1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by TheMailMan78, Feb 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Indeed. As I posted earlier--with HT on I'm showing 30-100% load on at least 7 cores at any given time.

    Nah he's just kinda...abrasive.
     
  2. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    I will bump this once I have my new BF3 BETA montage. Hope y'all will like it :) ...It's on ultra 1920x1080p
     
  3. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    I just played Caspian border and omfg it is battle field.
     
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,669 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    ^ Roger that! :)
     
  5. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    It wasn't my intent to be abrasive about it. Just show that more then 4 cores/threads are being used. So if you are considering a CPU upgrade for this game a 2600K would be the better option.

    Another thing not mentioned much is the fact that the game is also suppose to be DX11 multithread rendering ready. I use the word ready because it is only enabled through the gpu drivers. So that means the gpu drivers have to support the feature. From my understanding of it that is also a cpu function. More about it from AMD
     
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    meh point is game might use the threads and thats good but its also not maxing any of my cores on the 2500k at stock let alone overclocked

    so while its extremely well multi threaded its still not fully stressing a 2500k,

    and HT isnt like 4 real extra cores people seem to forget that if you bog down a core HT actually can hinder performance so its not a magical panacea of which awesomeness reigns supreme so keep that in mind.

    another way to look at it this is Shogun 2 it will spread itself out across 8 cores as well but guess what frame rate and min max avg load times etc all are the same on a i3 2100 vs 2600k if the clock speeds the same and memory is the same,

    i wont argue on the fact 2600k is the superior cpu but from what ive seen of the beta a 2600k has no improvement over a 2500k

    much like your OWN THREAD on BC2 where a 2600k with HT on or Off had 0 impact on performance, ;) it is what it is its better multi threaded its using the cores but it dosent end up becoming the end all be all.

    2600k is the superior cpu

    but id be willing to bet that when the performance roundup on the retail game hits a 2500k and 2600k will perform the same it will come down to memory and clock speed.
     
  7. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    here it is, if its still in 420p or lower, it's still processing (1080p when finished) check back later :toast:

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    As for the my own thread it was using Starcraft II. A game that uses less then 4 HW threads. So, it would make perfect sense that using 4/8 HW threads wouldn't make much of a difference ;). All I'm pointing out is that it cannot be ignored that the game is using more then 4 HW threads.

    Oh, and what link shows that a 2600k shows no improvement over a 2500k for this game? I like to view it?
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
  9. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    uh Bad Company 2 was used genius

    you were bitching about Core 2 Quads not being used in reviews anymore for comparisons remember?

    Q9650 at 4ghz with a 5970 had 70-80fps in BC2

    stock 2600k at 100fps
    stock 2600k with HT off at 101 fps

    or did you forget that thread ;)


    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/s...9&highlight=core 2 quad in modern cpu reviews

    oh seems i had it mixed up

    BC2 with HT on had 101
    BC2 with HT off had 100

    lolololol

    again i highly doubt there will be a fps difference in the BF3 retail game from 2500k to 2600k

    of course if you want proof of concept just remind me when the game actually releases

    i know multiple users with 2600k and 6950 xfire and im willing to test that against my 2500k to see if there is a difference.
     
  10. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Starcraft 2 doesn't use all 4 cores as you previously thought. As for BC2 to be fair, it is just a quick screenshot of an overall map view. Not a benchmark result using fraps. So don't put to much stock in it. If you stop with the name calling and really look at the results I didn't use fraps to provide min/max/average...genius...
    Do you have those cpus results for the BF3 beta suggesting that both the 2500k and 2600k offer the same performance? Or was that just an arguing point?
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    and im telling you having played the beta with every tom dick and larry on tpu

    2600k or 2500k makes no difference performance is the same

    lololol.

    33% over 8 cores lets see cut that in half its 66% on a quadcore hmmmm simple math yes

    again 2600k is the superior cpu but its not having any performance superiority at least when it comes to the beta retail might be a different story but im willing to bet otherwise.

    look at your own damn screenshot you keep tossing up

    from everything ive seen and tested currently

    the game is GPU limited not CPU limited at least on single gpu systems multi gpu still gpu limited

    the games effectively scaling to 4 gpus even in the beta.

    seems to have the same underlying cpu requirments of BC2 but gpu requirments are through the roof for maintaining smooth framerate then again beta performance is also all over the place.
     
  12. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Post up a pic similar to mine. I like to see what you are seeing.
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,700 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Well I had a great time playing the beta will all you at TPU! Now we wait til the retail comes for more fun!
     
    H82LUZ73 and MT Alex say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,154 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,680
    Why worry about me? What would it matter?



    Seriously why would I hate homosexuals? Why? Worked on South Beach for years as an artist. They are no different then me expect their sexual preference. If you think I'm homophobic you got the wrong guy. However I do love the gay jokes because it makes so many fake alpha males uncomfortable. Now excuse me while I rock out to Culture Club and shoot down jets with a stinger in Caspian.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    Nick89, H82LUZ73 and alexsubri say thanks.
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    At stock cpu BF3 beta uses 72%
    the rest is 14 tabs in Opera
    Steam
    Origin
    Digsby
    TS3

    and a bunch of other apps running.

    also its not maxing any core and again this is stock speed and with XMP disabled on memory and i make this distinction because if you use XMP profiles it will clock all 4 cores up to 3.7 not 1 core by itself interestingly enough so with turbo + xmp profiles usage should drop to the high 60% mark of BF3, full on overclock the game will use less.

    and for the record i took the usage after blowing up a Tank with C4 and dying from the blast .... off topic but really wish i could throw C4.... i keep forgetting it drops it at my feet and boom goes the dynamite i blow myself up lol
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  16. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Did you just debunk your own data as inaccurate and misleading?
     
  17. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    and yes yes he did :roll: i love trolling its even in my avatar

    i suppose this means i need to fully overclock my rig right? and test the beta again to further test my theory and point and thereby assert my awesomesauce alpha mail dominance ? or can we just say that by extention overclocking increases headroom and thereby a 2500k is more then enough since even a stock cooler lets ppl get an extra 500-600mhz out of the quadcore chip
     
  18. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    No, Lol. But it is just a photo not a fraps showing min/max/average. ;)


    So your pic clearly shows that you are using more then double the cpu usage with a 2500K then with HT enabled on a 2600k. Then you later admit you were trolling me about it.
    Well all I can do is thank you for showing all of us that the cpu usage is much higher :D.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
  19. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Then how is it even relevant? It's like comparing the frame rate of the main menu across 2 platforms, it has no applicable relevance. You just admitted that data you were using to compare 2 products--based on performance--wasn't actually reflective of their performance. :shadedshu
     
  20. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Because it was asked for. It wasn't part of my original post. :wtf:
    Edit:
    Furthermore, you are making wild accusations based on nothing more then a quick pic I provided. It doesn't suggest anything you are implying as it was just a quick pic. All I suggested here was to state the obvious it wasn't a fraps recording (as the pic clearly shows, lol).
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2011
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,401 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,700
    can you ladies just calm the f*ck down? i'm trying to watch anime here.
     
  22. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,149 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    463
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Whatever you say OBR. :rolleyes:
     
  23. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I can't believe he actually uses "crazyeyesreaper" as his PC username :D.
     
  24. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Well since you mentioned stereotypical gay jokes lol

    [yt]YLmcCCH-YfI[/yt]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  25. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Any hoot, this beta is just about over. It will be interesting to see what the retail version will be like. Along with any newer gpu drivers. Although, IMO, I'm not expecting much difference from what I've seen so far. But time will tell... :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page