1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ArmA II&III HQ

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by Killer_Rubber_Ducky, Jul 1, 2012.

  1. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,465 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Perfect syncro: BF3 6G patch finished and 5 minutes ago ARMA III alpha is available on Steam, got it and d/l'ing it!
    yeahaaa
     
  2. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,465 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Played. It is a big step ahead. Much optimized. Sweet!
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Optimized is the word I wanted to hear!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,465 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    yeah mate, vehicles, indoors, interface and generally all movements feel finally "well coded" if I can say that.

    Happy. Really. This is not a remake or just OpFlashpoint 1.9.2.6 !

    That said, the map, the structures resemble the series, even the A.I. which was laughable when I stole a jeep from a base. (Vehicle Showcase map)

    Multiplayer no tested, populated servers were password servers.
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Damn I gotta get 50$ quick!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,465 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    493
    hehehe, you know how to do that. I wanted the über-supporter version but finally opted for the cheapest alpha(+beta+final) version, just 25 €, not bad. Ah, and it runs smooth on my hardware on high settings; way better than Arma2 and Iron Front 44, btw)
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  7. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    I wanted the supported edition but the BIStudio servers kept crashing on me so I snagged the Digital Delux off steam. Dwnling now
     
    brandonwh64 says thanks.
  8. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    I can help you out if you want.... just let me know.
     
  9. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    ygpm

    *EDIT*

    Looks like we are in Arma 3 tonight!
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2013
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    New ShackTac vid of ArmA III. Looks like I may pick up a set of pedals!!!

    [yt]R60LoGA-sKI[/yt]
     
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Downloading at 2MBPS so should be done soon. I am leaving work around 12:00-12:30 so hope some multiplayer servers will be open.
     
    AsRock says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,125 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    Location:
    US
    Might try my wheel pedals see how that goes :p. O yeah he's a master at using the Track Ir too he has some really good vids and is very well respected.
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The step lean is slick as hell!!

    step lean
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Done installing playing now. I am on TS. We need a channel for this too.
     
  15. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,125 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    Location:
    US
    The store is back open although they want $91 for the supporter ed, dam that's a little rich for me lol.
     
  16. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    So far pretty good experience. Working on figuring out the newish editor. Trying to make a water assault mission or something.

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,933 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,364
    I am pretty much loving Arma III! but it makes my 680 choke with everything cranked up, so i did something totally impulsive and ordered another 680 for SLi so i can run the game in maxed when it finally comes out....

    Yeah, Im stupid. and i am well aware 680 SLi is overkill for a 23" screen but with the SLi sorted out I can focus on getting a 27" screen before christmas.
     
  18. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
  19. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    I just got the game(alpha), my god this game is amazing!, still alpha and it already runs better than Arma 1 and 2! I can't wait for the final product!
     
  20. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    I'm trying to create a mission. I am working out the kinks. Can someone suggest a simple mission for me to create? There already exists one to escape the island, and one where you kill 3 officers. Having someone suggest a mission would make it simpler for me to create it as I will have a solid goal and can envision it as it were. ^_^
     
  21. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,125 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    Location:
    US
    If any thing like arma2 editor there is nothing really simple about it, i did notice they completely changed the interface but for the short time i tried it you still had to select 1 unit or group and double left click the map and select what you want and presuming that it's like arma 2 editor you have to select each unit to tell it if it's playable or not.

    You already found one of the best sites which is Armaholic there is others of course but it's been a year since i played arma 2 never mind the editor which i made a simple mission which a lot hated as most just wanted to run gun shit and i made it so you could not do that lol.

    And from my experiences with the editor it's only gets easier when you have learned it and if like the past ones there be a shit load to learn.

    Anyways better get of bed 3am in the morning lol..
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  22. Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Killer_Rubber_Ducky

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,711 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    299
    Well, right now, I'm just looking for mission ideas. I can make a mission I just need to have some good ideas that could work. I am trying to figure out how to call CAS and Mortar w/o SOFLAM.
     
  23. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,125 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    Location:
    US
    Well there is a mortor spawn in the 1st mission you could look that mission up and try to use a .pbo extractor.

    Maybe the .pbo file called missions_f.pbo is the one but not sure
    Steam\steamapps\common\Arma 3\Addons

    Like this one
    http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=411

    And the guy who made it and his site, he's really good in what he does although not sure if he's going be working on A3.
    http://www.kegetys.net


    If the extractor does work and that is the file it might be tricky to even find the mortor script still..

    Best bet might be to look at Arma 2 scripts and stuff on what your after they MIGHT just work although on each release they do tend to change to some degree.
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,933 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,364
    Make a saving private Ryan mission! :rockout:
     
  25. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Figured out how to install missions for multiplayer! Now we can create servers on the fly and have our own wasteland server! The newest version was out this morning! 1.0.2

    [Change Log]
    [Fixed] - Gun Stores
    [Fixed] - Missions
    [Fixed] - General UI
    [Fixed] - Lots of other fixes
    [Fixed] - Re-spawning Vehicles
    [Fixed] - Deserted Vehicles (20Mins)

    [​IMG]
     
    Killer_Rubber_Ducky says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page