1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Google Android users clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by crazy pyro, Nov 15, 2009.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    When you update it also overwrites the APK. So reinstalling apps via Play store would be the same as this. Also saves time and precious data (if on a capped plan). Also I have ~ 400MB of apps installed on the 2GB internal of my Rez. Noticed it takes half the time to go through them all and install from SD card. Will start using the Windows app though as coming acrossed USB is 3x faster.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  2. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    ok that makes sense. that app does look easy to use too so...
     
  3. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,970 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Looks like that does it. No more wifi problems and I get my apps back after doing a reset. Now though it begs the question: why did a problem appear in the first place???
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    "Restoration" of data from a different/older rom. It can potentially cause any kind of issue. If you're on the same base of firmware. Restoring data for the apps will be fine.
     
  5. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,332 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    870
    5 Million points folded for TPU
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
  7. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,324 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    HTC One X yay or nay???
     
  8. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,508 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    nay locked bootloader
     
  9. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,970 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    The wifi problem has resurfaced. Ugh.
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    :banghead: @ entropy

    Not sure what else you can do. Maybe flash a proven stable ginger rom.... :ohwell:

    Sensation XE instead, either that or One S. Not worth going the extra for the X.
     
  11. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,970 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    Looks like it's just one app that causes the problem. Uninstalled it first, and THEN backed up those remaining, did a factory reset, restored the backed up apps and then the problem's gone.
     
  12. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    what app was it???
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  13. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,970 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    LiveScores. :laugh:
     
  14. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Just got a Samsung galaxy nexus with android 4, it is amazing. It has a 4.7 inch 1280x720 OLED screen that I cannot say enough good things about. OLED is the future for monitors and TVs. Period. Phone also has 16gb storage, from what I can tell, a fast processor (much smoother motions than my old iPhone 4) and Im with telstra (best/most expensive carrier here in oz), and its only $60 per month! As a comparison the iPhone 4 is $80 per month with the same carrier, and there is just no comparison between that and this. Makes the iPhone 4 look like an ancient brick with a puny screen. :roll:

    One annoyance though, I had to download an app to be able to set my ringtone as one of my songs, apparently you can only choose the default ringtones. App is called Tone Picker for anyone else with this issue.
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,550 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    and what does it do?
     
  16. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    you can get another media app like winamp and then set from there can't yah?>???
     
  17. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    LMNASO that's pathetic how an android app like that can bring down your network like that...
     
  18. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    probably
     
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,324 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    I have the Tegra 3 one available, still no??
     
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Correctng myself:

    That would be the One X, One S is dual core version and One V is single core version.
     
  21. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,057 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    696
    I do that anyways cuz when I listen to a song and I'm like "I want that as my ringtone" and I apply it from there... I change it every week LOL. I can't decide what song I want to keep as my ringtone. I got 11.8GB music on my phone so I got a lot of my anthems on there...
     
  22. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,943 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,508
    i hate using songs as ringtones. for a few reasons but mostly:

    a) work
    b) it makes me hate the songs. When i hear that little 10s clip 50 times a day, I start to skip the song when it plays and get sick of hearing it. I don't want to do that to my favorite songs so I just use the tones. I like the sonar type ones ;)
     
  23. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,970 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,219
    My phone's always on silent. Vibrate mode is turned off when at home (since it's just in front of me, like right now), and turned on when I'm not at home (since it would be in my pocket).
     
  24. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    That would be the case if i received lots of calls but no one likes talking to me. :D :cry: :roll:

    Plus I choose a song with a really good intro that I will always love... but I'm just a bit more passionate about music than most people so I dunno.

    heres my current ringtone: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKyl2Xs3GxM

    Can one ever get sick of that intro? :roll:
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  25. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,550 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,824
    there is nothing worse than a person with a song as a ringtone for receiving a text message.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page