1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

$48.99 Samsung 30nm DDR3 1600 hitting 2133?!?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by LagunaX, Jan 24, 2012.

  1. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    Overclocking your memory usually yields VERY little performance gains. I would do it for space, but not for overclocking, unless you benchmark with Hwbot or something.
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,747 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,191
    I think you get more out of same speeds but better timings, correct? Usually higher speeds and looser timings equals about the same performance.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    This is correct. ^^

    Regardless though, in most cases, it yields little to no performance gains..especially something tangible. You *may* get a frame or two, but unless you are getting 5, and now 7, you wont notice.
  4. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Not on newer Intel platforms. Speed is king, but it's kinda subjective as to how much "real world" performance that overclocking provides. I will say that I can feel a significant difference between 1600 CAS 7 and 1866 CAS 8. The systems just flows better better at 1866. However, I really can't notice any difference b/t 1866 and 2133.
  5. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'd like to see benchmarks with MultiGPU, exploring how much a role memory plays. ;)


    I think i'll be joining this thread. I've not noticed anyone rally posting subtimings, what are we looking at here?
  7. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I knew you were going to link that thread. :laugh: That's why I mentioned "flow". I know that benchmarks don't show much of a difference, but everything just feels snappier at 1866 CAS 8 than 1600 CAS 7. I've considered that it's a placebo affect, but I honestly don't think so.

    I'll post some subtimings tonight or tomorrow, after I get my 2600k back on water.
  8. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    "Butt dyno's" :)p) are so subjective though. If you were put through a double blind test, I would bet good money says you couldnt tell the difference to the point of quantitating (is that a word?!!) the differences (meaning, Yeah, that window opened faster or...that app opened faster).

    Cad - I would love to see those results as well and if it changes. I know overclocking the CPU helps push the pixels in multi GPU configs, but not sure about memory. If I wasnt balls deep in reviews I would test that with 580's...:(
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I know memory makes a difference in certain apps With MultiGPU. But whatever, would be nice to have a list of whta apps it matters with, and what apps do not care. Might be an interesting list.

    At least ya got work to do though, now stop posting and get'er done! :laugh:

    Clearly, I gots time to post. :laugh:
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    I would love to see those tests. So far, nobody has tested it though, so its all an assumption to this point (but clearly a logical jump I agree with).

    Yeah yeah :)... trying to wrap up this Evga FTW article and some Geil memory (arriving today) already so I can finally sell off the entire platform and get back to my 55x SB and benching. I dont like this platform as it stands. Its kind of sad to me that my Asrock Extreme4-M was the most stable board out of the box vs UD7 and FTW... LOL (but I digress).
  11. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,804
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, I'm waiting on the samsung memory to arrive still.


    I've tested quite a few apps, of course, and the most noticible is Dirt2 or F12010...Codemasters games in general, but I'm very interested to see how other apps behave. It's a huge undertaking to test, for sure.

    It's interesting to see Samsung back in the game, last semi-decent ICs were HFC0, if i remember right.
  12. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    649 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Since you mentioned it how about the Mem Tweakit screenies
    [Mushkin sample]
    [​IMG]
    cadaveca says thanks.
  13. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    I love this ram. 16GB 2200 Mhz 9-10-10-28 1T 1.53v! Sexah for $40 each lol I still haven't got around to going higher yet. Waiting for a 2500/2600k from a friend.
  14. tedy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    what is that service when you can order to europe? so service orders to imaginary us address and then sends?
  15. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Nice. I'm running close to that now. I'm not sure how you are going to clock much higher. Most, if not all Z68 boards only go up to a 2133 strap, and bclk will only be stable to 104-106 max.

    Not sure what you are trying to say here.
  16. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,741 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    Location:
    US
    Maybe try Amazon.com if you having issue's getting your hands on some
  17. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,155 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    628
    I think several high end boards have a 24x multi... I have to check at home but I think the Sniper 2 does, UD7, and possibly the GD65? BUT, I could be mistaking as I only use those multi for benching (see reasons above :p), and none of those boards to bench.
  18. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,721 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,668
    Asus P8P67 pro has option in the bios for 2400, but I haven't tried it yet.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. tedy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  20. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,402 (2.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,133
    It was HCF0. they were first-gen DDR3 chips that ran 1.9v-1.95v @ 2000:roll:
  21. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Mine goes 2400
  22. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I've heard rumors that my board has the 2400 strap with a newer bios. I needed to update it anyways, so we will see. As of now, I don't have that option. I won't complain at 2133+ with 16GB, even if I can't go any higher.

    I won't have any updates for a day or 2. I'm working on getting this 2600k back under water, and I have a new router to configure.
  23. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Yeah I rarely get a chance to tinker at the moment. Working a lot and when I am home I want to crash and watch a movie. Maybe next week!
  24. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,812 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    Now I can show how much of a noob I am when it comes to intel setups. I received my ram yesterday and tossed all 16gbs in. Played around with 1600 and went for it all by setting the memory multi to 21.33(ECS P67H2-A2) w/ timings 10-10-10-28. System boots up but I notice CPU-z 1.59 is showing 800 with FSB:DRAM 1:6. Yet Intel Extreme Tuning tool says the proposed speed is 2133. Tried a load of prime, wprime, and OCCT to no avail. I can't see anything else besides auto detect, DIMM which I've tried disabling, that should cause this. Any help much appreciated.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Hmmmm Honestly not sure. Take a pic of your bios settings.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page