1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

DOS Win98SE PC Build

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by KieranD, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I am planning a DOS/Windows 98SE build. Okay so i could use compatibility patches or DOS Box/virtual machine but i am interested for the fun of doing a build and also the true experience. I've got a bunch of old games like Sonic CD PC, Command and Conquer, X Wing vs Tie Fighter, Quake II ect that i am interested in playing again (yes i can stomach ye old graphics if the gameplay is good).

    The choice of Windows 98SE is because it has MS-DOS 7, plug and play, compatibility with Windows 95 software, larger ram and storage compatibility than 95, overall to me is better. I heard some old DOS games do not like certain CPU speeds, literally they run too fast on more powerful cpu. There is the possibility i could get an i486 system later or use slowdown programs. I need at least a Pentium to run Sonic CD, i reckon some of the later 90s games would be too slow on an i486 anyway. Windows 98 requires a floating point unit to run so id need at least a Pentium MMX.

    Ive listed the hardware ive settled on.

    • K6-2 450mhz cpu - Acquired
    • DFI K6XV3+/66 Socket 7 Motherboard (ATX) - Acquired
    • Voodoo 3 3000 AGP Acquired
    • DVD drive with dvd decoder card. Acquired
    • 3 1/2" floppy disk drive - Acquired
    • 5 1/4" drive (possibly not needed) Acquired
    • Excelstor 80GB IDE 7200RPM Acquired
    • Sound Blaster AWE 64 Gold sound card - Acquired
    • PCI ethernet card - Acquired
    • ATX case Acquired
    • Power supply 350w 80 Plus Seasonic - Acquired
    • 512mb SD ram - Acquired
    • Socket 7 cooler - Acquired

    EDIT: I've cleaned up this post, i will amend it whenever i acquire an item for the project.
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  2. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    for voodoo 3d cards, if its a voodoo 1 or 2, then you will need a 2d card, voodoo 3 and higher you wont. 3dfx cards were king back in the day

    as for sound, DOS likes the MPU 401 drivers or w/e it is for sound cards, so make sure your sound card supports that for best results, and know the irq settings and such of the card. there should be SB Live! drivers for win98, if i remember correctly, Creative was still supporting 98SE when they launched that card.

    a DVD drive might be fun if the video card you use for 2d (if using 3dfx) supports hardware decoding. I think the ati rage pro turbo or w/e had hardware dvd support. make sure to use 80pin IDE cables and have the optical and hard drives on their own channels.

    A PIII isn't too fast ;) get a slot PIII at around 533mhz or so, in case you want to run some "higher end" games. if it is too fast you can down clock it haha.

    another option could be to go Super7 and grab an AMD K6-II around 450mhz or so. I've seen some Super7 boards with an ATI 8meg card soldered on the mobo! the thing even supported up to 768mb ram haha.

    do you already have that intel mobo? if you need help hunting down drivers let me know.

    what are the "newest" games you plan to run?
    KieranD says thanks.
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,954 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,336
    Sonic CD only had issue with running on XP and Higher but was patched, it runs fine on todays hardware.

    Id recommend atleast a P3 now with 1.5GB Ram

    KieranD says thanks.
  4. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,780 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    For sound ,I would look for the old Sound Blaster AWE 64 Gold ,Man i had one and I still wish I had not sold it.[​IMG] simply the best ISA sound card ever made.Also Try going with a ATI Rage II with sli Voodo2 (I have one still in a box)And I also have a Voodo3 pci .I wanted to build my old socket A up as a Win98SE/ME computer just so I could play Intersate76/82 on it.
    KieranD says thanks.
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Yeah there is a 3rd party patch for Sonic CD (PC).

    A Socket 370 Pentium III? I never really thought about Super Socket 7 either but it seems like a good option i guess. Games like Jazz Jackrabbit dont like anything faster than an intel486 which is annoying, i think there is a patch to make it run on faster systems.

    Some of the later games i would probably play would might be Soldier of Fortune, Deus Ex, Homeworld; so 2000 and very early 2001 games at a stretch. Anything Windows XP and up i dont want to touch (most likely would work fine on my current modern system anyway). I was really thinking at the latest 98/99' games and anything back to something like Another World (91') but im finding that id need a totally different DOS pc setup to run those earlier games, anything 80s needs an IBM Compatible PC (not fussed at all with 80s DOS gaming). I didn't really expect a one fits all solution but something that played a large chunk of 90s PC games.

