• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ZOTAC Introduces Value ION ITX Synergy Platforms

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,316 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,423
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,359
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Zotac really has become the mini-ITX motherboard manufacturer of choice.

I just wish they would finally add voltage adjustments to these boards.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#3
I'd like to see a model or two with a PCIe x16 slot. These, coupled with a good video card, would seem very good for F@H if you can't afford to power a GPU folding rig with a "big" processor.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
256 (0.09/day)
Likes
42
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Cubito
Processor Core i7-8700
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370M D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3000mhz Corsair Vengeance LED
Video Card(s) GTX 970 MSI Gaming 4 GB
Storage Kingston V300 120GB + Samsung 950 EVO 250GB + Toshiba MQ01ABD100 1 TB x 2
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG258Q + Asus VS229
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense
Power Supply Corsair RMX750
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Apple Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#4
I just wish they would finally add voltage adjustments to these boards.
I don't know how much would cost an atom board for oc. It would need also better heatsinks made of copper and room for better fans. Maybe that would be too expensive for consider it as a oc piece of value.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#5
I don't know how much would cost an atom board for oc. It would need also better heatsinks made of copper and room for better fans. Maybe that would be too expensive for consider it as a oc piece of value.
Seeing that this is a value variant of Zotac's ION boards, you do have a point. They do have higher end (and really expensive) models with larger heatsinks that may be better suited for overclocking, but currently lack the ability to adjust the voltage. It would be nice if those higher end models had a PCIe x16 slot for expandability, as I stated earlier.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
256 (0.09/day)
Likes
42
Location
Madrid, Spain
System Name Cubito
Processor Core i7-8700
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370M D3H
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory 32 GB DDR4 3000mhz Corsair Vengeance LED
Video Card(s) GTX 970 MSI Gaming 4 GB
Storage Kingston V300 120GB + Samsung 950 EVO 250GB + Toshiba MQ01ABD100 1 TB x 2
Display(s) Asus ROG Swift PG258Q + Asus VS229
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Xense
Power Supply Corsair RMX750
Mouse Roccat Nyth
Keyboard Apple Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#6
I think the problem of intending an atom to be powerful by tweaking it is that would break the price and it could scale to be as expensive as a more powerful pc. But looking at the prices of atom boards I don't think that would be much problem.

The question is, if you are going to overclock an atom, you will need premium parts, if the price is going to go up so much that you can afford a more powerful pc, then having an atom is not so good.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,359
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
You don't really need expensive parts to overclock an Atom. Most of the stock cooling is passive, and capable of 2.0GHz+ on stock cooling and volts.

A small upgrade to active cooling shouldn't be too expensive, maybe $5 more cost wise, we don't need huge stinking coolers to keep these little things cool. A small voltage increase, and the addition of a small fan would probably allow the push to 2.6GHz or even 3.0GHz pretty easily. Even a $15 enzotech cooler would do wonders for allowing an Atom to be overclocked assuming the voltage is there.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2005
Messages
631 (0.14/day)
Likes
15
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name Media PC
Processor Intel Core-i5 4460
Motherboard Asus H97i plus
Cooling Noctua LH-9i with upgraded NF-A9, x2 Noctua NF-F12
Memory 8GB x2 Corsair Vengeance 1600mhz kit
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Super clocked GTX970 itx
Storage 1TB western digital black 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung 55" Plasma
Case Fractal Design Node 202
Audio Device(s) Onboard DSP, sound forwarded to Onkyo receiver in 2.1 mode
Power Supply Fractal Design 430w itx PSU
Mouse Logitech Wireless gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech Wireless, Xbox One S controller
Software Windows 10 pro
#8
at least they put a pci-e slot in it!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
no SPDIF audio out?
 
