1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenom II X6 Series Details Surface, Slated for May 2010

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jan 28, 2010.

  1. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    I totally understand where those people are coming from, but why are those people even contemplating looking at something they know they'll never use anyway. :p

    If I were those people I'd be looking into the X2's, X3's, i3's, or i5 duals and leave this other stuff to the people that are actually gonna use it. I see absolutely no reason for 90% of the users here to worry about/"upgrade" to the X6's when they come out. Sure it's great for marketshare so by all means go for it, but not if you're gonna complain that it's not slaughtering or making your 4Ghz dual or tri obselete lol. :shadedshu

    Kei
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    That's not what the OP claims. No way to know which one is accurate. I tend to believe the OP more, but 3.2 would be nice.

    There really aren't any major optimizations compared to current cores according to rumors. But the thing that's wrong with these from an enthusiast perspective is that I'm willing to bet they won't clock anywhere near as well as Gulftown.

    This is still too little too late from AMD. They should've tried to jump straight to octo core or something to leapfrog Intel.
     
  3. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Which is exactly what i was saying, and deemed a fanboy because i was stating facts.

    A faster architecture and faster clocks with programs designed to use the less dense faster cpu will outperform something with more cores and less clocks when programs arent designed to use upwards (mostly) of 2 cores.

    Its simple, i have had AMD through all the days and now have i5. Why? Because its simply faster in every aspect without the burnt wallet feeling i7 leaves you with.

    I game, my i5 is faster than a 955 in all games i play (i used to have 955 both at 4ghz) so its easy to see why i would have an i5 over Phenom 2.

    Another thing ive been saying. Of course im deemed a fanboy because im blatently saying im tired of crap, AMD. :wtf:
     
  4. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    "Too little too late" isn't necessarily the way I'd look at AMD; their strategy often has been not leapfrogging cutting-edge tech like the ATI/nVidia duo, but rather to offer value, particularly in the lower segments. They haven't anywhere near the R&D budget of Intel, though working on things like the 22nm fab process with IBM and others certainly helps. Those strategic alliances keep them alive (and thank goodness for the sake of competition-driven pricing, not that Intel doesn't do what it pleases anyway), but can't keep AMD "on top."
     
  5. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    AthlonXP and Athlon64/X2 disagrees, sir.

    Everybody and their brothers mothers cousin had an NF4 and 64/X2 combo back in the day :rockout:
     
  6. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    It doesn't have to out-perform i9.

    All it needs is shorten the gap, or keep it from widen. Keep the prices reasonable.
     
    Kei says thanks.
  7. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    look - are we sure this will not support DDR2? sorry to be pedantic...
     
  8. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    It will support DDR2.
     
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,750 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,683
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Technically Istanbul supports DDR2. But the thing is how many motherboard vendors are ready to give away supportive BIOS updates for their old AM2+ boards? I think not many, if not any.
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Hell, I still do have nf4 and an X2 in the kids' machine with a 4850.
     
  11. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    :rockout::rockout::rockout: :pimp:

    I remember my X2 and the SLI 280. Oh that poor poor cpu :roll:
     
  12. tonyd223

    tonyd223 New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    215 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    DDR2 support saves me £100 by allowing me to move my old memory on my 790GX board across... maybe I'm just skint :)
     
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,154 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,680
    Man I hope they do. I don't want to upgrade my board just yet. Its funny I got into building computers because my other hobby (Firearms) is very expensive. Now my PC building is starting to rival that! Why cant collecting stamps me this fun?! I would save so much money.
     
  14. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    I want one of these cpu..more with other Motherboards
     
  15. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    I'm looking at it from an overclocking stand point, if the chip default clock rate is pretty high, then it shouldn't be that much of a strain on the chip to get some really high numbers, and yeah most apps aren't multithreaded but people keep forgetting that the OS is...
     
  16. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    lol....I didn't know the 955 @ 4Ghz was holding you back from being slow? :p (sorry had to take that cheap shot at you lol)

    Just tell the truth you wanted a new toy...it's fine we all do that, it's why we're here really. None of us have really needed to upgrade from performance problems for like 5 years lol. :roll:

    Seriously though I totally agree that the i5 is a smokin bargain, I thought about picking one up as my first Intel processor in a pretty good while. I want one just for fun, surely not for any speed issues...I'm not a benchmark king lol. :toast:

    I wonder what the pricing will be like on these, I'm getting more curious about them now though 4 cores is still enough for what I do. 6 cores would help in a few occassions, but I could live without it........price dependant I'll still probably pick one up for fun. :D

    Kei
     
  17. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    I can't rememer where but i read this, but I remember some source saying that Hyper threading does have some adverse effects in gaming. I'll try and see if I can remember the link.
     
  18. TIGR

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,183 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,029
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,832 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  20. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    355 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    Brazil - São Paulo
    Heat can solve with coolers and good price? AMD only solves why I still go AMD..
     
  21. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    Well since im more into benching than gaming then yes the 955 was holding me back. At the time of 955 purchase i had 3 280s ;)

    With 2 280s running on my 955 i got around 18-21k. With the i5 at 4ghz i got 27k. So yea i needed more power.

    But it is worth going i5 considering the price is almost identical for a 965 and 750.
     
    Kei says thanks.
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    there is a slight chance like super maybe that i get on of these soon i will keep the forums up to date on it :D
     
  23. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    DFI did.
    DFI LanParty DK 790GX-M2RS = Win

    I should know, the BIOS date on my board is 1/22/10.
     
  24. Kei

    Kei

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,122 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    618
    I have people setup in the shadows outside your bedroom window....we will know if you hold out on us. :p

    Kei
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    crosshair II is still getting updates as we speak as is the M3A78T

    which window lol i have two places i live
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page