1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

How To: Enable SLI on pre-i7/i5 hardware

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by bluevelvetjacket, May 22, 2008.

  1. l33tlinuxh4x0r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Is it possible to tell us how to make this patch ourselves so that we can patch any OS version and perhaps make fixes for the whole AVAST issue???
     
  2. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    if you have sli disabled you have problems under patch?
     
  3. l33tlinuxh4x0r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    yes it crashes no matter what settings I have when I have avast and the patch installed.

    However if I boot regular windows with the patch installed it works.

    P.S. I'm running windows 7 sp1 x64
     
  4. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    what kind of crash? give me a link to avast you have installed.
     
  5. l33tlinuxh4x0r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  6. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
  7. l33tlinuxh4x0r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Without AVAST installed I have no problems that are caused by the patch as far as I know. However sometimes when I play lord of the rings online (LOTRO) my computer will lock up but no BSOD. I'm not sure if this is the patches fault though.
     
  8. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    emulator in several cases doesnt work properly
     
  9. l33tlinuxh4x0r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Does anyone know of a way to add SLI certification to a bios (award bios) and then edit only one or two files?
     
  10. juanchacin

    juanchacin

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    58 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Hi anatolymik, sorry to bother you again, I know you must be busy but I have living with this error for quite long now, so it’s time to make it stop, and you are the man for the job.

    This is the description;
    when I update my Windows (Windows 7 Home Premium x86) and the system ask me to reboot I always have to disconnect the internet otherwise I get BSOD, in fact I always have to disconnect the internet when I’m going to turn OFF my PC to avoid this incident.
    This is the only issue that I’m getting with the SLI Patch since it was created, I have also try it all the versions since the v0.9beta with always the same result.
    Sometimes the only fact of retire the Ethernet cable when the system is ON cause the BSOD, and that makes me feel the SLI Patch very unstable in my system

    If you solve this, I can say the patch is perfect in my case
    Here is the dump file and a screenshot of the BSOD

    http://www.mediafire.com/?5jz5o90916t3y2c

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Nick [D]vB

    Nick [D]vB New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    189 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    For a network problem it is strange the BSOD is with atapi.sys? One idea you can try, open the network adapters properties in device manager, look under power management, try ticking / unticking the box "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power" Maybe that can help?
     
    juanchacin says thanks.
  12. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    if you boot under normal windows option you dont have any problems?
     
  13. l33tlinuxh4x0r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I was wondering how to do the halmod as I have already patched my bios to report SLI certs.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  14. juanchacin

    juanchacin

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    58 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    That’s right mate, under normal windows boot I don’t have any problems, in fact that’s what I do, after a BSOD I simply boot in normal mode, delete manually the SLI boot option, uninstall the Geforce driver, reboot and then execute the SLI Patch again, once I get in the windows on SLI mode I reinstall the Forcewares and everything is back to normal, I can enjoy SLI again.

    But as you can imagine this process became very annoying

    That’s why I finally decide to steal some of your time.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011
  15. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    you dont steal my time, you help me make patch better. it's ok. another question. after fail if you boot under patch again, what we'll you see?
     
  16. juanchacin

    juanchacin

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    58 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    If I try to boot under patch again I get infinites BSOD, so I have to do all the process that I describe you above.

    I don’t have any clue of what could be happening, I can give you any information that you require, just ask me I will be following you.
     
  17. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    infinite BSODs at boot time?
     
  18. juanchacin

    juanchacin

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    58 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    I mean, after a BSOD I’m obligated to do all the process of reinstall the patch and the Forceware, otherwise I’m not be able to use SLI cause I keep getting BSODs.
     
  19. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    i'm preparing testing patches. we can try a little later.
     
    DeadlyDNA and juanchacin say thanks.
  20. l33tlinuxh4x0r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I got the patch working without the BSODs

    What I did:

    Hacked bios to have sli cert (not sure if this is necessary)
    Installed windows and latest nvidia drivers
    Installed SLIpatch
    Disabled driver signing
    Copied C:\Windows\System32\halsli.dll to hal.dll
    Copied C:\Windows\System32\ntoskrnp.exe to ntoskrnl.exe
    Boot regular windows 7 without patch

    SLI is enabled and no BSOD!!!

    EDIT: I also have avast installed and I have no problems. :)

    If you backed up your files which I recommend that you do backup the patched files and restore your original files then uninstall the patch. When done replace the original files with the patched ones again and you should be good to go without having the patch installed.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011
  21. DeadlyDNA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello, thank you for your hard work on this patch!!!:toast:

    I am currently experimenting with my SLI and an AMD 1090t 890fx setup.

    I having an issue with the latest patch. Matter of fact the only patch i had working up until tonight was .9 b with 260.99 drivers. Even then it was very wierd at times.

    Well after hours on end banging my head against the wall:banghead: i figured something out..

    What doesnt work: any SLI patch and my 3 way 470gtx setup on a 890fx board.:mad:

    What does work: Only enable SLI on 2 of the 3 cards.:confused:

    I have a feeling the patch is possibly using an old or specific string that only allows 2 way sli?

    Let me know what you need from me to help on, if this patch only supports 2 way SLI forgive me ignorance.

    cpu AMD 1090t
    mobo gigabyte 890fx-ud7
    3 way 470gtx
    sli hack build 33.23
    nvidia drivers 266.58
     
  22. l33tlinuxh4x0r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    With the method that I posted you can also remove the testing watermark if you want to. just google remove testing watermark and download the patch. Enjoy!
     
  23. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    [​IMG]
     
  24. anatolymik

    anatolymik

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,432 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    did you have 3-way sli on 0.9b with 260.99 drivers? do you use sli bridge?
     
  25. l33tlinuxh4x0r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    All credit of course goes to anatolymik for making the patch. I just bypassed the loader and the BSODs... maybe we could use a different loader to bypass the Test Mode and the BSODs maybe grub4dos???

    Also is test mode is required for the method that I posted!
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page