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
42 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Madrid, Spain
Processor Q6600 G0
Motherboard Asus P5K Premium WiFi/AP
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme
Memory Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX 4Gb
Video Card(s) BFG GTX275 OC
Storage WD Velocirraptor 150Gb; Samsung SpinPoint F1 1TB
Display(s) Sony SDM-E96D 19"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos 1000
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional with Creative GigaWorks T40
Power Supply Seasonic M12-700
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
1,952 (0.41/day)
Likes
943
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/j1yypa
#11
no SPDIF audio out?
What for, it has HDMI which does audio, so it's hardly an issue, especially as this is a budget model.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#12
What for, it has HDMI which does audio, so it's hardly an issue, especially as this is a budget model.
99% of existing home cinema systems dont use HDMI for audio.

also being an nvidia GPU, its likely to have severely limited HDMI audio capabilities
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,359
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
99% of existing home cinema systems dont use HDMI for audio.

also being an nvidia GPU, its likely to have severely limited HDMI audio capabilities
That doesn't make sense.

The ION platform does audio over HDMI just fine, directs the sound from the sound cards out HDMI, just like the new wave of nVidia graphics cards.

Besides that, you are wanting SPDIF, which makes your comment even less logical. Since before nVidia switched to the new audio handling, SPDIF was passed through to HDMI on nVidia cards, so whever the SPDIF was capable of the nVidia card was capable of...

So it makes no sense to say nVidia GPU's have severaly limitted HDMI audio capabilities right after complaining about not having SPDIF...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#14
SPDIF is passed through HDMI to nvidia, but look at the soundcard they included - with all its paltry output connections, odds are its not going to have any form of encoding and be stuck with 2.0 audio unless you stick a real soundcard in and link it up.

at least the modern ATI cards support 5.1/7.1 audio out of the box, every time - not dependant on whatever random soundcard got paired up with the ION system.


why does it make no sense? i want SPDIF primarily, and without that i'm stuck on HDMI. since its Nvidia, that means the HDMI audio is likely to be crap as well - meaning this system has no decent audio outputs unless i add in a soundcard.
whats so hard to understand?
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#15
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16
I dont understand why anybody would want to overclock the Atom platform anyways. Its meant for LOW power usage. Overclocking just breaks the soul purpose of this platform. If you want an overclockable ITX platform get the 775 or 1156 versions.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2007
Messages
2,549 (0.64/day)
Likes
344
Location
Illinois
Processor i7 2600k@4.6ghz
Motherboard MSI z68ma-ed55
Cooling Silentx Extreem 120mm
Memory 2x4gb XMS 7-8-7-20 1600
Video Card(s) HD6870
Storage 2x128gb Kingston Hyper-X (Raid0), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1), 2x750gb RE3 (RAID1)
Display(s) Soyo 24", Gateway 22"
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini 6x120mm fans.
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Zalman 750w
Software Windows 7
#17
I dont understand why anybody would want to overclock the Atom platform anyways. Its meant for LOW power usage. Overclocking just breaks the soul purpose of this platform. If you want an overclockable ITX platform get the 775 or 1156 versions.
Because it's cheap, small, and that's just what we do. :D
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
because its just that teeny bit too slow for HD video... (without CUDA)
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#19
Use media player classic and no overclocking needed
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.58/day)
Likes
13,521
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
Use media player classic and no overclocking needed
yes yes, use its built in codec and suffer the epic fail that its DXVA mode provides.

i wish people would stop telling me to use that, i use the damn player - and i know all too well how bad that codec sucks.
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#21
You do, do you? Considering its a MEDIA PLAYER. It uses multiple codecs. Try downloading K-Lite. I havent needed to depend on CPU power for HD since ive started using it.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#22
SPDIF is passed through HDMI to nvidia, but look at the soundcard they included - with all its paltry output connections, odds are its not going to have any form of encoding and be stuck with 2.0 audio unless you stick a real soundcard in and link it up.

at least the modern ATI cards support 5.1/7.1 audio out of the box, every time - not dependant on whatever random soundcard got paired up with the ION system.


why does it make no sense? i want SPDIF primarily, and without that i'm stuck on HDMI. since its Nvidia, that means the HDMI audio is likely to be crap as well - meaning this system has no decent audio outputs unless i add in a soundcard.
whats so hard to understand?
That's not the case with their other ION boards. All of them support full surround thru HDMI.


