1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

OEM PC Upgrade, Help Needed (Monitor Not Reading System)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by T4C Fantasy, Apr 20, 2013.

  1. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,931 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,620
    hell itx, matx and anything smaller than ATX have no expansionability. Ive dealt with failed boots many times by removing the board out of the case, i now do a bench run of components new so if any are bad i can just box em up and take em back.
     
  2. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    poor guy spent 899 on a pc that cant get good fps on second life, if i paid 899 for a pc id expect atleast a gtx 650 or hd 7770, but oems screw you over

    and today he spend 420 dollars a on gtx 660ti and 600 watt psu which gets 23aMPS on 12v1 and 20a on 12v2, the 660ti evga bozx says minium is 24amp 12v
     
  3. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,890 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I often get this problem when re-seating my video card to clean the fans. It also sometimes happens when I mess with the HDDs.

    On my HTPC it happens when i mess with the RAM.

    In the first case, reseating the video card again and again or clearing the CMOS usually works for me. Sometimes just having one HDD in and getting it to boot before adding the other 3, works.

    In the second case, I just play around with 1 stick of RAM, get it to boot, then move to 2 sticks, then to 3. So far, I haven't been able to install all 4 sticks and get it to post, but 3gb on my HTPC is fine.

    As others have said, your best bet is to unplug everything and just add 1 stick of RAM and the Video card, after clearing the CMOS, see if you can get it to post. Then start adding the rest 1 by 1.
     
  4. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    having a pc with problems is like borrowing a nintendo cartridge from a friend, only that friend knows how to make it work
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,931 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,620
    ugh the guy needs education on parts selection
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    I find that hardly true in the real world. Usually the only thing lacking on OEM boards is overclock options and BIOS options to turn features on and off. But any H61 board, OEM or not, will not have any overclocking options and people buying OEM machines generally don't care about turning off features they never knew existed anyway.

    But when it comes to upgrade potential they aren't that much different than a board you'd buy from newegg.

    And really, for $900 the CM6630 is not a bad machine, especially considering it uses an off the shelf board with a custom BIOS. I mean just put the parts together yourself and it comes pretty close to $900. Plus, most pre-builts in that price range don't even come with a discrete graphics card, so consider yourself lucky. Games might be bad on the GT630, but they'd be a hell of a lot worse on the Intel HD2500.

    i7-3770 = $300
    Mobo = $50
    GT630 = $75
    RAM = $65
    HDD = $75
    OOD = $20
    CASE + PSU = $50
    Win7 = $100

    Add that together and it is $735, add shipping and the price goes to $750 just to get the parts to my door, and that isn't even considering the time to assemble and install Software(I charge $200 for this, or 2 hours labor time). Granted, ASUS isn't paying their workers in China or wherever $100 an hour, but they are paying them something, so add labor and the profit margin is pretty damn slim.

    And the board has a PCI-E slot to take any graphics card you want to put in it, and it will take any 1155 processor in existence. The one and only flaw when it comes to upgrading would be only having two DIMM slots, but that is how cheap boards are, it doesn't matter if they are OEM or bought off the shelf.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. wfor1pilot

    wfor1pilot New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lake Mission Viejo, Ca
    T4C
    Can you post up when Best Buy gives you the prognosis ? :confused:
     
  8. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    yea ill try, ill be there with the geek squad, plus im a nosey person ill end up asking them if they know about techpowerup, then ill tell them im the gpu database editor there lol

    good times
     
  9. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    Bullcrap, thin PCP, cheap capacitors/VRM's terrible passive cooling. you want me to go on? Some OEM boards have a VERY HIGH failure rate. For example: A lot of OEM boards made for Phenom's went poof. Don't take it personal, but I would not take newtekie1's advise if my life depended on it. Cheap means cheap no matter how you cut it. Most OEM boards are made at Foxconn and the factory has very poor working conditions/ environment and quality control is terrible in that sector. They mass produce them with a lot of dust(you heard of the dust explosion at Foxconn)and cheap labor(very cheap). OEM boards are the bottom of the heap.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2013
  10. wfor1pilot

    wfor1pilot New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    17 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Lake Mission Viejo, Ca
    I dunno if I have too much faith in the "geek squad", I'd be rather surprised if they even know as much as you do! None the less, still love to find out the resolve. Good Luck !!!
    :peace:
     
  11. Ikaruga

    Ikaruga

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    870 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Sorry, I was only trying to help.