    @H82LUZ73 So a ATi Rage II for 2D and 2xVoodoo 2 in the same system? I had an ATi Rage Pro in my first Pentium II system, decent system but then games started to get more powerful so i got a Socket A rig with a 1.2ghz Duron, i had a 9600pro in there and it ran Half Life 2 fine. At some point i also had a Voodoo 3 3500 card because i remember playing Medal of Honor on that.
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  6. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    A friend has a rig setup exactly for this. PII 400, 512 meg of ram, SB 16, Analog Joystick (MS Sidewinder I think), 3DFX VooDoo 2 and a nVidia TNT. Gigabyte MB. It basically sits and collects dust or is used as a TV stand.

    Cool to build, utterly useless, for him at least.
  7. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,780 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Yeah i ran a rageII with slied Voodo 2`s,was awesome ,Shoot i ran that until the V3 in 99 then a year later a V5 550..miss that system(the V5 was on a 440bx slot1 )PII 450 then a PIII 750.
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,356 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    I had an old dell system ... it had an s370 celeron 433, 128mb ram, 2 voodoo IIs in sli, an onboard intel 810 which did 2d just fine, and a 40gb ide drive. played half life pretty well, ran Unreal Tournament 2000 in glide mode at around 300fps lol. I've got a pIII system now that i want to put the cards in but i can't find my passthrough and sli cables for it :( I even have an old dvd/mpeg decoder card and tv tuner! I have a 3rd voodooII from canopus that has a tv out that i want to use to build an arcade style rig. got an old Matrox MGI G2+ for 2d
  9. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,680 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    TBH, unless you plan to run Glide games I wouldn't bother with a Voodoo card. They never 100% supported DirectX. Go with an ATi Rage 128 or an nVIDIA RIVA TNT2.
    KieranD says thanks.
  10. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,107 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,123
    I have a old 7500 downstairs in a box.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  11. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Totally forgot i had a GeForce4 MX440 back in the day, that card would not work in games like Splinter Cell. I remember going from that to a 9600pro. Anyway enough reminiscing lmao.

    The ATi Rage and Nvidia RIVA series of cards lack hardware transform and lighting, not a lot of games used it at the time but im thinking it might be worth getting a very early Radeon or Geforce card for that feature? Those should wallop a Voodoo card in terms of performance. I know games like Carmageddon II, Unreal and the early NFS titles use Glide but is there any point?
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold just appeared on ebay, think its worth a bid? It's £19.99 with zero bids but 9 days to go. Bah, even though i heard soundblaster 16 emulation is garbage im still not sure if i should get a PCI soundcard. Is it even possible to run both a Soundblaster Audigy in Windows and an ISA soundblaster for DOS mode?
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  13. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Dug out of the loft a creative soundblaster AWE64 (model CT4520) ISA Slot

    if the one on ebay falls thru and you still want one pm me
    or if you really want something retro/different
    how about a
    Packard Bell sound 144amsp
    its 16bit ISA Full length card with cd rom interface 3d sound by srs also has a fax modem Telephone answering machine built in + cd rom interface ((matsushita cd rom cr 563)
    comes with 2 manuals/user guides and full software on (5) 1.44 floppys
    KieranD says thanks.
  14. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    What sort of stuff do you have for the Soundblaster? the one on ebay has the box, all the accessories, manual, cd ect. Is that the Soundblaster AWE64 Gold? I think if the ebay deal falls through i'll get in touch as they dont seem to pop up much.

    Im looking up graphics cards now.
  15. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    its just the bare card no disk manual or packaging it came out of a system i upgraded for someone years ago

    graphics card wize i got a 3DFX 3500 AGP 2 card up in the loft (16m/b mem TV Tuner built in)
    got ALL the bits and pieces( including packaging and original bill of sale)
    KieranD says thanks.
  16. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,680 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    That PB sound card and the boxed Voodoo sound awesome. Can we get pics?
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
    KieranD says thanks.
  17. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  18. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    will see if i can upload and post pic's to either B/S/T thread or most probably to the TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club thread

    have you considered useing the slot 1 to socket 370 lga flip chip upgrade card
    the older members here will most probably remember these items (got one stashed away )
    this enabled slot 1 motherboards to be upgraded to socket 370 P3 Processors

