1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fit's Mini Phase build log

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Fitseries3, Jul 8, 2008.

  1. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    subscribed, and waiting more details!
     
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Mine says it gets down to -62 on full load(I think that it is lying and it is around -40-50c). With that I over heat on a quad at 1.7v and over.

    The colder the better.


    I would think about making a cascade if you think you could make it happen.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    honestly... now that i've dove into it.... i dont see how it's possible for anyone to profit off of making phases/cascades to sell. the parts are SOOOO expensive if bought new that the final cost would be well into the $1000+ range for one that cooled exceptionally well.
     
  4. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    first off who called you a dummy?

    secondly why do you get so defensive/offensive toward's my post's? i was merely linking you to that so that it could help to inform you on your build as building a phase is different than cooling a house because you are dealing with a specific heat load.

    if i had your attitude i would/should be designing car's for all the auto manufacturer's because i have my A license and almost 15yrs experience :rolleyes:

    i got's no beef with you bud, i'd love to see this build a total success.

    we need more of these type's of thing's here on TPU!
     
    DaMulta and Fitseries3 say thanks.
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i wasnt trying to be mean. i guess you and i just have a clash of personalities. we seem to have this misunderstanding in every thread lately. sorry if i sound offended. i feel as though that several other people are doubting if i can do this build or not.

    i am currently trying to get a hold of a condenser for this build but the only place that im aware of at the moment that sells small condensers is undertheice and they charge 2x-3x what parts really cost so i definatly don't want to break the bank buying overpriced stuff from them.

    and for the Good TEC Setup.... it would cost more then im shooting for budget wise on this project. the key is affordable to more average people, not just people that have tons of money or don't have the patients to build something themselves. i realize that not many people have the knowledge or experience to do this sorta build, but there are a few people that could learn form this and look into trying something new. i feel that i need to experiment with everything i can get my hands on and learn everything i can. i have had nvidia and ati cards, intel, nvidia, ati, amd, via, sis chipset boards, intel and amd processors, all types and brands of air, water, and TEC coolers, you name it i have played with it. i am like any other addict... i simply can never be happy with what i have and i am always seeking something new. this is far from my last frontier. i am hoping to have this phase project done in time for my bloomefield rig later this year.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
    DaMulta says thanks.
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    i would try PM'ing some of the builder's @ Xs and see if they could be of any assistance.

    asking for help is never a bad thing ;)

    i don't doubt you're abilities or anyone else's for that matter

    :toast:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i prefer this design i made it in CAD myself and i'm going to machine them during the school year :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. TheGoat Eater

    TheGoat Eater

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    752 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    West Des Moines,IA (USA)
    I didn't think you were that crazy - until I saw that :twitch::slap:
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  9. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    honestly i dont think r134 is going to hold load at the temps you want. mabye it will, but personally i doubt it. i would go with r505.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  10. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    eh... i've got a few different refrigerants to try.
     
  11. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    thats what i wanted to hear!

    im sure this build will go great :)

    my last pm linked a small enough condenser for building a phase
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    the reason i want to try r134a is... again... to keep the cost down by using common materials that can be found at your local stores.

    (zen.. that condenser is great. thanks)
     
  13. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    well, its worth a shot at the very least :)
     
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    teyber via PM on XS...

    looks like i'll be getting one from him since cost is a major issue on this build. the rest i will build myself. i already have a condenser coming and i have the lines, accumulator, and a fresh R507 tank ready to use. looks like it's gonna start coming together here in the next week or so.
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,967 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    That is awesome Fit's. I'm going to keep an eye on this thread!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,408 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    AZ
    r134a is a more lets say resilient coolant, with r404a and r505 getting better temps on idle, the r134 will hold upp better under a higher watt load. I converted my vapochill classic into an xtreme by going to r404a but ended up going back to a classic when I found out I couldn't clock as far. so at 3.8GHZ on r404a I was at -15c load which is nice, but on r134z I can hit 4GHZ at -5c. which the r404a wouldn't do. (granted that the condenser/pump will definetly make a difference and the vapochill classic has a weak one so fits results will defiently be different)

    so coolant is more of a balancing act some go for super cool idle temps others want the load temp performance.

    edit:
    just saw you're going for 507, should work out, you're system is newer and will likely do better on the newer coolants. Still keep an eye on the load temps. I'd be interested to see what a condenser/pump overhaul would do for my classic.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  17. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    next thing you need is a load tester. are you going to build one or just use the cpu?
     
  18. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    i gotta see how this turns out.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    CPU.
     
  20. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    werd. that is the better way to do it anyways.:rockout:

    im assuming a piece of plywood will be the case? thats how i would do it :p
     
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    nope. i work at a machine shop. it'll be all metal.
     
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,227 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,575
    Location:
    Florida
    dont you have alike a 6ft tank of LN2?
     
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    How well would R12 work?
     
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    yes i still have the LN2 but i dont feel like messing with it right now.

    R12.... if you've got some would work great. i dont know how it compares to the others though. i haven't had any to try yet. i have r22 though.
     
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,708 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    You should still be able to get R12 since basically R134a is what replaced it in automobiles, and there's plenty of cars that still use it. It is quite expensive though. R134a is supposedly "safer" for the environment, however R12 works a lot better. I don't know is it would make much of a difference in a phase unit though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page