1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 12.8 WHQL Software Suite Released

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Really? No issues at all. Then I should be trying this too, it takes alot of time to uninstall then install, then uninstall over and over again :)
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,511 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    This has been an outstanding driver for myself so far. With Catalyst 12.6/12.7, they worked fine but my overclock became limited and I would get an occasional flicker on my web browser. All of that is fixed now and with a nice performance boost in some applications to boot.

    *Luckily, I'm not a FireFox user. :)
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    i'm a firefox user, and having no troubles.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,031 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,366
    Bros machine runs these drivers, installed ontop of 12.6s without any issues, Noticed however When Firefox Opens or Youtube runs, I notice a clock spike in Graphics Overdrive up to the factory 3D Clock speed of the 6770 no noticeable issues as of flicker or anything, Im thinkin the program would need a 2D Clock profile.

    Im Thinkin a Graphics card needs to have a priority capability, meaning the GC will always be in 3D Clocks when a Game is launched and remains that way even when other programs are open or you switch windows to prevent performance dips.
  5. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Crossfire for 5870/5850 seems completely screwed up....Half of games don't work in Xfire anymore....
  6. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,031 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,366
    did you happen to create a system restore point?

    Also send a report to AMD with the games that dont work. Sounds like a profile issue
  7. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    I installed the latest profiles....
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,031 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,366
    id create your own as those profiles are 1 fits all solution but that isnt always the case

    If anything did you create a system restore point before installing those drivers?
  9. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Werent the 5xxx series dropped from the list starting with this release?
  10. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    Noup
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,031 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,366
    Last I recalled AMD was to drop the 4 series and lower after they moved to the every other month driver updates (THought this was supposed to be every 3 months)
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,031 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,366
    only thing I can suggest to you now is to completely remove the drivers and put in 12.6 or 12.4s

    there is a guide on how to do it.
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    flash is hardware accelerated, so it clocks up.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  14. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    I just found out now, that with those drivers , the second GPU is always at max freq, and the fan is noisy as hell. What a hell???
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,031 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,366
    is that at all times or when a program is open?
  16. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,185 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    283
    all the times
  17. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Well I did think this was a pretty good driver but it's bit me on the arse. The OpenGL driver is wonky again. I finally got RAGE working again and decided to start a new game and it runs great maxed out.

    BUT it borks my TrackIR AGAIN(Was an issue with the 12.3 thru 12.5) TrackIR uses OGL for the GUI. It won't even start...I guess I wait for the next set and hope it comes back again
    1 step forward 2 steps back...:banghead:
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,031 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,366
  19. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    All well and good eirdairman1 but I HAVE TrackIR the real deal. So using another program for it seems a little silly. Not to mention Free Track hasn't been updated in a couple years now. At least when TrackIR IS working properly it has updated game profiles and just "comes on" when a supported game is fired up.

    The 12.7 previews worked fine if I recall. So not sure how they could break again with the WHQL drivers. I'm not sure whether to roll back and say have worse performance in Sleeping Dogs for example or have working TrackIR which I use when I play the Hunter or the odd time I fly IL-2 CLoD or War Thunder...:shadedshu
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,031 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,366
    i was mentioning it as a possible solution
  21. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,790 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yeah I appreciate the effort. Free Track hasn't been updated since 2008.
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,974 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    thats not happening to me. my second card is behaving as expected.
  23. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    installed over 12.6s seems legit
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,031 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,366
    legit as in what, good or bad, be specific.
  25. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    i thought everyone knew it ment it seemed ok? I installed them over 12.6s on a laptop with an ATI HD 4200 and everything is fine.
    eidairaman1 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page