1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Laptop overclocking adventures

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by theonetruewill, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. ho0dzy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    97 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm having a problem with the PLL's. When I raise it and hit "Apply Selection" it appears to reset it back down to where the defaults were...
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    You have the wrong PLL
  3. SloICEMAN

    SloICEMAN New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    will just wondering if you still play 2142, look me up next time sloiceman.
  4. coolhhc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taiwan
    hi, can someone help me with my overclocking?
    I'v got a santa rosa with a T5500 intel centrino duo and the mainboard
    is a Wistron made, Chipset GM965 82801HBM(ICH8-ME)
    I'v tryed ClockGen and setfsb but non of them is working for me
    so any suggestion? The thing is I just don't know what my PPL is
    and I'v tryed all of them in the lists.

    pardon my english I'm from Taiwan
  5. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Hey sorry to say this but it seems like the chipsets that support core 2 for laptop don't have plls that are written for it yet....trust me I've tried them all too
    coolhhc says thanks.
  6. coolhhc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Really? that sucks:banghead:
    I find it annoying that I buy a new laptop
    and it runs dead slow on vista
    it's even slower than my old computer that I
    got 5 years ago.
    I think vista is really going backwards

    I want to put XP on my laptop now
    but I think that will break my warrant.:mad:
  7. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    I recently changed my processor out I had a t5250 and went to a 7300 extra 500 mhz and 2 more megs of cahce. I would love to oc it but non of the programs work is it becuase of the 2x core 965 chipset or vista. Vista has taken some getting used to but find it quick and the gma 3100 video is ok for what I need in a laptop. still have a constant need to go faster:laugh:
  8. Hello_Moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    after a long hiatus, i'm back and i got something to shout about:-

    round about page 19/20 of this thread, i could only OC my Pentium M750 from 1.86GHz to a stable 1.93GHz. It really baked my noodle that other people could get up to 2.25GHz *cough*theonetruewill*cough* and i was stuck @ 1.93GHz.

    In any case, i swapped my 2x 1GB Micron Tech. PC2700 DDR RAM for 2x 1GB OCZ PC3200 DDR RAM, working under the assumption that the PC3200 will run at PC2700 speeds (due to mobo design) so that when i OC the FSB, the underclocked PC3200 has a lot more leeway (for OCing) than the PC2700.

    I also swapped Clockgen for setFSB. I reckon my limiting factor was using the wrong PLL clocks even though they matched my actual specs quite closely.

    I've now hit a stable 2.33GHz @ 1.272V using setFSB!!. My X700 is also OCed to 410.6/379.68 from stock 358/345. Anything above that causes my display to black out (ATI VPU kicking in?) and artifacts aplenty. Temps hit ~76C under load and around 55C when idle. Got an Antec Notebook cooler and Evercool NB-MA1 cooler working their magic in tandem to keep my laptop from frying.

    Super Pi times (when OCed @ 2.33GHz):-

    14 secs - Pi 512K
    37 secs - Pi 1M
    1min 37secs - Pi 2M


    I'll post 3DMark03 scores pre and post OC when i got time.

    Leadership board here i come lol^^
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2008
  9. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    You my friend are are an asshole.... No seriously, congratulations mate. Superb job with the new overclock!:toast: I'll shove you on the leaderboard. Now you only have to do one thing to trounce me, beat my Superpi 1M score!:p However I need screenies of the superpi scores if you want them posted on the front page. Preferably a screenshot of the overclock in CPU-Z also - thanks.
  10. Hello_Moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Cheers for the congrats. Shaving a full 5secs off my SuperPi score is gonna be tough in order to to beat you though!

    here's the screenshot. View it in fullscreen to make out the numbers.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 11, 2008
    theonetruewill says thanks.
  11. rage

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i think im also gonna try oc my laptop. i bought it last week and at first i thought not much about it( my girl wanted one) but after taking a better look i like it!:cool:

    i ran superpi on it and the damned thing was like more than 10 seconds faster than my oc'ed
    h20 noisemaker :roll: on 1M calc..

    those core 2 duo's are realy much faster with lower clocks than "dualcore's" and much cooler.

    only if destroy it i can't post again couse my girl will strangle me:D

    specs: lenovo thinkpad 3000 n200
    t7250 2.0GHz 800fsb
    2 gig ddr2 1 dimm (don't know timings yet)
    geforce go 7300 (not much but it does CSS just fine;))

    i already installed a modded driver for the geforce (modded .inf, from laptopvideo2go.com)

    i took some covers of the casing that were easely removed, for cleaning te cooling and changing ram and HDD, it look quite nice the cpu, gpu and northbrige or someting like that have big heatpipes to connect it to the cooling block

    let u know how it goes/went

    greetz rage
  12. Hello_Moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Laptop Specs:-