And kLite sucks balls, btw. It has many filter conflicts, especially in the things I need it for. Streaming some of my anime to the PS3 with subs doesn't work properly with Klite, but does with the CCCP without fail. And the Atom itself is not powerful enough to do flawless HD without hardware acceleration. Sorry PP, but that has been proven time and time again. Not to mention, Mussels is right about the built in DXVA codec in MPC-HC. It's ass. The quality is lower than CoreAVC, ffdshow and even MS's built-in H264 codec.

This is coming from someone that has a lot of experience fiddling with codecs and their configurations. I'm not an expert, by any means, but I do know more than most about it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#23
That's not the case with their other ION boards. All of them support full surround thru HDMI.


And kLite sucks balls, btw. It has many filter conflicts, especially in the things I need it for. Streaming some of my anime to the PS3 with subs doesn't work properly with Klite, but does with the CCCP without fail. And the Atom itself is not powerful enough to do flawless HD without hardware acceleration. Sorry PP, but that has been proven time and time again. Not to mention, Mussels is right about the built in DXVA codec in MPC-HC. It's ass. The quality is lower than CoreAVC, ffdshow and even MS's built-in H264 codec.

This is coming from someone that has a lot of experience fiddling with codecs and their configurations. I'm not an expert, by any means, but I do know more than most about it.
The argument is pertaining to offloading the decoding to the GPU. So its being proven that the Atom IS powerful enough and dosent need to be overclocked.

And learn to configure. I have flawless performance using K-lite and always have meanwhile ditching my other codecs. (And i had alot of them before my PC was anywhere near "good")

If the rip sucks, get another one i say. Why my Movie TB drive is almost full because i use nearly all HD videos.




Playing 1080p video barely using this FX62 at stock and k-lite does come with ffdshow...........:wtf: As well as many other popular codecs. K-lite is a codec pack meant for HD.
 
Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.95/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#24
The argument is pertaining to offloading the encoding to the GPU. So its being proven that the Atom IS powerful enough and dosent need to be overclocked.

And learn to configure. I have flawless performance using K-lite and always have meanwhile ditching my other codecs. (And i had alot of them before my PC was anywhere near "good")

If the rip sucks, get another one i say. Why my Movie TB drive is almost full because i use nearly all HD videos.
Why should I learn to configure (which I already know how to do, tyvm.), when there's a pack that works flawlessly, out of the box? The point is, I shouldn't need to reconfigure a pack.

If I wanted to cofigure, I would just download all the filters I need seperately. (Which I have done. I quit doing it because CCCP eliminates the need to do a lot of configuring, saving me time.)

And actually, the rips that give problems with K-Lite, are of a higher quality, and used heavily styled subs.

I have over 5TB of storage in my house, just anime alone takes up almost 2TB.

As far as HD movies, I know how to do all the encoding myself. I don't need to download all of my movies. In fact, my rips generally end up looking better than most downloads because I don't need to worry so much about bandwidth, or release schedules.

Again, your aren't talking to someone who's inept. I know a great deal about codecs, filters, subbing and encoding.

And that picture is not accelerated. FFdshow does not accelerate. ;)
 
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
5,941 (1.74/day)
Likes
1,192
Location
Watauga, Texas
System Name Univac SLI Edition
Processor Intel Xeon 1650 V3 @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard eVGA X99 FTW K
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO, Swiftech MCP50x, Alphacool NeXXos UT60 360, Black Ice GTX 360
Memory 2x16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan X Tri-SLI w/ EK Blocks
Storage HyperX Predator 240GB PCI-E, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp 34" Ultra-Wide (U3415W) / (Samsung 48" Curved 4k)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Acrylic Edition
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Thermaltake 1350watt Toughpower Modular
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard CODE 10 keyless MX Clears
Software Windows 10 Pro
#25
Because you can do more, make the picture quality better, ect by actually configuring things that work fine. The lazyness on a computer is quite ridiculous. Everybody wanting fresh install i do nothing stuff.

And i dont see the point really in high quality anime. I used to watch cartoons on a tube and it looked fine. What i do care about is 1080p movies and thats all i want. I download because i dont have a blu-ray player. I probably dont see a problem because i dont use subs.

Were not talking about accelerating, were talking offloading. If it wasnt using GPU power to play this 1080p blu-ray video id be lagging balls like i used to on my 3000+ :laugh: