1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crunchers Helping Crunchers

Discussion in 'World Community Grid (WCG)' started by Chicken Patty, Aug 8, 2009.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    Anyone got a USB extension cord? My computer illiterate went and bought one of those travel mice ment for laptops with a 30" cord... not long enough to reach to the back of the desktop pc she's trying to use it on.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I think I might have one around. I'll look.
     
    Chicken Patty and hat say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    let me know if you do or don't so I can add him up on the list :toast:
     
  4. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I have one, it's your's for the cost of shipping.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    hey guys can anyone help me out? my AM3 rig isnt holding up. and i doubt my AM2 will the little 250w keep rebooting the system while im trying to crunch for stanhemi. does anyone have a low end 400w or a couple? that i can use to run these systems? my PSU's that I have spare are from like really old dells and stuff and their just not cutting it iv swapped them idek how many times.
     
  6. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I think my brother has a 300W sitting around, pretty sure it needs a new fuse thou.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,257 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,597
    Location:
    Florida
    do they use car fuses? or like tube fuses?
     
  8. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    Solaris17 says thanks.
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,817 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,965
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    Sorry dude, I gave away my spare CX400w to my friend about a month ago....
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    It's a older type car fuse. If I remember right. I'll try and snap some photos later when I'm at his place.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Solaris. I have a modded Antec Smart power 350w it looks kinda bad but runs great. For $13 it can be yours(cost of shipping and 2 or 3 for gas :eek:)

    @CP did you get that sent out to me? i hate not having my i7 or x2 working on something and can't get on TPU much because i don't have internet :banghead:

    I will be gone this weekend and the computers have no work to do because they can't download any :ohwell: looks like they are taking the weekend off.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,161 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    does anyone have a heatsink i can get for my 790fx UD5P's sata controller

    [​IMG] <-- thats what it looks like but...

    [​IMG] <--- notice here it dosent have one kinda confused

    want to play it safe im looking for a single ramsink + a bit of thermal adhesive tape to attach it anyone got something they can send me in an envelope XD shorter the heatsink the better just seems places give conflicting images. If someone can prove to me i dont need it tho thats even better :roll:
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    last pic dont work
     
  14. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,161 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    there images re added should work now but yea my board is the bottom its suppose to be like the top one but im not sure........

    i have the mounting holes.... but again not sure if its needed or not
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
  15. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,932 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,066
    Location:
    Ohio
    You could just use a tiny bit of super glue and regular TIM, should you get a heatsink for it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,161 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    well what im asking is... do i NEED a heatsink..... and if so does anyone have one laying around :roll:
     
  17. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,605 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    967
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    I've got two questions...
    (1) I need a reasonably priced 550-650 watt PSU... PM me if ya have one. I'm almost finished with my dedicated cruncher. So far I have Phenom II x3, M3A79-T mobo, V8 cooler in a HAF 932, I also need a GPU that will get me buy till I can buy a Nice one.
    (2) I have 313,000 Pts. so far and hope to sky rocket that once my dedicated cruncher is up. But, I don't know how to get the WCG badge at the bottom of my post like most of you guys have. I heard that after 200,000 pts I could get one. Who do I talk to about that?
     
    (FIH) The Don says thanks.
  18. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    I was telling Kant before he sold you the board, that if you really wanted a heatsink on it you can measure the diagonal distance between the holes to see what size you need, OR my option would be to use a RAM SINK from a GPU and some thermal adhesive :D
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,161 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    i can measure but where am i gonna get one as it needs to be SHORT as otherwise my 2nd 5850 could possible short on it.... and thats a no go lol but ill measure it and post back in a few minutes
     
  20. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    Most Ram heatsinks that are used on the mem ICs on GPUs are short, but you can always modify them if nec :D

    I can mail you a little piece of thermal tape too if you need it. Got some from Marvel a while ago :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,161 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    that would be a huge help man let me just measure it and make sure i got a heatsink now but its slightly to heavy to hold on with just noctua NTH1
     
  22. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I'm in need of some ram heatsinks for my ASUS EAH5770 and some thermal tape for said heatsinks. Anyone have them around?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,161 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    its an inch and a half from hole to hole

    also my 965be from exodus is here now just waiting on my ram to show up but i wont boot the board till i get this heatsink issue sorted out
     
  24. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,163 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,712
    Well one strip should be enough, here is a pic that shows you the length and width. Just PM me your address and I will get it mailed in a std envelope to you :)

    Size reference of the single strip:
    [​IMG]
     
    crazyeyesreaper says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Hello,

    you are added to the list for the PSU.

    As far as the badge, you need 700,000 points to get it. Once you reach that you can just go to your USER CP and look under "Misc." and input your WCG username there and it'll show automatically.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page