    Pentium M 750 @ 1.86GHz (OCed to 2.3GHz)
    2x 1GB OCZ PC3200 DDR RAM
    128MB X700 Mobility (stock core/mem: 358/345; OCed to 405/378)

    3DMark03 scores (pre OC) on default settings: 6103

    3DMark03 scores (after OC) on default settings: 6800


    Probably can get a slightly highly score if i shut down all the programs i had running in the background. Have no idea how i managed to previously score 6818 @ 1.93GHz when i last posted on page 19/20.....must have fiddled with 3DMark03 settings or something and not realised. OCing to 1.93GHz gives 6198 on 3DMark03 on default settings.
  13. rage

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    61 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Probably can get a slightly highly score if i shut down all the programs i had running in the background. Have no idea how i managed to previously score 6818 @ 1.93GHz when i last posted on page 19/20.....must have fiddled with 3DMark03 settings or something and not realised. OCing to 1.93GHz gives 6198 on 3DMark03 on default settings.[/QUOTE]


    yeah its incredible what kind of crap thy stuff on a laptop, mine has some auto OS install
    from the HDD, there is no cd/dvd of vista suplyed with it, and it installed a million extra tools
    that i dont want. im removing it bit by bit to get some inprovment in speed.

    it uses on the desktop only 40% ram of 2Gb :mad:

    and 88 procceses and stuff AFTER i removed alot of startup lauched sh*t

    have a long way 2 go :pimp:
  14. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Again, I know it's a bitch but |I need screenshots of 3DMark before I can display on the first post.
  15. unixyk

    unixyk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Sorry if this has been asked/posted before but I have the same laptop and was wondering which PPL you were using with ClockGen to do your overclocking?
  16. Hello_Moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    it's weird how I'm prime/SP2004 stable (20hours+) but not OCCT stable (can crash in as little as 30mins) when OCed @ 2.33GHz.

    Perhaps i'm undervolting too much.....
  17. michgoblue022198 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    can i overclock my laptop??...i have a quanta mainboard and i run vista, chipset is intel
    gm965 and i dont know what my PLL is, ive tried clock gen and that does not work...i have part of my specs up too<<<
  18. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Try Softfsb
  19. Hello_Moto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    2.3GHz @ 1.276V seems to be stable in all torture tests/benchmarks (SP2004 blend [20hrs], OCCT [20hrs] & 3Dmark03) that i subjected my laptop to. The 2.33GHz OC that i previously posted only seemed stable in SP2004 blend [20hrs]....then again, i did have emule/utorrent running in the background during the OCCT torture test (@ 2.33GHz) which may caused unexpected errors.

    Is it just me or is OCCT rather sensitive lol?!

    In any case, here's an updated screenshot of my OC. Scored 7040 in 3Dmark03 on default settings, bearing in mind that this was done with programs (ie. AV/anti-spyware/Peerguardian etc. etc.) running in the background. I'm pretty sure that i could score higher if i bothered to shut them all down prior to running 3Dmark03.

    Attached Files:

    • OCed.JPG
      OCed.JPG
      File size:
      176.9 KB
      Views:
      313
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2008
  20. geostone

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Greetings all,

    Just found the forum and wanted to post my new laptop stats. Ive been playing around with clockgen and think I may have found the right PLL for it. Right now base stats:

    ASUS A7K-X3
    AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-56 1.8GHz
    ATI 2600 256Mb DDR3
    2GB 5300 Memory

    So far with clockgen I've gotten it up to 2.3GHz and stable @ 4 hours with prime95 by only changing the PLLs. If anyone has suggestions as to how I might get it higher I would love to give it a shot. Ok, screenshots added.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 25, 2008
  21. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Save as jpegs
    geostone says thanks.
  22. geostone

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Any idea how I might be able to get into the BIOS settings on an ASUS A7K? I haven't seen any place to overclock in the BIOS. I am wondering if it is possible to make adjustments from within BIOS or am I restricted to using Windows based programs? 2.3 seems to be the highest I can go just using clockgen, any ideas as to how I might could get it higher?


    Thanks,
    Geo
  23. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    Laptops generally = limited BIOS. Thus overclocking only within Windows.
  24. geostone

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh well, looks like 2.3 is the max I can get.

    On a side note- who is the chick in your avatar? Being deployed to Qatar its nice to see her when I read your post.:pimp:
  25. theonetruewill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    240
    Location:
    London - Close your eyes and you'll see me
    My avatar changes often - as many will tell you. But at the moment it is the brilliantly beautiful Adriana Lima.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page