1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    got this board http://eu.msi.com/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=1&prod_no=1845 ONLY for our fellow crunchers in EU, asking 20€ + shipping

    there is no accessories with the board, and no I/O shield, so it should be for a techstation or similiar.

    if you live in the US or somewhere else PM me about it and i will figure aout how much the shipping will be.
     
    blkhogan says thanks.
  2. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    It will be a 100% cruncher. What chipset should I be looking for?
     
  3. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i would prob. do a 3.5ghz with a decent cooler on it, that should not be impossible imo.

    dont really know how much voltage it should have though, but since a e8400 can do 4ghz easy with a good cooler then 3.5 should be okay

    uhm i know p45, p43 and x48 are good chipsets to oc with, maybe a gigabyte ep43/45, asus p5q or similar
     
  4. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,452 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,377
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Yes, the G31 won't handle FSB over 333mhz very well, you might get 3.2ghz, but I'd be surprised if you got much (any) more. If you poke around, you should be able to find a used P35 or P45 board for $65 or so
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    EWWWW:D
    i believe x38 are also fine, but i would also recommend you an x48 or p45 board... you will have much more fun with it;)
    keep in mind, that the quality of the MC is not dependand on the chip, but on the board, for everything before i7 (and from Intel):)
     
  7. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    well i really dont know biostar as we dont have that brand in denmark, but see some reviews of it, then you have an idea about how it performs:)
     
  9. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Ive had very good luck with Biostar and AMD. Intel Im a n00b.
     
  10. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    12,452 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,377
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    That's a decent mobo, not great, but far better than the Asus you linked (I'm not implying that BIOstar is better than Asus in general, just in this case). Should do 3.5 on an E8400 no problem, although you'll want a fan pointed at the MOSFETs (CPU voltage regulators)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i'm not saying its bad either, its just that i have no experience with brands like ECS, Biostart and such,

    in denmark we mainly have, EVGA, ASUS, ASrock, Gigabyte, MSI for mobo brands
     
  12. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  14. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Just built my new AMD gamer on a gigabyte. I like it.
     
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    gigabyte boards might not always have the looks, but it damn sure is the stability itself imo.

    you can always count on gigabyte to deliver what you want(mostly)
     
  16. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Guys,

    I don't really mind all this conversation at all, trust me. But Going through 3 or 4 pages to see if somebody requested a sata cable I.E., it's a real pain. But umm, please let's keep this thread slightly on topic please :D :toast:
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'll add you when I get home. Juan had a couple AM3 CPU's a while back, I don't know if he still has them.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    To add I am also even willing to trade a 2x1GB 1333 xms3 kit with Xigmatek heatspreaders for a Sempron 140 if needed.
     
  20. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,948 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,029
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Does anyone need any kind of cable (SATA, IDE etc.)? What about crossfire adapters? I've got a ton of this kind of stuff around. PM me if you need anything like this. Chances are, I'll have something lying around.
     
    blkhogan and [Ion] say thanks.
  21. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Im in need of a 775 motherboard, if at all possible support DDR3. If not DDR2 is fine also. Will house an E8200.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Added. keep it up, you've really gotten interested lately and have put up a few rigs so let's keep up the good work :toast:
     
    blkhogan says thanks.
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I think I fixed the issue I was having but I am still not conclusive with it.

    @blkhogan

    GL with finding the board. If I knew Abit would RMA this AW9D-Max, I'd ship it out to you.
     
    blkhogan and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  24. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I'm in need of a 40 gig or higher IDE (Or SATA) hard drive for my third cruncher I'm building, anyone have one sitting around that they could spare?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    if no one from the us have one then i got a 80gb barracuda you can get for free
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page