1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google Android users clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by crazy pyro, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,064 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    What do you guys think of Android L?
     
  2. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,118 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,353
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    that it will not be out before long? and i hate the new buttons onscreen? :roll:

    need more time and more info but looks promising.
     
  3. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,080 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    in indonesia oppo just entering the market this year, so far they offer nice phones but i dunno the market is pretty crowded with many brands and local brands. just waiting for further. i may wait for xiaomi, since gossip said it will enter the market soon
     
  4. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,858 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,189 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,284
    Location:
    London, UK
    Oppo are already in India (or parts of it) & i think singapore but mainly Taiwan, China & Hong Kong (for obvious reasons) The oppo Find 7a is great. Gummy rom had a few bugs with their nightlies but ive just updated & it seems to be running OK for the time being.

    Kinda old news now. Though this is what you get when you purchase cheap tat from China. though it kinda makes you wonder if the bigger manufacturers have spyware installed on their handsets too but are obviously better at hiding it because of their own customised stock rom etc etc.

    These days its hard to know which apps are spying on you. Obviously google is spying to a certain extent but quite a lot of apps these days ask for access permissions to read your sms, emails and all sorts of stuff even if the app itself is nothing more then some mundane app like a torch utility app
     
  6. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,080 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,758
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i just realize i have many, many icon packs :D:D

    Screenshot_2014-06-29-23-11-00.png Screenshot_2014-06-29-23-11-12.png Screenshot_2014-06-29-23-11-26.png Screenshot_2014-06-29-23-11-51.png Screenshot_2014-06-29-23-12-07.png
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,189 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,284
    Location:
    London, UK
    2D 14Hrs on a single charge... Currently sitting at 12% battery life. I could probably chat for 15 or 30mins before the battery decides to die. I could probably get better battery life if i installed greenify or something but my S3 always struggled to even get past 2days let alone 2D14Hrs
     
  8. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,858 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    I finally rooted the damn gnex and I'm on cyanoganmod since it had an uber easy method.

    what's a good ad blocker for it??? I NEED IT!!! :p
     
  9. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    509 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    436
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Try Adaway, i use it on my S3 and IMO is pretty good
     
  10. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,858 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    Now I'm having intermittent "No APN Specified" errors on the ROM when I can see that 3G data works fine.... aca-wat??!!
     
  11. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,858 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    CM11 seems to be working pretty good for the most part. trying to fix one wonly wakelock issue but I like it so far.

    Finally got a good theme goin on :)

    2014-07-07 07.36.53.png 2014-07-07 07.36.33.png 2014-07-07 07.44.31.png
     
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,189 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,284
    Location:
    London, UK
    who was it in this thread who was always against me installing CM onto my S3 or Find 7a? :p
     
  13. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,118 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,353
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    sooo ... 4" Razr i was good for me .... i had a Toshiba Folio 100 as a tab but the screen crack was getting worse ... a Phablet was too small (5.5-6")
    my favorite retailer made me a offer i could not refuse: a ASUS FonePad 7 K00Z(ME175CG) 8gb Atom Z2520 PowerVR SGX544MP2 7" 1280x800 for 159chf instead of 199chf and a Corsair H60 rev 2 as a gift.
    came under 4.3 did 4 update in a row once hooked to my wifi and ended on 4.4.2 surprisingly enough the ASUS interface and apps are not too much disturbing so i just rooted it and keep it stock,
    i got it in graphite color option and the casing and shape is pretty comfortable even on one hand use (i have big hands)
    P_20140710_181136_HDR.jpg Screenshot_2014-07-11-23-34-08.jpg Screenshot_2014-07-10-20-51-32.jpg Screenshot_2014-07-10-20-51-38.jpg Screenshot_2014-07-10-20-59-55.jpg Screenshot_2014-07-10-21-00-49.jpg Screenshot_2014-07-10-21-01-13.jpg

    it score just 2k above the Razr i despite being a dual core with HT and a 544MP2 instead of a 540 single, but as it clock to 1.2 instead of 2.0 and 300 instead of 533 for the GPU (and has a 7" HD screen) it's kinda logical :D still pretty happy about it.
    Screenshot_2014-07-10-20-52-14.jpg
    well i think i can resell the Razr i for a good price and try to sell the Folio 100 as a defective unit (under CM10.1 just cracked screen is defective :) ) and get back the price of the FP7 :D
     
    Doc41 says thanks.
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,189 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,284
    Location:
    London, UK
    After much headache I finally got my S3 rooted and flashed with Echoe rom. Just waiting for it to fully load past the kitkat loading screen........ Not sure if crashed but i hope to god not.