    re the 3DFX card its just sitting in its retail box i also found that in the box i had stashed a
    Creative PC DVD encore card (model CT7260) included in the kit is ir remote control kit and software this was for hardware accelerated playback of DVD
    back in the days when CPU's were not man enough for smooth DVD playback

    see post below by brandonwh64

    got these processors
    amd K6 266
    amd K6 300
    amd K6 350
    amd K6 400
    amd duron 750
    amd duron 1100

    if you go intel
    P2 233 (2) (slot1)
    P2 266 (2) (slot1)
    Celeron 300/66 (slot1)
    Celeron 400/66 (slot1)
    Intel Slot1 to socket 370 flipchip adapter ( run a P3 in a slot 1 m/b)
    Intel 370 Celeron 366
    Intel 370 Celeron 900
    Intel 370 P3 800eb
    Intel 370 P3 866

    spoiling you for choice depending what m/b you eventualy get
    and of course there is the question of Ram
    Boards from this era were SD Ram got some of that stashed away (even got some edo ram)
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
    KieranD says thanks.
  19. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,420 (10.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    If you can find one. A AMD K6-3D 450Mhz Socket 7 would be nice :)
    KieranD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Super socket 7 motherboards varied massively in quality. Theres nothing on ebay, I would take a K6-II or III something like that but would need help tracking one down. There's Pentium IIIs for slot 1, no need really for a slocket. I dont fancy a PIII anyway.

    Another thing that's bugging me is finding a case and psu combo. I dont want to spend a lot on either but the only deal i saw that was price good was a Coolermaster Elite 330 Case With Coolermaster eXtreme Power 500W PSU. That case looks terrible, i just want something with a plain front and side panel.
    Coolermaster Elite 330 Case With Coolermaster eXtr...

    The cheapest non junk 300-500w psu would be about £30 on top of that i could have a £30 budget for a case i guess.
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2012
  21. dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    268 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh?
    Psu for this build would probably need to be AT and not ATX if i remember right AT had power switch on PSU at rear and 2 power connectors for m/b usualy marked p8 &p9 connecting side by side
    some early ATX PSU also had the right additional power connectors for AT motherboards
    and AT PSU's they were usually only rated to 250w

    AT motherboard power connectors are not the same as ATX
    KieranD says thanks.
  22. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Slot 1 and most super socket 7 boards are atx standard, meaning i can use any atx PSU and case, with a benefit of PS/2 connections for my keyboard. Thats more or less the reason i want to go with those over the original Pentium. Modern power supplies are more efficient and reliable.

    Baby AT would be a pain in the arse to work with unless i found a complete system.
  23. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I got a copy of Windows 98 Second Edition; genuine install/recovery CD, Manual, floppy, a booklet. Got bids on a case with psu, Sound Blaster AWE64 Gold, Voodoo 5 5500.
  24. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,776 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,306
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I have a win98 build I have been playing with from time to time.

    I am using a
    Asus k7vpro mobo
    Athlon non xp 1ghz proc.
    256 mb pc133
    Tosing between Ati Rage fury pro, 9000 pro, and a Geforce Fx 5700
    Creative Sb Live


    I also have a Slot A board with a 750 mhz Athlon proc, a Slot 1 with a 600 mhz proc and various socket A procs to use with the K7v pro board. Also have enough pc133 memory to choke a small horse.

    Win 98 was a fun os to play with. Alot more in depth with setting up and getting it to run then what we have today.
    KieranD says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Lost out on an ATX Case and PSU by 20p so im looking at alternatives. Started to look at Baby AT cases and motherboards.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....akeTrack=true&ssPageName=VIP:watchlink:top:en

    DFI K6XV3+/66 (Super Socket 7 Baby AT Form Factor), 512mb ram, AMD K2-450
    Might see if the seller will cut a bit off the price. Then i saw these cases with psu (which i think are Baby AT). The DFI case interested my as it has 2x 3.1/2" bays but will need to try get the other case as it has 8 expansion slots. Im digging the size and retro look of them.

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Empty-DFI...pt=UK_VintageComputing_RL&hash=item4ab6eab792
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Empty-Com...pt=UK_VintageComputing_RL&hash=item4ab6edc6e9

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page