1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II vs Core i7

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Monkey_Business, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    I meant that his Q9400 is definitively not bottlenecking his GPU

    a Q9400 does not have HT, it only has 4 cores/4threads
     
  2. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    Mother of God when did you build your system? I can't seem to figure out how it amounts to 2.3K...

    Oh ygpm about your Asetek LCLC system.
     
  3. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    2.66ghz is a bottleneck even with 4 cores
     
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Not even close... especially not with a 5750
     
  5. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    we all are entitled to our own oppion to me it is
     
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Not an opinion, it is a fact lol... I'll try to find you proof soon...

    We all learn something new each day :rolleyes:
     
  7. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    It's stupid to measure a chip's speed in GHz - a 3 GHz Pentium D is totally pwned by a 1.86 Ghz Core 2 Duo - There are a ton of factors at play in a CPU, clockspeed means a lot less now that in did 5 years ago.
     
  8. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    anothier person's oppion its more cores or its a high cpu clock come on its not that hard to figure out we should all know this by now
     
  9. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    I have 5850 crossfire :cool:
     
  10. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    The architecture, the cache, the platform, all that stuff counts in determining a CPU's performance... This isn't really an opinion... Either your CPU gives enough performance or not...
     
  11. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    right on good to know, should i buy a motherboard or a ati card to replace my 9600gt clocked at 800 1850/1200 x2 btw
     
  12. Corduroy_Jr

    Corduroy_Jr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,102 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    barrie ont
    i tossed in my amd phenom II 920 x4 into a m4a79 duluxe and ht 3.7ghz at 1.450v, so i know for sure i can reach 3.8ghz 24/7 which is unrare for a c2 stepping
     
  13. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    $1,500 from CyberPowerPC + $500 New Egg Goodies + 300 23" LG 1080p monitor
     
  14. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,725 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,848
    World Community Grid runs 8 threads (or more if you have them)...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    No, what sucks for the money is a 2GB 5870. Same price as a 480 with less performance.

    You are wrong. His cpu is not a bottleneck for a 5750, AT ALL. Only benchmarks would be effected.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2010
  16. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,312 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    483
    The "Bottleneck" is affected by the hardware, the application running, the resolution you are running it at and any enabled post-processing options.

    Stating that "2.66Ghz is a bottleneck even with 4 cores" is a statement devoid of any useful content and it is utterly false as a blanket statement.
     
    beyond_amusia says thanks.
  17. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,568 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    958
    Thought the 480 was going to retail with a $50 price hike, $550.
     
  18. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,188 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    From what I've been seeing, Phenom IIs are more in line with 45nm Core 2 Quads for a direct competition in performance (sans the 775 being dead and stuff)...
     
  19. Kantastic

    Kantastic

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    997
    More or less.

    IMO the only reason to buy Intel at this point in time is for i5/i7 because if you're looking for the next step down in performance AM3 would be the only logical choice as it has 6-core support laid out.
     
  20. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,188 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    382
    Yes, and it would be a better option to go AM3 imo. Not that much difference over i7s in real world in fact.
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,167 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,052
    By the Time AMD came out with their Parts Intel dropped support for it, Reminds me of the Slot 1 Pentium transition to 370 and Transition from SKT 423 to 478.
     
  22. The HD 5970's run EXTREMELY hot. For the past year, my single slot HD 4850 idled at 85 *C and 107 *C under load. The fan consistently running at high RPM forced me to play all my games with headphones so I could hear them.

    My HD 4850 is fried, was thrown away, and replaced with my HD 5750.

    I'm surprised that it lasted as long as it did (one year) consistently running at those temperatures. And that it didn't die within the first few months of owning it.

    The HD 5970's, just like the 4870 X2's, run at similar temperatures using their reference coolers. I can't imagine the fan would be much quiet, either.

    Will the ASUS Crosshair III Formula AM3 motherboards support AMD's six-cores?
     
  23. How about this $200 X58 motherboard, and a Core i7 930 for only about $100 more? $200 is a very good price for an X58 motherboard. It is almost the same price as the ASUS Crosshair III Formula.

    Plus, the PC shop I plan having build my computer told me they might be able to get some deals on Intel hardware.

    The i7 930's and 920's are known to overclock very well, don't they? After the warranty has expired, and I've learned more about overclocking, I might give it a shot. I'm not aiming for 4 GHz, maybe 3.2 or 3.4.

    Even at stock speeds, the i7 930's blow anything AMD has right now out of the water.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...e=foxconn_flamingblade-_-13-186-171-_-Product

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...5225&cm_re=core_i7_930-_-19-115-225-_-Product

    Does the Foxconn flamingblade have overclocking abilities enabled in it's BIOS?

    My current OEM Foxconn G33 has overclocking permanently disabled by the manufacturer.

    Most, if not all OEM boards do.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2010
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,418 (7.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,900
    Thats not a build. Thats a pre-built. You could have built a much better rig for the money you spent. I'm not trying to insult you ether. Im just stating a fact.

    Well yeah. But I have no idea why you would even bother with a 2GB version.
     
  25. I used the calculator tool in accessories and it all added up to around $1,900 using the retail prices from newegg, minus the newegg discounts.

    I don't know how much the tax is on all those parts. I did not include the cost of the computer case, because I have a CM HAF 932 sitting in my closet right now...

    CPU - Ci7 930
    Motherboard - Foxconn Flamingblade X58
    RAM - 6GB DDR3 1600 MHz triple-channel
    GPU - MSI HD 5870 Lightning
    PSU - Rosewill 1,000W
    DVD Drive (I honestly don't need blu-ray)
    Hard drive - Seagate 1.5 TB 7200 RPM
    OS - Windows 7 professional
    Anti-virus - NAV 2010
    + Cost of construction $99.99
    - Cost of computer case

    It all came up to around $1,900. I have a strict budget of $2,000.

    How much would the total tax be on all those components?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page