1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

I want to Build my Own Pc but I Need A LOT of Help

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Blaiyan, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Alright I don't know why i'm nervous asking. I know that someone who knows nothing about pc's shouldn't be building their own pc but I don't trust that i'll get something great that'll last me for years to come. I don't plan to upgrade much of anything after this build. I have so many questions and need a lot of suggestions and info. Hopefully you guys can help. I sort of want to future proof my pc though I know it's not possible. It'll probably take me 3-4 months to get all the funds together but i'm looking to spend between $1,200 - $1,500 MAX. Hopefully less. Now I know it sounds funny but I watched how to build your own pc on youtube and the basic put together seem easy enough. Read manual and follow instructions on where to plug what where.

    After that though do I just simply turn it on and install a OS? I would stick with something familiar like XP but that's probably not possible so... I could just get windows seven or something right? What's the difference (obviously twice as many) between 64bit and 32 bit OS? Will my xp32 bit software be able to work on 64 bit? Should I just stick with 32 bit?

    Here are some parts i'm looking at. I need to know if everything will fit easy or are they compatible?

    Case
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0026FCI2U/?tag=tec06d-20

    Do fans come with it or do I have to buy my own?

    Motherboard
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0034CSTFY/?tag=tec06d-20

    Does this board support pci-e 2.0? How much ram does this support? (5,6,8GB?) does it have a HD audio sound card? Do I have to buy my own sound card? Will that mobo fit in that case? what exactly is a gigabit board and how is it better? Does it support DDR5? It says it supports processors up to 6 cores....


    Processor
    I need help finding at least a quad core processor that's compatible with the board. Where do I get the glue for cooling or whatever that you're supposed to put on the chip? Does it come with it or the fan the comes with the processor will be all I need?

    Graphics Card(s)
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003EEMFTI/?tag=tec06d-20

    or

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0034JLTNG/?tag=tec06d-20

    What's the benefit of having two graphics cards? Can I use my nvidia 9400GT or should i get one of these newer ones?

    Drives
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0037FSYQC/?tag=tec06d-20

    and or

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0046K062C/?tag=tec06d-20

    HDD (2x)
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002ZCXK0I/?tag=tec06d-20

    Ram
    I know crucial site can tell me what's compatible but I think they only scan your pc and since I won't have it up and running I would need ram first. So info on compatible ram is needed as well.

    capture card (not priority)
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B002SQE1O0/?tag=tec06d-20


    What else will I need. Power supply? I know this is asking a whole lot and taking up everyone's time but I'd just really like to have a really good pc now and be done with needing to upgrade for years. At least I'd be done upgrading for years is what I mean. Help is appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  2. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,722 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    I wouldn't buy from Amazon, personally. You're in the States, so I'd reccommend Newegg.
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Ok you live in the US correct if so, use newegg cause you can usaully get combined shipping and combo prices.

    http://www.newegg.com
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If you guys suggest newegg (which I've heard alot researching) then I'll use them. I know i'm asking a lot of questions so I'll be patient waiting for answers.
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes use them. also what are you using this computer for and what do you prefer intel or AMD?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Intel or AmD? Honestly I have no idea. I would just go with intel because based on their listing they label what core is what. I just need something that's fast and is compatible with the motherboard. That suggestion I leave up to you guys.

    I mostly wanted to watch hd video and edit hd video. Have multiple programs run at once. Does more ram and a multi-core cpu make saving video faster? I also might want to try some old games at some point. I do not intend to upgrade yearly for playing games. Mainly i'll be video editing, watching and burning movies and using the net.
     
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Im not a fan boy but it comes down to power and an intel system is very powerful even a an I5 750 gets over the Phenom II quads. I know other people will voice there opinion but i would go either P55 I7 860 or X58 I7 930 or 950.

    only issue is that sandy bridge will be released here soon so its up to you if you want to wait or pickup a fast intel now
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    man, most of us live here. lol ask questions you shall receive answers.

    hehe, missed an entire post. SO yes now I totally agree with an I5/I7.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010
  9. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Okay i'm going to look for info on those and see what fits in budget. I just got a message from another user 'TheMailMan78' who also suggested getting an i7 or amd for 6 cores.
     
  10. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    editing, converting and watching high quality video. surfing the net, music, pics. Basically home entertainment. Maybe some games at some point.
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Amd phenom x6 1055t
    2x4gb ram
    890fx (biostar makes a nice one)
    Corsair psu
    Samsung/seagate hdd
    Case is a personal preference thing
    Video card...6850 or 5850

    That should be under 1200 by a very good bit
     
    Blaiyan says thanks.
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
  13. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,722 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Wait, he reccommended BOTH Intel and AMD?:shadedshu
     
  14. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I'll just post what he said
    ---------------------------------
    The MailMan78

    "Ok man normally I would post in your thread but I am serving a short ban right now. Anyway feel free to post anything I say in the thread if you want so you know I ain't screwing with ya

    Ok....

