1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

*GTX 260/280 Unofficial TPU! Thread*

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Kursah, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. chris189

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    105 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    No problem. Yeah the 570 is o-k in single card config, in SLI it rocks.

    But then again even a 550 Ti @ 1000mhz in SLI can play BF3 all ultra no Anti aliasing 1920x1080 at 50-60fps.

    2 460's at 800mhz and 950mv each can do 60fps all ultra 4x Anti aliasing. The 460's cost $75 shipped on ebay. I just picked up two for $150 shipped. Can play Metro Last Light All maxed 1920x1080 and Anti aliasing at 50-60fps, since I like vsync its usually just 60fps in all games.

    Hhaha I'd say either pick up another 570 or just get 2 460s and SLI them because 2 460s out perform 1 570.

    When I overclocked the 460's to 900mhz at 1.1v, I get about 90% of stock 470's in SLI.
    460 single @ 900mhz/ i7 4.2ghz
    [​IMG]
    460s @ 900mhz/ i7 uv @ 2.93ghz ($150 in gpu's today roughly shipped)
    [​IMG]
    470s @ 607mhz/ i7 uv @ 2.93ghz ($300 in gpu's today roughly shipped)
    [​IMG]
    470s @ 800mhz/ i7 @ 4.2ghz
    [​IMG]
    GOOD LUCK BRO! :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2013
  2. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    Hey guys, I know this is a really, REALLY out of date gpu but I have a Palit GTX 260 sonic 216sp 1792mb card lying around and I was going to put it into an old rig for a 32-bit XP gaming pc to run old games.
    http://www.palit.biz/palit/vgapro.php?id=1070

    Anyway, I've been getting weird blotchy artifacts whenever I have a game running (when the card is in 3D mode). Is this just an indication that the vram is on it's way out or something more drastic?
     
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK

    Underclock the memory slightly and see if that fixes it, RAM is generally when the textures start playing up massively.
     
  4. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    I just tried that out. Unfortunately no luck :( I also tried giving a bit more voltage but again no luck. It isn't overheating either.
     
  5. SKBARON

    SKBARON

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    183 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    Chisinau, Moldova
    Did you undervolt and underclock the core and memory? It could be that the card is tired of "living" :). If the underclocking/volting doesn't work out, maybe you could take it to a repair shop and have it reballed.
     
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,311 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    my 280 did this before it died. Try and get it reballed.
     
  7. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    465
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    I took it to a repair shop and they want $60 to do the repair. I think I'll just use my ancient 8600GT and be happy that still works. Thanks guys.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page