    It's happened to me many times at the early years that I accidentaly connected one of the case's buttton in a wrong way at reassembly, or a malfunctioning fan prevented the PSU to start working, etc. You have two PSUs, and it's unlikely that both are dropped dead at the same time, so I though it's the best to start from the very basics.
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    PCP? Is that what you're on? Can I have some? Pay attention to the topic slick, none of that has an effect on their upgrade potential, which is what we are talking about. I never said they were built well, I said their upgrade potential isn't limited. Furthermore, those problems aren't limited to OEM motherboards, the same problems plague cheap boards weather they come in an pre-built or you buy them from newegg. I really don't care if you wouldn't take my advice, since you rarely have a clue what you are talking about, no one here really listens to you.

    I challenge you to try to pull some bullshit out of your ass about why any of the issues you described would limit upgrade potential.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2013
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,769 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,331
    if "made by foxconn" makes you not buy stuff, you're in the wrong business. :wtf:
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    I wonder if he even realizes the irony in the fact that he went on that big rant about Foxconn being so bad and how boards manufactured by them are terrible, yet Gigabyte has been using them to build their boards since 2004, so his Z77-UP7 motherboard was manufactured by Foxconn...:rolleyes:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,784 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,058
    you will need to crack the bios. usually these things are locked from the BIOS.
     
  16. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    665 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Australia
    The machine may have a case open switch which is preventing normal post.
    other than that it sounds like a RAMK/video card reseat.

    hope you win.
     
    Ikaruga says thanks.
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    OEM yes. Will not buy. Much different than other stuff. mass produced, cheap component. :slap: i sold too many boards to persons with OEM pre-builts that failed.....

    LOL PCB LOL. I think you have the jest of it though. I think I am listened too by many. I just refuse to say and agree that OEM boards are the same as others. They are not. everything about them has cheap components and suggesting it is...... Blasphemy!.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2013
    de.das.dude says thanks.
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,769 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,331
    Mass produced with cheap components.. That describes most electronics. I get your point though, but i do not agree with it.
     
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    And again, you have completely ignore the fact that I never said the components used weren't cheap and the fact that cheap non-OEM boards have the same crappy components and most importantly that the cheap components has no affect what so ever on the upgrade potential of OEM boards.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. T4C Fantasy

    T4C Fantasy CPU & GPU DB Maintainer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    973 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    well thats not necessarily true if the caps are cheap they can rupture when upgrading it which would render that board limited to what could be upgraded to it or vrm shorts, ill let you guys know what freak squad says, my quess will be the mobo died somehow, i had high hopes for the problem being as stupid as the case needing to be closed in order to boot it.. but when that failed i said fuck it.
     
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    But, again, that is an issue with inexpensive boards with weak VRM setups regardless of if they are OEM or not, and there are plenty of non-OEM boards with weak power setups. And actually, this is only an issue with AMD AM3 boards. Even the weakest 1155 board can take the highest i7 without issue thanks to Intel's great power efficiency, and any FM1/2 board will take any processor available as well.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,931 (4.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,620
    Lets Keep on Topic, The Machine on hand is going to geek squad for diagnosis. If they repair it problem solved.

    Otherwise T4C i would definitely recommend an APU Setup (Handles Pretty well)

    heres the Min/Rec Specs for Second Life

    http://secondlife.com/support/system-requirements/
     
  23. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    It's not even an oem board it's a P8H61-M PRO which uses
    http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1155/P8H61M_PRO/#specifications
     
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
  25. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Yes which started out talking about the rig the OP posted about, I think you're the only fail in this thread as it seems you're just itching to get into an argument with anyone who will bite. Grow up.
     
    newtekie1 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page