1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Battlefield 3 - Horrible Lag

Discussion in 'Games' started by jed, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Upgrades on the way:

    2x4GB DDR3 RAM...

    Win 7 Pro 64 Bit...

    Which 660 would you all suggest?

    Galaxy 66NPH7DN6ZVZ GeForce GTX 660 GC 2GB 192-bit... - Galaxy, $210, $3 shipping, Free AC III

    EVGA 02G-P4-2660-KR GeForce GTX 660 2GB 192-bit GD... - EVGA $210, Free shipping, Free AC III

    GIGABYTE GV-N660OC-2GD GeForce GTX 660 2GB 192-bit... - Gigabyte, $210, $7.56 shipping, Free AC III

    Have not bought any of these GPU brands before, always been an Asus or Sapphire Radeon guy. EVGA and Gigabyte are names I've heard before.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,115 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Itll only use 3.5GB of whatever you have. You need 64 bit to use all 8GB of the ram.

    For just a little bit more you can get a HD7870 which is better then the 660.

    GIGABYTE GV-R787OC-2GD Radeon HD 7870 GHz Edition ...

    But if not then I would chose the Evga card out of the 3 you have linked.
     
  3. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Damn... Making me spend more money. That card is a beast. Is an extra 2% worth $38 more though? In your opinion... And would my processor be able to make the most out of it?
     
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,670 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    I would say no in this case because this game likes the NV drivers better, at least with MSAA in the mix.
     
    jed says thanks.
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,115 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I guess, but that graph is not accurate as of late since the newest AMD drivers boosted hte performance of the 7870 more then any of the 7xxx series cards.
     
    jed says thanks.
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,910 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Good call on getting a 64 bit OS as your new GPU would only leave you less than 2GB of system RAM to use. I can't really help you with the GPUs though as the graphs are old and Catalyst 12.11 increased things by about 5-10% across the board, but I'm kind of preferential to the 7870 (while NVIDIA GPUs look nice in the gaming charts, I didn't like the GPU compute cuts they made and all their GPUs look "mid range" on paper compared to their AMD counterparts and NVIDIA seems to be milking the price points).
     
    jed says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    The 7870 is getting more and more tempting now that I know of the apparent performance increase with the new Catalyst drivers... I'll do some more reading. $250 is a crap ton of money for my broke college butt, but if it's worth it and it'll last for another 2-3 years I'm used to taking the dive.

    I just played Planetside 2 on all-low with 1920 res and it ran okay. Looked like crap though. Surprised at how well my system runs Crysis at mid-high's but all the sudden these new fangled games are kicking it's butt. Suppose it's time to drop some money...

    Has anyone ever had luck at selling those game coupons that come with your card? If I could get $50 for the $70 deal that'd be a $200 7870 instead of a $250 one...
     
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,115 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I've Done It. A Lot Of People Have.
     
  9. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Sweet. Well I'll see if I can dig some money up. Still torn between the 660 and 7870 so there's a thread up and I'll continue to do more reading. I know the 7870 outperforms it's just that extra money that I need to get convinced about...

    Thanks to everyone so far that has helped me out. I'll get that new OS and RAM installed ASAP and get my GPU figured out soon as well and see where it leads me.
     
  10. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,944 (2.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,215
    Save up some more money, when you're dropping $300+ on a GPU do it right the first time and get something a bit stronger.
     
    jed says thanks.
  11. BondExtreme

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    588 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    * New OS
    * More RAM
    * Better GPU

    I run BF3 pretty smoothly for the most part with my 5850 on high settings. It's an older card but that thing is an amazing card. Sometimes my frame rate may drop to 20 or 30 in intense brawls but for the most part my playing experience is great. You would be so pleased with a new GPU :)
     
    jed says thanks.
  12. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Like a 7870? $200 was my initial limit... the 7870 is $250. I don't think I can make $300 unless you've got a Godlike card in mind for that much?
     
  13. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,804 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,640
    Spend the $250 you want on the 7870, and the other $50 Taco is harping about on an after market cooler for your CPU. The time has come to overclock it, especially if you get the 7xxx series card.
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  14. Moose

    Moose New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    306 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    UK
    Having almost the same PC as you with a 5770 (I used to have a 4850) I can safely say, despite everyone with super pcs disagreeing, that you should be able to run the game fine as long as you drop down some of the graphics settings,
    Shadows; get rid of them they make it harder to see enemies anyway
    2x AA and 2x AF is fine
    If you get windows 8 use beta drivers otherwise you get your problems, and please update drivers!
     
    jed says thanks.
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,115 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I think you really over estimate the power of a HD4850 lol.
     
