nearly as popular (as it should've been) wrt h.264?

Remind me why a freer/better alternative to HEVC is bad ~ because that's what my argument is!
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
20,691 (4.34/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i7 2600k 4.4GHz :: Athlon II x4 630 3.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P8P67 Pro :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 1866 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: none
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply EVGA 500w 80 Plus :: Wounded Corsair CX600
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
ATSC is intended for terrestrial broadcast where it's impossible to request resending of lost packets.
You mean like Cable TV? Sounds like someone needs to rework that a little bit.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
25,560 (6.27/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 VGA)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
You mean like Cable TV? Sounds like someone needs to rework that a little bit.
Cable, satellite, and terrestrial all carry the same payload but terrestrial has no encryption where cable and satellite do. In the case of all three, there's no way to request lost packets by design so the encoding has some recovery capability baked in.
 
Top