1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ATI CrossFire Xtension v.1.0 Released, Forces CrossFire Support

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Coming out of nowhere, ATI CrossFire Xtension may become your favourite application after the next sentence. Just released with the pilot version 1.0, ATI CrossFire Xtension is a cool utility that allows you to create custom profiles and force CrossFire support on non-supported or new games and applications, both for Direct3D and OpenGL. Better see for yourself if the app works. Here's the download link.

    Source: The Geeks of 3D
    ShadowFold, mlee49 and TRIPTEX_CAN say thanks.
  2. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET :rockout: :respect:

    Only several years after Nvidia, but hey! Better late than never.
  3. truehighroller1 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    Messages:
    189 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    I knew this was coming after seeing that evga thing the other day. This is pretty sweet. Tell us how it works people that have access to try it right now. I am at work, can't try it right now.
  4. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Dude I want to test this ASAP!!!! Someone get some feed back going!!!

    I want to see if this works on x2 cards now.
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,006 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    so if i have an old game like call of duty 1 i can theoretically force crossfire support?
    sounds interesting but i dont have crossfire lolz :laugh:
  6. groothof22

    groothof22 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    197 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Leeuwarden,The Netherlands
    i have now corssfire today lol

    Sweeet i love it today i have a second 4870 i am happy gne gne:laugh:
  7. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Damn... 8 more hours at least before I get to play with this :shadedshu
  8. TRIPTEX_CAN

    TRIPTEX_CAN

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,304 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    723
    Location:
    BC.CAN
    I'll test it in about 5h. I'll post up what I find if no one else has.
  9. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Mebbe it'll force xfire to work better in Warhammer... I only notice ~5 fps increase with my 4830's
  10. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    Splendid.
  11. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Someone open this up. Could it be no more than a GUI to rename the .exe to a program that already has a Xfire profile? (ie. take Prey.exe and rename AFR-FRIENDLYD3D.EXE)




    *grumble*
    Lazy kids....
    /*grumble*
  12. Silverel

    Silverel New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,769 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    dood. I could totally write an AutoIt script to do that and make a snazzy UI for it...

    Q: Can I get paid for that?
  13. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    If you have a website that gets paid for hits, then "yeah"....
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,921 (7.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,497
    Anyone try this yet? If it works I'm so going to BENCH QUAKE 3 with duel 4850s :laugh:
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Amazing. This is a great step forward for ATi
  16. js01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    170 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    This tool has nothing to do with the devs at ati, it was first posted over at xtremesystems.org, for d3d it renames the.exe to crysis.exe and for opengl it renames the .exe to etqw.exe.
  17. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Finally! Change is in the air for ATI!

    Now I can jack up my framerates in tri perhaps if I buy two more HD 3870s. Feeling lucky, Crysis?
  18. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,814 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    This morning I tried it and it would not work. Everytime I tried to run it I get an error about side-by-side.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,744 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    well .. all it does is rename your game exe to etqw.exe (opengl) and crysis.exe (direct3d). nothing you cant do yourself without any tools
  20. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,814 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,442
    I just thought I'd be lazy and try it. Oh well.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,477 (3.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Just tried it on Furmark and exactly no difference. Will try other apps/exe's to see if any improvement.
  22. AgentGOD New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    That means you are lacking .NET Framework 2.0.

    Not in the latest version. It gives the user the choice of which pre-defined profile to use. Also, this saves the hassle of the user creating a bunch of shortcuts and renaming everything. I wrote this program to simplify the process, and give users a way to organize the unsupported games, all in a single application. With that aside, it does do what it was "advertised" to do.
  23. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,744 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,462
    furmark's exe is already renamed to etqw so it should support cf out of the box without any other tools
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Sweet I just got my crossfire setup going.. I wonder if this will improve games that already have profiles?
  25. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    anyone try GTA , maybe we see some different's there

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page