1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core 2 Duo E8700 Gets Listed, Price Displacement Model Stays

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 15, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,573
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Although Intel made the Core 2 Duo E8700 official as early as in January, the chip showed little or no signs of reaching retail. Even the most popular retailers in US and EU don't offer this chip, and continue to sell the Core 2 Duo E8600 at its target price range of US $250~$270. Chinese retailer PCPop started listing E8700, at a price that displaces E8600: 1750 Yuan (US $256). While the store doesn't list E8600 so we could tell to which extant it is displaced, its nearest neighbour E8500 is priced at 1210 Yuan ($177), showing that the displacement may affect the price of E8600 to a greater extent than it would to its lower models, as E8500 remains at its common price. The E8700 is clocked at 3.50 GHz, with an FSB speed of 1333 MHz, and a bus multiplier of 10.5x. Despite its high clock speed, the processor continues to come with a rated TDP of 65W.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 21, 2009
    Duncan1 says thanks.
  2. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    5GHz 24/7 anyone??

    Seems a bit pointless though, people want i7 these days or 775 quads...I'm not sure where this fits in aside from it has a 10.5 multi.


    [​IMG]
    Volts seem a little high but I'm sure this is just an early example, once people really start to OC these chips I'm sure we will see much higher numbers. :toast:


    Edit: Screenshot added. :)
    Last edited: May 15, 2009
  3. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    i don't think that's high for five point frikkin five! :eek:
  4. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    IS it better than the E8600?
  5. Duncan1

    Duncan1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    greece
    Its clocked ~200Mhz higher, plus the higher multi who helps when comes to overclocking;)
  6. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    That is a hell fast CPU.
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  7. Ochi New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    cooling

    What was the cooling? Water?
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,945 (11.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,368
    whatever it was, it would have been unstable. high clocks like that are never good for anything more than screenshots.
  9. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,838 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Florida, US
    almost time to pickup an E8600
  10. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Qouted as water, yes. :)
    The guy said it was bench stable. But, like you, I doubt it....I guess we will have to see if this is the case when someone puts it to work here on TPU.
  11. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    wow really impressive , can you tell me about your 3d mark06 cpu score , im become like e8600
  12. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    me want :D
  13. Duncan1

    Duncan1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    greece
  14. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    The largest impact we will see from the release of this chip is the rest of the e8 series chips drop in prices.

    Just another way Intel will make money by releasing a higher end chip to drop the price of the immediate surroundings. Good marketing Intel.

    Prediction:
    After i5 is released we'll have another round of backfilled 775 chips(ie e7600 or Q8500) and by then it should be time for 32nm technology to hold us over for a while.
  15. Shadin

    Shadin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Depends on the application. I use my PC for gaming and video/audio encoding. The encoding is the only reason I have a quad, and if it weren't for that I'd take an E8700 without question. Gaming doesn't yet benefit from quads very appreciably, and duals overclock better and tend to have far less issues with FSB walls.
  16. snakeoil New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 15, 2009
  17. SystemViper

    SystemViper

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,499 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472

    you bet, love that .5, it should rock some numbers.... :rockout:
  18. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,199 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    this would be a fun chip if it was $180 - not for $256.
  19. sLowEnd New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    do you have to post things like this? name one thing that core2 cannot accomplish that i7 can? Core i7 shows only marginal improvements over core2 and thats with way more bandwidth available thanks to QPI.
  21. snakeoil New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    well if you understand the old architecture you are using you know the front side bus is a gigantic bottleneck thats why when you stress your sistem is not as responsive as an amd system with hypertransport, thats why core i7 copied hypertransport and calls it QPI
    if the cpu cant communicate with the rest of the components of the system the system suffers and so does your overall experience.
    Last edited: May 15, 2009
  22. extrasalty

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    176 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Well, technically it's Intel that killed the horse, before they started beating it.
    Personally, after I got my BE-2400 for $18 from the egg, all of the rest seems marginally better for a lot more.
  23. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    That would be nice for a change, so far they've only gone up since the release..
  24. Triton.se

    Triton.se New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    235 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    old tech and not the slightest future proof, only 166mhz over E8600, why would ANYONE buy this when i7 is at door step ? insane price, go die

    Next gen i7 will only be enthusiast, and now this...whats inbetween? Intel is going to stop 775 mobos, wanting us to empty the current i7 shelves....

    go to h3ll, I will post 3 years how good my current cpu is..gth
    Last edited: May 15, 2009
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    no i have run both FSB will not cause a bottleneck on a dual core. the only system that i ever even heard of the FSB bottlenecking was the Q6x00 series with the 2 dies talking to each other across the FSB. thats it and even then there are no benchmarks that show the Q6700 loosing to the 9850/9950 other than memory benchmarks.

    the system is not more responsive it does not do anything better just drop it. FSB is a bottleneck but not enough to make a better processor perform worse than the AMD ones.

    i'm not an intel fanboi at all check my specs ask anyone on the forums and they will all agree if i am a fanboi to any company its AMD and i am sitting here telling you that the intel chips perform better in just about every little thing you can think of.
    dalekdukesboy says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page