1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD A10-5800K Capable of 6.50 GHz over LN2: Company

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Sep 28, 2012.

  1. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,260 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,741
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    What does that have to do with my comment or the OP? :banghead: I said it was great.. I just want them to do 5ghz on air... I use AMD in a lot of my systems and always have.. Now go bark up someone else's tree... :p Remember you can like something and still want it to do better... You settle for shit and you'll get shit... :D

    EDIT: AND before AMD people go crazy.. hehehe I'm not calling AMD shit.. Again I like/love AMD's products... :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    So we may be relatively safe to presume if they really did get it up to or over 6 on dry ice, then its probably possible for the home user with air or water to achieve maybe between 4-5 ghz?-[yes?]

    If thats the case, this may be quite a good chip in home applications and this is just my opinion, have not tried them out myself of course.

    Its all about price v performance, as far as i know.

    Yeh why do folks chip out on amd? If they didnt make these chips, intel might walk all over us , we as consumers, need the competition, its only good for us really.
     
  3. chimonow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Exactly! Although we wont be seeing the full benefits of the following until we hit an actual heterogeneous architecture! But we will be seeing more performance per clock per core per mesh than anything before! That's what's great about AMD though, More support and a bit more Performance for close to equal price!
     
  4. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    It's a hard choice: A 2500K with easy and smooth 4.7Ghz on air, or lets mess with an A10 APU and liquid nitrogen =]
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    People comparing a SB/IB to an APU are not seeing the big picture here.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. chimonow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well matters really, I mean it is based off of bulldozer, the only thing that has changed really is the amount of instructions per clock, The core is still the same! By using some tech that they use on their gpu's, they were also able to reduce TDP! This publication doesn't really reveal anything.. As bulldozer was already able to hold and reach a world record on one core! It all depends on if they were able to reach it on 2 or 4!
     
  7. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Would you please elaborate which part of the picture we are missing? Do you think that we don't know what's an APU good for? The point is that we are commenting about a news here, where the PR guy himself compared it to a 2500K overclockability wise.
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes it maybe based on BD but you are talking about a chip that has a CPU and GPU sharing ONE die. It is good at what it was made for not to compete with the FX series OR the I5/I7 series.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. chimonow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Even with integrated graphics on a Core i5 or i7 with LN2 that shouldn't be too much of a problem, But seeing how AMD's GPU is twice to three times as fast and takes up a bit more power this I guess is to be expected! Although I am sure we will be seeing another world record sometime soon with this APU!
     
  10. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,260 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,741
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    I don't know buddy... SB/IB = CPU and Graphics.. APU = CPU and Graphics... I don't get why AMD had to call there's an APU and not just a CPU... I think it just confuses the public when going to buy a new pc.. Should Intel call there SB/IB chips something other than a CPU.. Maybe a IPU?... It does offer more than just a CPU... Who else is going to break the APU world record? ;)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    But there is a HUGE difference between HD3000 and 7660D in terms of processing power
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. chimonow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Oh I understand that completely! It was made to compete for the lower end.. The i3's the Pentuims, Celerons and so on! But one may wonder.. Why have they upgraded to the A85 chipset which splits the x16 pci x-press lane? To contend with INTEL! Yes, But to do that they would have to have a CPU that is worth it! Or just give people who know what they are buying a great deal! People who know their computers now days, Know that 2 660's or 7870's on even x8 - x8 express2.0 will produce the best possible graphics for even a multi-monitor setup at the highest in-game qualities! x2.0 - 16x provides 3%/ x3.0 provides up to 5% increase.
     
  13. chimonow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    You mean graphics power! Yes their is! The 7660D is 50%-120% better! Matters the application! But in actual Computational power, Intel wins Bar-None!
     
