1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Nvidia GeForce GTX 680

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by saknid, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
  2. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    @eidairaman1

    Ok No other words Thank you it seems the other one have only one difference the graphic card otherwise it is all same...

    I was wandering whether the radeon is better than nvidia (EVEN I HAVE LOOKED OVER NET AND THEY ALL WHERE SUPPORTING NVIDIA IN THE NEW ERA LAUNCH FROM BOTH COMPS)
     
  3. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Nvidia is superior in performance, however the AMD cards are no slouches, I personally don't like the low quality drivers of AMD, but other than that, they are a viable choice. I personally think you are much better off with a 680, also I really do recommend that you purchase a 4GB model for reasons of longevity.
     
  4. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    @[H]@RD5TUFF Bro Thank you...But do you mean i should buy 4gb DDR5 of gtx 680 ???

    and also tell me should I have to reconfigure the RAM from 8 Gb to more...??? I was just wandering help me.....

    BTW THANK YOU AGAIN.....Last day I was in market but did'nt buy Any thing...Now I have to wait for 1 More Day...So I can study some more about Same....
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    most users have been running 12.6 without issue, 12.8 without issue. most say they are ecstatic bout 12.9s.
     
  6. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Thank you.

    @eidairaman1

    Aweeee...Friend will you please be more specific as whatever you have said is going above my head...Please Be more Specific (EVEN THANK YOU I AM SURE THAT MUST BE SOME THING IMPORTANT I AM QUITE NEW TO THESE THINGS SORRY)

    :confused:
     
  7. aayman_farzand

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    102 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    He's talking about AMD Drivers for their GPUs. Doesn't concern you as you are already set on the 680.
     
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    my Fault- AMD Catalyst Driver 12.6, 12.8, 12.9 Beta.

    If you go for a 680, id recommend a Stock Clocked model.
     
  9. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Thank you..


    @ eidairaman1

    Oh k Yes now it is clear to me...But yes I am going with Nvidia series....

    Thank you again You guy's are Endless Knowledge...:respect:

    Is there any specific comp for RAM while I don't see any special difference among any comp series yet any thing special about them...
     
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    You mean Intel Series what?

    The Processor?

    The Motherboard?

    When I said stuff about the Drivers I was Talking about an AMD Radeon Graphics or Nvidia Geforce Graphics
     
    saknid says thanks.
  11. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India

    oh yes that was my fault i even changes the cmnt but u got me...i thought of some thing else.....now clear and ok ....
     
  12. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,950 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,367
    Still need RAM help? G Skill makes some great ram kits. I've had several of their kits, different sizes and different frequencies, and they have all worked very well, even being able to overclock a bit with slight voltage adjustments. Corsairs are good too, having heard a lot of good feedback from them. My Samsung memory is terrific, beast overclockers with amazing value, though cosmetically very plain :D
     
    saknid says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Thank you...

    @manofthem

    I know I sound little idiotic But see this is first time I am going to buy some thing big...last time I have a PC as core 2 duo 2.XX GHz., intel motherboard (Don't know which one), RAM 4 Gb (Don't Know which one), nvidia geforce 9800 gt 1gb (u guy's 'll say Crap)....and simple case

    So yes I suppose I can do some stupidity I need Knowledge And you guy's are providing the same...You guy's have experience. and i am a newbie... :eek:
     
  14. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,950 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,367
    Don't worry about not knowing everything and you need not make apologies for such. Good thing about TPU is that there are a lot of smart people willing to share, and most do so in a friendly way :laugh: just continue to assemble the parts you need and want. If you're unsure before purchase, post what you have in mind, and someone will quickly point out any potential issue or even a better deal ;)

    It sounds like your build is going to be a champion and that's just awesome, keep it going :toast:
     
    saknid says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India

    @manofthem

    Really Thank you for such a moral support too....AWESOME FORUM...I am going by now...wil post the Specs on the same thread THANK YOU AGAIN GUY's THANK YOU....:respect:
     
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Ok No worries there, just a warning ive been hearing issues with the latest driver so You may want to run the Previous one before it
     
    saknid says thanks.
  17. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    @eidairaman1

    I was searching on net for gtx 680 and i got this from TPU "Point of View GTX 680 TGT Ultra Charged 4 GB" is it a good option for card it is also DDR 5 is'nt...

    and also tell me which one is better msi or asus or Pov...
     
  18. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,950 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,367
    The user Hardstuff just did an itx build with a 4gb 680, check out his
    thread.
    In there you'll see what he running and some benches, but that 680 looks awesome! If you could score that, go for it. What eidairaman1 was talking about with recent driver issues can be found in this thread.
    I'm sure it'll be rectified or just use a previous one :)
     
    saknid and eidairaman1 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India

    @manofthem:

    Yes that is nice too I was watching over the TPU reviews and they are quite nice about the whole asus thing...but also they pinched that extra 2 gb is not that supporting but yes it is good So i am thinking to go with it...while on other side the other tech config of that guy is quite great I will think again of options and will see the market then...meanwhile thank you very very much for ur valuable comments
    :rockout:
     
  20. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    @manofthem

    Need little more help even I brought the card, case and psu,

    But I am stuck on the processor I got two options 2nd gen core i7 and 3rd gen core i7

    I want to know which one is better

    2nd gen http://ark.intel.com/products/63697/Intel-Core-i7-3930K-Processor-12M-Cache-up-to-3_80-GHz

    3rd gen http://ark.intel.com/products/65719/Intel-Core-i7-3770-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-3_90-GHz

    It shows that 3rd gen have some tech as "Embedded Options Available" But no other change I just want to know which one is better....PLEASE HELP ME and after that I want to know

    What if I buy a motherboard based on LGA 2011, would it be possible to build it with a processor based on LGA 1155....PLZ HELP ME OUT...

    IT SEEMS SO IDIOTIC TO HAVE OTHER PARTS BUT NOT THE MAIN FACTOR...

    :confused:
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Socket 2011 and Socket 1155 are not interchangeable.

    Socket 2011 has more room for expansion for graphics etc.


     
  22. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    @eidairaman1

    And what about the processors the two 2nd gen and the 3rd gen which one to go with...

    should I buy LGA 2011 based motherboard...
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    if you have the cash for a 2011 system go for it. if you go with 1155 get a IVB based CPU
     
  24. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India

    @eidairaman1

    Thank you bro...finally I am going to have a dream :p will post the config N' all....THANK YOU ALL THANK YOU TPU.....Wish me luck...
     
  25. saknid

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    136 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    The Thing.

    Ok Finally I am going with this Please do Comment whether It is good or not...

    ASUS Rampage IV Extreme

    Intel® Core™ i7-3930k Processor Extreme Edition

    Comment if ok....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page