    To flash the phone to a custom recovery like TWRP I had to download 'GALAXY S3 UNIFIED TOOLKIT' which walked me through the steps. Happy days!
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,189 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,284
    Location:
    London, UK
    Well Muss3Ls I didnt really like Echoe rom that you recomended, It felt like there was just too much going on with it. Ive currently installed C-Rom on it which is a nice clean AOSP (I hate touchwiz) and will be testing it for a short while before handing the S3 over to my mum as she needs a a new phone.
     
  16. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,118 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,353
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well ... that or Fastboot or Odin ... GS3UT is a easy mode way indeed and quite practical.

    fun time : i factory reset my Razr i to notice since i rooted it and debloated it : no more launcher at restart, pure black screen (amoled ftw) just the notification bar was shown :D
    activating usb debug via setting accessible via the notification bar : adb install nova.apk no problems anymore :roll:
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,189 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,284
    Location:
    London, UK
    I cant believe how much trouble i went through just to get the damn thing rooted.

    C-Rom is nice. Its almost like GUMMY in a sense. I really dig these AOSP roms. Straightforward and functional without all of the other bullshit attached! I think mum will be happy with the S3 since Ive managed to get the basic ram usage down to about 400-500mb with C-Rom.

    Dad bought her a Galaxy Y Duos a few months back as she doesnt require a uber expensive handset but that is a terrible handset, internal storage doesnt have enough room for even the most basic of google apps. also since its running android 2.2 or something, you cant transfer the apps to the memory card so she was pretty much boned in that respect. Dad was gonna get her one of these new Moto G's as he has one himself and he likes it but since ive got the S3 lying around, she can use it rather then buying a new phone.

    Though I would of liked to sell my S3 instead though :p
     
  18. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    4,118 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,353
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    hehehe i know that... (feeling i mean xD )

    i just sold my Razr today for a bit less than the price i paid for my FP7HD buuuutttt quite a bit more than what i paid for it when i bought it 2nd hand ahah :roll: :clap:
     
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,189 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,284
    Location:
    London, UK
    Quick question - do your proximity sensors still work after flashing to a different ROM? One thing ive noticed on Gummy and also C-Rom on my S3 is the proximity sensor doesnt turn the screen off when i hold the phone to my ear to answer a call
     
  20. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,858 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    Best battery life I've ever gotten on my gnex:

    Looks like CM11 has helped a lot. The GNEX has pitiful battery life tho... I would love it if someone would get me a new phone... :( ugh it sucks having house problems at the worst time
    2014-07-16 21.16.35.png 2014-07-16 13.31.19.png 2014-07-16 21.16.25.png
     
    Doc41 says thanks.
  21. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    509 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    436
    Location:
    Bahrain
    all ROMs i tried were based on CM but yes it does work, you either have a setting for it or something went wrong
     
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,189 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,284
    Location:
    London, UK

    whats the setting. Give me a hint, Maybe im just not looking in the right place for it.
     
  23. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    509 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    436
    Location:
    Bahrain
    I can't find one in mine but it's most likely under Display or Call settings, if you still can't enable it use a program that can read sensor data and see if it's working in the first place (CPU-Z for example)
     
  24. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    15,189 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,284
    Location:
    London, UK
    Its cool dawg. Someone suggested getting a can of compressed air and blasting the earpiece on the phone to get some dust off the sensor. This SEEMS to have done the trick, though it still seems hit or miss. If the screen does turn off when you hold it up to your ear then it wont come back on less you press a button or double tap the screen...

    I think it works anyway because if it didnt then the flip case i got with it wouldnt work lol
     
  25. Guitarrassdeamor

    Guitarrassdeamor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    410
    Location:
    NC
    You have a Verizon S4? I need to upgrade my S3 but am not getting rid of unlimited data. Last night my phone finally soft bricked itself I think. Was running CM11 and it rebooted like it has been the past month or so but this time couldn't get to anything except recovery...even wiping didn't fix. Had to go back to stock and redo everything and am now running Slimkat...works fine so far but I think it is time to upgrade.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2014

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)