1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Radeon HD 7000 Series to be PCI-Express 3.0 Compliant

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. Mistral

    Mistral

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Montreal
    This was one of my first thoughts when I heard of PCI-Ex3 being around the corner. There were some rumours about that, but I haven't heard anything concrete yet.

    nV was the first with DX10, but there wasn't exactly a slew of awesome DX10 games raining on us at the time, or even now, either. Your point?
     
  2. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    AMD advertised DX11 as Eight World Wonder. Lots were fooled.
     
  3. Benetanegia

    Benetanegia New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    694
    Location:
    Reaching your left retina.
    I think that his point is that being first to any of these technologies is pretty much irrelevant. Just something the marketing department will try to use.
     
  4. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,167 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    The real point is that if neither pushes the envelope we'd still be AGP, Dx8, single 1280x and still be thumping our chest saying I get great fpS's.
    Innovation I never say it’s not welcome.
     
  5. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    your still using XP?......:wtf:
     
    Red_Machine says thanks.
  6. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,732 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    My sentiments exactly.
     
  7. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    179
    How many times I heard "Physx is dead", "Cuda is dead".?
     
  8. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Sweet now only if the next gen graphics can push the limits :rolleyes:

    That was Very funny TheMailMan78
     
  9. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I am going to say this is my guess too, I would bet it will be at least 8 if not 9 series before it actually makes use of it and not just compatible.



    I don't know about that atm current cards don't make use of full 2.0 bandwidth, I can't see selecting a board for single or SLI / Xfire based solution based on PCI 3.0 support or lack there of. I'd take the 2-3 FPS hit and go with things that matter to me more like the number of SATA ports and UEFI support.
     
  10. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    It would break alot of my bussiness software to do so and cuase some serious issues in terms of machine performance. there was nothing really all that wrong with XP@SP3
     
  11. Thatguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    666 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    The new AMD GPGPU arch GCN aims to kill it with a open standards compliant design.

    Cuda will be dead when this rolls out or it will become massively less important and more specialized and as AMD is going put this design into APU's in the next 2 years, yep. Cuda is a dead man walking.

    Now if nvidia was smart, they would move to standards compliance.
     
  12. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I thin CUDA is far from a dead man walking, especially in the super computer world, it's the standard. PhysX on the other hand is and has been dead IMO for some time, there has just not been a break out title that supported it mainly because all major titles are console ports, and as such CAN'T support PhysX, and it will continue to be that way until the next gen consoles come out. IMO Nvidia should have simply offered AMD a licensing agreement, and offered "incentives" to game developers to use PhysX.

    As it stand I don't see CUDA going anywhere for a long time, especially for distributed computing (F@H anyone) and super computing applications. I just don't see the point in offering a competing standard to PhysX as it's a dead market, the problem is game developers outside of the RTS and MMO genres have turned their back on the PC platform, and the hardware they develop for is the better part of half a decade old, and can't handle good graphics let alone PhysX.
     
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    From the PCI-SIG FAQ on the PCI-e 3.0 Specification ...
     
  14. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    I'm still running XP too, I don't see Vista Service Pack 3 (aka Windows 7) as an upgrade. Everything I want to do on my computer, I do great on XP. Smooth as butter :)
     
    dr emulator (madmax) says thanks.
  15. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So this means we could see 6 or 8 pin plugs on mobos to add power over PCI ?


    :roll::shadedshu

    It's an upgrade trust me especially when you take into account M$ is going to stop adding security updates for XP.
     
  16. Pestilence New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    XP = No DX11

    I like XP but would never go back to it. X64 XP was buggy as shit
     
  17. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,732 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    But XP is a pile of bloated shit. That and you automatically lose as much video RAM you have from your main RAM.

    That and no DX10/11.
     
  18. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I am actually excited to see what the power draw of the 7 series will be, perhaps AMD can get it's drivers in order by then.


    Meh lack of DX 11 is still not really an argument given there is maybe barely 2 dozen games that support it.
     
  19. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_games_with_DirectX_11_support

    I count 22 games

    I wouldn't be worrying over DX11 anytime soon, I would worry about when will us the peeps get 64bit games

    64 bit is the only thing that can maximize DX11 graphical/gameplay output

    -----------

    PCI-e 2.0 -> PCI-e 3.0

    Expect that SLi or Crossfire jitter/stutter to disappear
     
  20. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I was off by 2 games :ohwell: , I agree DX11 isn't a big deal yet but I think 2014 will eb the year of DX11, as that is the rumored year for new consoles.
     
  21. Roph

    Roph

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    378 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    There's not a single game that I'd like to play but can't due to me using XP. I played through Crysis 2 fine. Mostly I just play TF2.

    I also find it funny that you call XP Bloated, while at the same time push Windows Vista SP3.
     
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    there isn't a vista SP3 :confused:

    if you mean windows 7 thats as far from bloated as you could get, had it running on riva TNT's and MX440 based rigs last week

    After having to use Both XP and windows 7 on about 25 different machines each in the past 2 weeks i can tell you windows 7 is infact not very bloated at all

    Xp starts off quicker but then the updates come and slow it right down

    How is this On topic at all?

    i'm just hoping PCI-E v3 is a sign the next gen cards will actually be able to use that bandwidth
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2011
  23. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,732 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    That is referring to 7.

    Well, let me see... When XP was first released, you could run it on a machine with 64MB of RAM, now with all the bloat it's accrued over the years you need at least 1GB.
     
  24. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Pre-SP2, Xp x64 was a nightmare to work with, both do to problems with the OS, and for limited driver support. However, by SP2 the OS was quite stable, and the Vista x64 push really brought quite a bit of driver support.

    I really was sad to move away from XP x64, as it was truly my favorite of the Microsoft Operating Systems (low resources, 64bit, familiar interface, Server 2003 kernel, very fast).
     
  25. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,732 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I used XP x64 and the only issue I had was lack of compatibility. Even then, it was just Microsoft adding incompatibility flags to installers when the software itself had no problems at all.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page