1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Working On Stripped-Down PlayStation 4 SoC for PCs

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Ahead of its unveiling last week, it was expected that Sony's PlayStation 4 console would be driven by little more than an AMD A-Series "Trinity" APU. It ended up being a lot more than that. The custom-design SoC that drives the next-generation console is a joint effort between AMD and Sony, which integrates an 8-core x86-64 CPU based on the company's new "Jaguar" micro-architecture; a GPU based on its Graphics CoreNext technology; a GDDR5 integrated memory controller, and certain enhancements by Sony. In an interview with The Inquirer, the company hinted that it's interested in porting the SoC over to the PC platform, minus Sony's share of the development.

    [​IMG]

    PlayStation 4, although based on the x86 CPU machine-architecture, doesn't conform to any known PC specification. It uses 8 GB of GDDR5 memory as both system and graphics memory, several of its interfaces are out of specs of anything that can be implemented on a PC motherboard. Therefore, its SoC can't simply be soldered onto a PC motherboard. AMD would have to first strip the SoC of Sony's share of the development (or risk having to license it).

    Next up, it would have to strip the chip of its most interesting component, the unified GDDR5 IMC. JEDEC does not have a GDDR5 DIMM specification, nor would motherboard makers be interested in hard-wiring expensive GDDR5 memory chips on to their motherboards and render the memory subsystem non-expandable. The PlayStation 4 SoC uses a 256-bit wide GDDR5 memory interface, with a stellar memory bandwidth of 176 GB/s. That's over six times the memory bandwidth of an Intel Core i7 "Ivy Bridge" machine running dual-channel DDR3-1600 MHz. A fallback to DDR3 could hence greatly cripple the SoC. It would be extremely interesting to see how AMD handles the checks-and-balances needed to bring the SoC over to the PC.

    Sources: The Inquirer, The TechReport
     
    Ikaruga says thanks.
  2. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    they will just down scale the GDDR5 to 2GB and have ddr3 dimm slots?
    thats the most logical one, its basicly a motherboard with a dedicated gpu built into it ;P
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I would imagine changing the 256-bit GDDR5 interface into 128-bit GDDR5, with motherboard makers being asked to integrate four GDDR5 chips with price adjustments on the chipset side; and 128-bit common DDR3 interface for system memory. It's not like AMD hasn't toyed with the concept of two independent IMCs on a CPU before (K10).
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    So basically this means my 7950 oc'd to 1200 core will max every console port for the next 5+ years?
     
  5. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    It's probably gonna be a dumbed down version, but still, the GCN 2.0 parts are probably free to come to the PC just like the extra computational capabilities added to the GPU. It's good news.
     
  6. Eagleye

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2012
    Messages:
    72 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Yeah maybe Steam could get their hands on this with a few of their own bits added in
     
  7. Solidstate89

    Solidstate89

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Western New York
    It'd be interesting if they did with something other than the Jaguar architecture.
     
  8. SaltyFish

    SaltyFish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    339 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    With DDR4 around the corner (server class Haswell chips will support it), I wonder if that would cost less than using GDDR5.
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,742 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    982
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I can't see this thing to work. Console can run a rather crappy hardware because everything is designed specifically for it. So even with crappy hardware it runs great. With Windows or Linux, forget it. Same games that will run great on PS4 will run like crap on this PC version of it...
     
  10. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Maybe it's not meant to be a PC version of the console. I know if i was to release this, its purpose would be a green SoC system that can be able to do general computing for under $300.
     
  11. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    829 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Yes, by the same logic that a 7900GT can max any console port available today.
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  12. iO

    iO

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    72 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Germany
    Sony could make some PlayStation branded killer laptop or AIO with that SoC...
     
  13. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Firstly this was already known and is the brazo replacement secondly their will be more specs released for this chip when the 720 breaks cover id imagine about the Ip sony put into this chip , we only know what amd wanted us to know and they could have easily put a ddr3 imc on the chip aswell if they wanted , Im waiting Amd ,it could be a 2.5D chip or cube .essentially anythings still possible.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  14. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    PC does not equal ATX specification. I guess we'll have to see if it will run Windows. That is the best determination of PC classification.

    For example, tablets (slates) that can make calls, even though they have cellular connectivity, are not phones.

    The usage defines the title.

    I see the beginning of the end for ATX.
     
  15. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,251 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Probably just a safe mode like version, since there are no drivers for it...or are they?:eek:
     
  16. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    "AMD included long ass list of licensed technologies for the CPU, memory, GPU, bus, etc. And Sony helped."

    I love how they claim it was a joint effort with Sony, but has no idea WTF Sony contributed. I take it Sony was the one who picked up the phone and asked IBM to build the motherboard and PSU for AMD to finish the system.
     
  17. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    This would be interesting...
     
  18. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,612 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    this would also probably kill PS4 sales. What would be the point of buying a PS4 for those looking for a new console or pc to game on, if a laptop came with almost exactly the same hardware yet could do more than just game and browse(school work, media downloading, etc)
     
  19. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,893 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Singapore
    Because the laptop would be mobile and would cost 2 or 3 times more than the PS
     
  20. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    Am I the only that was confused by the Title and the above. Nowhere in the Interview does it mention a SoC just APUs.

    Your making it out like PS4 has a SoC when its using a AMD APU+Sony IP. The interview itself that you source from The Inquirer says it clearly.
    The only reference to a SoC is from The TechReport source.
    Which was a reference to a APU not a SoC.



    Editors :slap:
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
  21. 1freedude

    1freedude

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    557 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    APU=SoC
     
  22. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Apu +nb +sb+other Ip=soc:)
     
    More than 25k PPD
  23. Xzibit

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,121 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    252
    In what world.

    If a SoC was powering PS4. ARM should be out of business.
     
  24. xenocea

    xenocea

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2013
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Australia
    Sorry but that is far from the truth, and misleading. You cannot compare the 7900GT to the PS3's architect. They completely different.

    And no way can the 7900GT pump out remotely playable framerates on Battlefield 3, Crysis, Crysis 2, Crysis 3, Assassin's Creed...etc even if they the visuals are down scaled for the consoles version.
     
  25. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,140 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,669
    On a PC it cannot because they are not optimized for it. However hes correct. The PS3 has about the same power as a 7900GT from what I remember. The 360 was around the X1900.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page