  14. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,260 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,741
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    True man and I get that, but there is a HUGE difference between the CPU's as well in terms of processing power(Intel being the winner). Plus they are not overclocking the 7660D.. Just the CPU.. I'd rather them overclock the 7660D and keep the CPU as is... That chip will shine then. I don't think AMD sees the big/picture... Overclock the 7660D to play games 60+fps or even 30+fps... The big/picture is to have a CPU/GPU aio and lose the addon graphics card.. right? Well overclock your 7660D over a 1ghz and tell everyone how great it is... Because they are overclocking the one thing that doesn't make it an APU.. :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    175 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    added feature.
    amd just provide options.
    if there's no crossfire support, i think people would then start complaining why the heck there's no crossfire available for FM2? :slap:
     
  16. chimonow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Though depending on the CPU will greatly increase results! In this day and age, Intel with a discrete GPU will win! I am an analysts, This is my job! 2 Years ago I would have suggested AMD, but now as it stands.. Untill AMD releases their second Gen APU's, Intel is still the way to go if you plan on going with a discrete GPU. AMD is the better choice for the everyday consumer though!
     
  17. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    175 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    i think we should wait and see...

    "Also new is the ability to clock the GPU via AMD OverDrive, a feature that was sorely missing from previous FM1 parts."

    might be able to OC the GPU ;)
     
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I was talking to dave last night and I would love to see an 8core, with 7970 APU LOL. that thing would be like 300W chip LOLZ
     
    theoneandonlymrk says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    Are people forgetting that AMD's APU's blow the competition out of the water. Once again, AMD's last management team made wrong decisions and now the new team have been working hard to rectify the mistakes.

    If Bulldozer today was the Athlon 64 then, AMD would have taken the desktop performance crown. That was a different AMD then.

    I don't think I need to get into AMD innovations that forced Intel to follow.
    64-bit, Dual-Core, Quad-Core, Octa-Core, L2 cache, DDR, APU, Module and so on. Thank You AMD for pushing INNOVATION even though it could put you out of business. I call that Balls Of Iron.
    ---------------
    Currently Phenom II is dead. As long as future AMD CPU's outperform Bulldozer, that IMO is progression. Just wait until those added instructions start being utilized, then you will see real gains.
     
  20. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    But you don't know what meetings are taking place in AMD's headquarters.

    AMD could have a 5-billion dollar contract with OEMs waiting to be signed next week. Perhaps potential negative attention or even positive attention regarding CPU specific benchmarks could influence the signing of those contracts.

    In a situation like that. Do they let reviewers do the write up, or do they sign the 5 billion dollar contract? - If I was the CEO I know what I would do.
     
    ensabrenoir and chimonow say thanks.
  21. chimonow New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    21 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    There is only 2-3 boards within the FM1 factor that support CF! 1-2 of them support SLI! Only Bulldozer supports SLI. So for AMD to support this in their FM2 FF they must be sayin hello to their middlend buyers! Which means their not only going after the low-end but the middle end! People who know their shit, who are looking at limited funds will choose AMD once again! The economics of this are great for AMD, A person who can get a system really cheap and then up grade to their choice of components over time is how AMD makes alot of it's money! Most people have to also remember that AMD has about 1/20th of what Intel has as 'Funds'! So for them, This is pretty damn AMAZING!
     
  22. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Nice, but how far did they get the GPU portion?
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I don't think they OCed it. Just CPU from what I can tell
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    Nobody knows yet how these will compare to the intel's CPU so anything said at this point is pure speculation. Its obvious that people dog AMD, but in all honesty...If I can hit 4.6ghz on the A10-5800K, add in a dedicated GPU or even 2 (due to the rumored hybrid tri-crossfire), I'm sold. You can spend $300 alone on a CPU and get maybe a 2-3 sec noticeable real world increase. These benchmarks you see between AMD and intel are ususally done on benchmarks optimized for intel's instruction set so of course intel is going to win, but bottom line. I've used overclocked bulldozers and overclocked SB and IB chips, on SSDs 1866 DDR3, and the difference is so minimal, its hardly noticeable at all. If anything, the extra intel cost is the most noticeable difference.
     
    TheGuruStud says thanks.
  25. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    639
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    AMD's PR is bad, and they should feel bad ;)

    Oh well, suppose I'll wait til official release for some numbers.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page