1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 12.8 WHQL Software Suite Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    CCleaner and driver cleaner apps always break things. they're a last resort before a format, and not something to be used regularly.
    Prima.Vera and fullinfusion say thanks.
  2. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,028 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    I find just doing a back up is all it takes b4 a CC run.

    Ya gotta be selective on what ya check off in the CCleaner options . :toast:

    Pay 9-1 odd's, Driver sweeper is the problem

    Aussi man, CCleaner is a big deal over in the united states lmao...

    But to tell ya something.... I've used CC Crap Cleaner for 5 yrs and it never, ever, let me down!
  3. Divide Overflow

    Divide Overflow

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    188 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    I'm seeing some graphical corruption in Civilization V on my 5870 with 12.8. DX11 unmodded game. Everything else looks good so far, but Civ is one of those games you keep going back to every now and then.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  4. chevy350

    chevy350

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    196 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Not to jump way off topic but if you still like the way FF looks and feels you could try the 64-bit Waterfox......been using it for a month or so now.

    Installed these the other day but haven't had a chance to check games or benchmarks yet, but nothing weird so far :roll: just installed over 12.6's
  5. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    lol@it's okay for a driver to break stuff.
  6. Jurassic1024

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    lmao!
  7. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    only problem i have is no more xfire in diablo 3 but its no biggie i dont need it.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    really? they broke that of all things?


    at least the games CPU limited, not GPU
  9. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    But who is still playing that crap D3 anyways??? This is (was) the worst game in history...
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    lame troll is lame.


    everyone knows big rigs racing was the worst.
  11. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Probably was...But never heard of it.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    youtube it. under no circumstance should you EVER try and play it.
    animal007uk says thanks.
  13. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    To late. Already on it... ;) :D
  14. turbobeta New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I am having the same issue. Catalyst Control Center won't open after installing 12.8

    Uninstalled, reinstalled, ran driver sweeper, redownloaded it, reinstalled, no dice. CCC won't open.
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Try updating your dot net framework. 4.5 was released recently.
  16. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    Is .NET 4.5 a requirement? Most of the .NET frameworks are not upgrades or updates, but separate packages.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,008 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,402
    updated to 12.8 here, and no trouble at all with 'AMD vision center' (aka CCC) opening.
  18. wickerman

    wickerman

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    287 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I've had weird issues with 12.8, primarily causing Firefox to go nuts. Basically if I run 12.8 and I load up Firefox, after about 5 minutes on any image heavy site (reading a review for example) and Firefox turns black and everything corrupts. Have to close firefox then load it back up. It also seemed to have completely killed flash as well, I can no longer run flash 11 at all. Just crashes the plugin every time. Had to install an older version (10.x) for now, might try to get the latest working with 12.7 betas again.

    Also seems to cause trouble playing Sleeping Dogs, sometimes it crashes on boot, or refuses to run full screen at all. Otherwise no problems on my 7950 crossfire, but these are bad enough to force me back into 12.7 betas.

    I never really did like the ATI drivers, a part of me wants to toss these 7950s in the sale section and go for a pair of 670s in sli.
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,670 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    LOL!!!! that might be the funniest thing ive read all week. I played it for an hour, didn't like it, but no way in hell does that mean its the worst game in history.
  20. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I believe 2.0 is a requirement for CCC.
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    That I knew from previous installations, but .NET 4.5 would not have anything to do with .NET 2.0.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. SIGSEGV

    SIGSEGV

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Messages:
    504 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    107
  23. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Unless AMD have updated (CCC) to a newer version. I only mentioned it because 4.5 had been released a day or two before, oh and that updating/reinstalling the framework may help.
  24. Jaffakeik

    Jaffakeik

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,581 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    reinstalled my 12.8 now they work like they should,but still there was error on log on installation,but atleast now I can open Catalyst panel :) and some strange vertical line on rights side on monitor dissapiered :)
  25. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    Went back to 12.7 beta, for some reason firefox 14 just kept crashing over and over with 12.8

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page