1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cable Management Helpdesk

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by tkpenalty, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    take it off and use a black marker pen on it then put it back on it wont stand out so much then but other than that it looks good ... you might want to look into some nice cable extensions for the PCIe 6pin and power cables that may help with the stiff cable from your PSU
  2. skellattarr

    skellattarr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    642 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    midway city ca
    i can use the old flex force cables that came with my altru 3x 1000 watt psu they bend a lot better then these new ones. the only problem is the 24 pin one is flat like a ribbon and may not rout behind the mobo tray as easy. using a black marker on that white ribbon is a good idea.:toast:
  3. kenyak22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    south cotabato, philippines
    Qs-202

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    khemist says thanks.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
  5. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    Me thinks he's just showing off :slap:
    Knight091 says thanks.
  6. kenyak22 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    south cotabato, philippines
    sharing

    im just sharing my cable-management sir..
  7. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,393 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
  8. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,575 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    wow I never knew this thread existed. I got a problem for my build and need advice.

    ive flipped my psu up the other way, and now there is no space for cables between mobo and psu.

    [​IMG]

    ddd said about clips, so that's an option. I may even just lose the cables and start from mobo lol
    m343 says thanks.
  9. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,393 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    370
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    You could cable tie them together, real thin cable ties so they don't stick out like a sore thumb, so that it just looks like one cable running neatly along the bottom of the mobo?
    d1nky says thanks.
  10. ekymetal

    ekymetal New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Hobart Tasmania
    Help birds nest

    Hi there
    My first post here !
    Cheers from Tasmania !
    I have had this rig for about a month ,got it 2nd hand for only $140 .
    Happy with that ,have done a few things ,but now comes the tidy up stage .
    Any help is appreciated !
    specs
    8 gig ddr3 ram corsair xms 3
    intel core 2quad CPU q9550 2.83 ghz
    Gigabyte mb ga-ep45t-ds3r motherboard
    Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850 1GB Passive cooler
    All in a sidewinder case

    [​IMG][/IMG]

    [url]http://imageshack.us/a/img819/8944/drgow.jpg[/url]
    [url]http://imageshack.us/a/img819/8944/drgow.jpg[/url]

    This is the case its in ,its modified extra holes and fans .

    [​IMG]

    Things have changed a bit since these pics were taken .
    here is a update sorry taken in the dark !

    [​IMG]



    Thanks for a great thread !
    cheers from Hobart :toast:
  11. Athlonite

    Athlonite

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,913 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    481
    cable ties mate and tie that kangaroo down
  12. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,610 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,286
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    [​IMG]
    tie everything tight and put the rest of cables in 5,25 inch bay
    run fan cable behind motherboard :toast:

    Attached Files:

    m343 and ekymetal say thanks.
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    If the fan is not a cheapo 4-pin molex only job, he has a fan header on the motherboard he can connect it to.

    Either way these cases were designed before people cared much about what their computers looked like on the inside.
  14. n0tiert

    n0tiert

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    921 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Location:
    Frankfurt/Main - Germany
    we use these

    [​IMG]

    in our racks for cable management, good solutution ;) or use black zip ties
    m343 says thanks.
  15. ekymetal

    ekymetal New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Hobart Tasmania
    Cheers mate :toast:
    Athlonite says thanks.
  16. ekymetal

    ekymetal New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Hobart Tasmania
  17. ranviper

    ranviper

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    79 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Adirondacks, NY
    Not bad for a Core 1000 eh? =)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    SAMiN, khemist and Jetster say thanks.
  18. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    182 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    [​IMG]

    I've got a drain line tucked just under the front of the rad but forgot to show it.

    SSD is backwards just because of the right angled connecter i have, i'm not looking for help but it's the tidiest i've ever had the back of a case.
  19. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    That case definitely helps. I don't think I've ever seen a case that had that much room behind the mobo tray.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    182 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Yeah man!, it's righteous.
  21. khemist

    khemist

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    182 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    402
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    Also i had some shortened custom cables made for my Silverstone psu, that helps. :)
  22. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,749 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    I got a short cable set with my Strider, and that's in my mITX home server. That definitely helps.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page