    Case: Great! I own one. I've owned a bunch of cases and for the money its awesome.

    Board: Looks pretty good. However If you use an Nvidia card you'll never be able to do SLI. I would look for an x58 chip-set. This way you can do both if you wish later on.

    GPU: Go with the 470. However if I was in your shoes I would get a 570.

    Optical Drives: Just get the cheapest. They really don't matter all that much.

    HD: I wouldn't go with WD greens. If you are going to use a standard WD drive then get WD Blacks. Much faster.

    RAM: Depends on the board you get. I am not a big fan of Corsair. I would stick with G.Skill and Patriot.

    CPU: If you are going Intel and only doing gaming then go with the i5. If you want more beef then go with the i7. With that being said and you think you might want to go 6 core then AMD is the cheaper solution. Just keep in mind that you wont be able to do AMD on an x58 board.

    PSU: Man you didn't mention this so I KNOW you are new. Listen this is the MOST IMPORTANT thing in any rig. DO NOT GO CHEAP. Get one of the following brands. Enermax, Corsair, Antec. "
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,181 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    Home
    Its TheMailMan we are talking about. :laugh:

    Personally, I would wait for Sandy Bridge (new Intel chips), but if you can't wait, your choices will be determined by what programs you use.

    If its gaming, then its probably going to be i7 9xx based, or i5 760 based. However, if you do other things more heavily such as encoding videos and stuff like that, then it will most likely be an AMD 10xxT based build.

    Aad +1 to psu advice, get something quality if you dont want to turn your new shiny rig into fireworks. something along the lines of 500-600w is enough for 1 graphics card, about 800w for 2.
     
    Blaiyan says thanks.
  16. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    It won't let me see it. Anyway I can get a picture or just the name of the list if it's public so I can search for it?

    BTW does the motherboard support ddr5? my current is ddr and can't upgrade so I want ddr5 since the graphics cards I posted are for ddr5.
     
  17. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,722 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Not true. It requires a small hack, but can be done fairly easily.
     
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    There is no such ram as DDR5 on a motherboard, only GDDR5 on video card

    DDR3 is what were up to now
     
    Blaiyan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Good recommendation.

    Your wish list is empty or you didn't make it public.

    Here's mine:
    Newegg.com Account Login Page
     
  20. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,722 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Don't just reccommend AMD, perhaps the OP doesn't want driver issues. nVidia cards are superior now, tho they are more expensive. I'd say a GTX 460 minimum, and the HD5800 series is still good and going down in price.
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Maybe this helps

    [​IMG]
     
    Blaiyan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Phew okay i'm trying to keep up :)

    Just posting TheMailman78 picture he sent me

    [​IMG]

    Now to look at all of your suggestions. And no need to answer about the power supply being psu (smacks forehead) nor the sound card (already on motherboard).
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Similar to mine i posted but different motherboard and case.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Blaiyan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    Messages:
    36 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Thank you for clearing that up. Sorry about the dumb question.
     
  25. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Hey man! It can be a bit nervous building your own PC for the very first time. I built my first this spring when i was 15, and although it had some very good components it also had some very poor components. My budget was less than half of yours though so with a budget like your's you can build a VERY VERY good computer. Shoot it's even better than my current build what you can get!

    You say you want to watch and encode HD video? I'd say a i7 with your budget would be great ;) Ill throw together a parts list here quick for you.

    Processor-Intel core i7 950

    Motherboard-EVGA X58 SLI

    RAM-Mushkin Blackline 3x2gb CL8 DDR3 1600mhz

    GPU-Evga gtx 570

    Case-CoolerMaster HAF 932

    HDD-Samsung spinpoint f3 1tb

    PSU-Corsair HX 750w

    DVD burner-Asus Sata DVD burner

    OS-Windows 7 home premium 64-bit
    Total price so far $1466.91, now if you wan't to overclock that chip your going to need a better heat sink fan for the CPU.

    Best cpu heat sink fan for the money!

    You will then need some thermal paste to go between the processor and heat sink.

    This thermal paste is starting to take over

    Total price shipped will probably be about $1530 max. I know it's $30 over your budget but this is all high quality components and this build will last you a long time and not age quickly.
     
    Blaiyan says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page