  16. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,670 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,775
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ah well I suppose I should point out that basing this on personal experience with two 6850s then my 480 so maybe not apples to apples, especially anymore. In BF3, the GTX 480 was a big improvement despite the two 6850s being technically a bit faster (at their release). I know the additional half gig vram on the 480 helps me too though. I wanted decent, playable frames with 4x MSAA and I got it with my NV card.
     
  17. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    jed says thanks.
  18. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    I have to confirm what everyone else is saying. The 4850 isnt equipped to play BF3. You need something from the 6850 upwards to get the type of experience you want. Also 4GB isnt enough. BF3 eats through almost 6GB of RAM (checked myself, task manager on a fresh OS install).
     
    jed says thanks.
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,115 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    basically. BF3 wont use 6GB though. Thats full system usage so with OS and other things in the background. BF3 will easily just in itself use 4GB though.

    OP get 8GB memory kit, 64 bit Windows 7, and HD7870 and you will be good for a few years to come. Oh, and maybe a better cooler to start overclocking the 1055t. Not sure if your motherboard has good overclocking potential though.
     
    jed says thanks.
  20. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,298 (4.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,502
    jed says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Does it matter? The point is 4GB isnt enough.
     
  22. lyndonguitar

    lyndonguitar I play games

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,634 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Philippines
    if you wanna play with your current specs for now. Play with 720p at ALL LOW settings.

    my brother had a weaker pc than yours (Core-i3, 4GB RAM and GT 430, similar to the third PC in my specs) and he can play decently at all maps/player counts, he plays with 720p all low settings.

    BF3 low settings still looks better than most games so you shouldnt be worried about the quality experience. and 720p is enough, With my specs, i7, HD 6870 and 8GB RAM. I play @ 1360 x 768 on Ultra and I get around 60 FPS average.

    imo Framerate is more important than resolution especially with competitive fast paced games so if you got low FPS, turn down that reso! 1080p sucks if you get 30 FPS compared to 720p 60FPS. but it's just me. others may want that extra pixels instead of more framerate
     
    jed says thanks.
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,115 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,314
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Which is what we have concluded to in the thread..........:confused:

    The OP knows that now, and he is planning on ordering a 8GB kit, and to be able to use all 8GB of available memory, he is upgrading to 64 bit Windows 7.

    That is not really a weaker system. GT430 IIRC is low end, but better then the HD4850 at least in BF3 since it seems to favor Nvidia cards. Also Intel CPUs do a bit better in BF3 then AMD offerings. THe Core i3 can definitely run BF3 pretty damn well.

    [​IMG]

    Even the first gen I3 540 is doing better then AMDs flagship bulldozer chip. But only by a bit.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012
    Dent1 and lyndonguitar say thanks.
  24. GLD

    GLD

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,364 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    California, U.S.A.
    I would not buy a nVidia card at this time. I would buy a 7850/7870 and enjoy Far Cry 3 and Sleeping Dogs that it comes with.

    My rig runs BF3 sp/mp no problem. MP defaults to high in game settings and I have left it there since launch. Looks/Plays good for me. So maybe a 57xx+ or 67xx+ could be worth it on the cheap.
     
    jed says thanks.
  25. jed

    jed

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    285 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    You guys are insanely helpful. There's so much nice knowledge on this thread... To me anyways!

    My monetary situation has changed a bit. My dad decided to buy my old parts to 'update' his rig so I have a bit more wiggle room... Now I'm thinking about that Sapphire 7950 for $280 ($30 more than 7870) w/ $170 in games. Thoughts on this? 3 GB is a ridiculous amount of VRAM, would that start affecting my system even with the new 8 GB of video?

    My mobo can OC my CPU and GPU until they overheat and crash, so that's enough for now. I am probably going to update that soon anyways since my dad wants my Mobo, GPU and HD.

    Any recommendations on value Mobo's with good OC potential? Mine right now is good but I'll be giving it to my dad. This Gigabyte for $60 looks solid. Or else maybe this here AsRock mobo... never heard of this brand though. Sounds like they both have good OC ability.

    This here Coolermaster looks like it would do a swell job for $26.

    Thanks again for everyones assistance here.
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page