1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Intel Core i7-3970X Extreme Arrives in Q4

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 23, 2012.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Why all the talk about 8 cores and 12 cores? I mean Intel can kick ass with fewer cores than AMD right now and really how many games or even programs out there need any more than 4 cores? This is just Intel making AMD look weak and they are.
     
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Vray renderer for example, it can take up to 64 cores on a single machine. :toast:
     
  3. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Yes, Intel executives meet up once a week at a roundtable to discuss "how to make AMD look weaker". Yes, that is how Intel spend their revenue.
     
  4. gopal

    gopal

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,027 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Patna, Bihar, India, Asia, Earth, Terron System, M
    Well AMD is smart that they do not make vert expensive cpu which will not sell
     
  5. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Or they are not selling CPUs at insane price points because they don't have any that will compete with current Intel X lineup?

    I remember a time when both AMD and Intel had 850$+ CPUs on the market.
     
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I would have to agree with this. AMD just doesn't have a CPU that can compete CORE FOR CORE that is. :shadedshu
     
  7. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,413 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    Ya. Following the trend of bulldozer... Amd would be making a 24 core desktop processor to compete at that price point
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    No AMD would need a 24 core CPU just to keep up with the 4 and 6 core offerings of Intel. :roll:
     
  9. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,413 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    When I read my post, and then your post, they say the same thing to me. So we agree amd would need 24 core cpu to keep up with intel's high end
     
    trickson says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    :roll:
     
  11. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    lol waste of time and money imo.. Only a handful of eliteists will buy these.
     
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    That would be the smart people, You mean. ;)
     
  13. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    i moved from a Pentium 4 HT 3.2GHz 478 pin, to a 3770K, i used the P4 from 2004-2011, i notice a differance, but not as much as an ssd does over an hdd
     
  14. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,413 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    I moved from a pentium p3 I had since I was a kid to a amd anthlon dual core 2.3ghz thing. I noticed a huge difference and that was with vista installed too, compared to xp. Everything else was also newer, like a sata hdd compared to ide. When I then moved to my 2500k I noticed a difference. When I overclocked it to 4.5ghz... eh little difference in desktop stuff but big in games and encoding. My i3-2150 in my laptop seems so slow and I know its the processor not the hdd. That is just desktop stuff.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    P4@3.2GHz vs 3770K is night and day, just keep looking=) If you want to play recent game titles, you might need a fast video card as well, but the Ivy-Bridge is a real monster compared to the Northwood. They are not even in the same league, and that's stays true even when you do nothing else but browsing the net:)
     
  16. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    lol put an ssd in your laptop.... youll notice a bigger diferance than your cpu does because of the face value an ssd makes is immediately apparent, for example boot time, the very first thing you do when you install new hardware :p so oviously you will automatically notice an ssd over an hdd over any cpu to cpu combo
     
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,413 (3.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,560
    I plan on it too. Waiting for a bigger drop in prices. I already boot up in 20 seconds, but 8 sounds better.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Kheng New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You can always move to a farm of 2P E5-2600 series Xeons for a rendering farm (Rack mounted), which is what we are going to do (rather than buying heaps of expensive 3930K / 3960X systems)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page