1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*** F@H Tech Assistance Thread ***

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by BUCK NASTY, Jul 10, 2009.

  1. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    :laugh::laugh::laugh:

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • PPD2.jpg
      PPD2.jpg
      File size:
      78.3 KB
      Views:
      204
  2. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    I'm going to push mindweaver down today :toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Bogi, you're speaking my language. What's worse is you're within road trip distance for me.
  4. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    You're quite a ways last time I checked, 15 hours to be exact:p
  5. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I like driving (alot), and I've driven for 18 hours straight before. You're within reach. >=)
  6. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Not before I can tip the border patrol folks about you crossing:D:laugh:
  7. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    "Hello border patrol? Yea, some Canadian guy saw some screen-shots I posted online showing the numbers my computer can achieve in an online distributed computing project and said he was turned on. I was wonderin.... Hello? Border patrol?"
  8. msgclb

    msgclb

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,270
    Location:
    Oklahoma City
    I can just see it now..:rolleyes:

    [​IMG]
  9. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    :laugh:
  10. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Any advice on my PSU question from a few posts back?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Heh, sorry. My tomfoolery got the best of me.

    The PSU may work, as they over estimate the requirements of the video cards. However, I believe the GTX 260 itself consumes 182ish watts (though the website claims 270). So if I'm not mistaken, which I probably am, you'd have very little margin on the power supply. Other than that, I'm not sure if the amperage supplied on the 12v rails is enough, doesn't the 260 require 38amps?
  13. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    ^ I do believe you are right, I guess I should look for a new PSU as well. I will probably move the Rosewill 600 with the 260 to the other computer.

    For future proofing (GT300 and possibly SLI) how many amps on the 12v rail should I be looking for? My estimate is 65-70A, close?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,925 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,445
    4 billion
  15. mike047 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    483 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Zirconia NC usa
    That is enough for 3 260s. A Corsair TX750 is what I used.
    theonedub says thanks.
  16. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Agreed, I used a PC Power & Cooling for my 750w. The only thing, is if you do Tri SLI, you'll be hard pressed to find enough PCI-E connectors for 3 dual slot cards. 850w power supplies usually rectify this, and is mainly the reason I had decided to use them.
    theonedub says thanks.
  17. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Thanks guys. You think a Antec True Power 750 would work out well? I read some reviews that spoke highly of it. I think its between that (can get if for ~$90 off local seller BNIB) or buying a brand new Corsair 850 online later on. Pretty sure I will hold off on a new GPU until GT300 comes out, then I will decide to buy them or the cheaper GT200s. :D

    Wish I would've had the cash to buy that Corsair 750 when you were selling it Mike!
    mike047 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    That is a good power supply. It has 62A total on the +12V rails, and it's sli certified to run 2 GTX 275s. It's also 80 plus bronze.
  19. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Excellent, now time to price haggle- no reason not to try and save :eek:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    I just got THIS a week ago. Check out the reviews, it has 4 12V rails with 25A each. You can't beat it for $95 with free shipping.
    hertz9753 and BUCK NASTY say thanks.
  21. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,445 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,518
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    +1 for Bogmali turning me on to that PSU. It's a no brainer. Corsair 750WHO?
    bogmali says thanks.
  22. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    I got one about three weeks ago. I feel like I got ripped off because I paid $100 with free shipping.:laugh:
  23. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Thats the same PSU I was talking about :laugh: Well if the haggling doesn't go through I will buy it on Newegg.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Do you think that Gavin guy posting in the reviews section on newegg for this PSU is the same Gavin from HWC?
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2009
  25. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Not sure, he could be;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page