1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Phenoms Dell Transformation Project

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by MxPhenom 216, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    As many have seen in my "File Server over Network" thread. I have decided to rebuild one of my Dell Dimension Desktops from like 8-10 years ago into a Storage/VMHost Server to play with VMs and have back up storage locally over the network to store all my 1GB+ GoPro videos I make from Snowboarding, Mountain biking, and Motocross in. I spend over 5 hours on the videos when I edit them.

    The whole reason im doing this, and some have already told me its a waste of time and you can just get a cloud storage thing, but I am specifically doing this because ever since I got into computer building about 5 years ago when I was 14 I have wanted to rebuild a system in one of these cases. I also want a place to store my videos, since my main rig is changing all the time, and it would be shitty to lose all the work in my videos. And last reason is because I want to learn how to do things over network, and play with VMs to expand my knowledge on those too.

    Anyways so on to the things you all care about. The Hardware and pictures. I tried to make this build the cheapest possible (and most power efficient/performance) with spending just $250 on main parts like the PSU, memory, CPU, and motherboard, and some cooling fans for the case. Hard drives have not been purchased yet, waiting for next pay day.

    Hardware Specs of Server:

    Intel Pentium G630 2.7GHZ
    Asrock H77M H77 Board(to do Hardware Raid 1)
    PNY 8GB 1600mhz ram
    Corsair CX430M Modular Edition PSU
    My Vertex 2 90GB SSD for OS
    2x Western Digital 2TB Reds in RAID 1 Array
    Windows 8 Pro (For Hyper V)


    Anyways Pictures will be up in a bit.

    **Updated Specs**
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2013
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Okay, Sorry for the very blurry pictures. I tend to get some tremors when I build systems. I really need a tri-pod for my camera haha.

    [​IMG]


    Old Dell parts thrown out of the case. Want any of it? Let me know. P4 Socket 478 platform.
    [​IMG]

    Installed the PSU and Rear 92mm Gelid 1500rpm fan.
    [​IMG]

    I love Gigabyte motherboards. They are my go to board for most systems.
    [​IMG]

    The little beast.
    [​IMG]

    Most of it all installed. Waiting on the drives now.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    I'm interested to see how you handle the front panel connectors, since most of the Dells I see use special connectors for the buttons/LEDs and audio connections. Unless you got lucky and they used the standard connectors.

    While I agree with most of that, I don't believe they have any special parts in them to make them any more durable. AFAIK, the Red drives are nothing more than WD-Green drives with special firmware that allows them to be more compatible with RAID configurations.

    Though according to WD, their standard desktop drives support 2 disk RAID arrays, while their Red and RE drives are for arrays with 3 disks or more.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Either way the point im trying to make about them, is that they work fine with Windows in Raid configs, and if your making a storage server then they really are a no brainer since they have better capabilities when it comes to raid arrays.

    I wont be using anything on the front panel other then maybe the USB. The front power won't work which is why I bought a new power cable/button thing from Apevia for temperary use. I want to get a full power switch like one of these at some point.

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/catalog/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=23261
     
  5. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,932 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,525
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    You are giving me some ideals of what to use the old dell system I have in the closet for.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,781 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,342
    Yes I want the old hardware. :(

    Which Dimension is that?
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    I definitely get your point, I'm just saying they aren't really any more durable. I've used them a lot in normal computers, they definitely aren't just for NAS use. I've been using the WD Red or Seagate SV35 drives when I've built RAID arrays. Generally I pick whichever is cheapest, but the SV35 drives are slightly faster since they are 7200RPM drives.

    Oh yeah, this is that build. I just made the connection. I recommended you the Aprevia power button.:laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Dimension 3000
     
    Frick says thanks.
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    First, you can say it was me, no problem.

    Second..the firmware lowers error correction on the drive, and leaves it up to the controller(for RAID mode, prevents both the drive and controller fighting about who does the correction).

    Also, the drive head doesn't park, so if jostled, damage is easier. The drive uses a varied spin rate instead. Around 5100-5900 RPM.

    Secondly, that error correction feature(or lack thereof) is intended for use with RAID controllers, and you bought a board without RAID control, hence my recommendation for green drives.

    Yes, that board, and any H61 controller...does not do RAID.


    It is also just SATA 3 Gb/s, not SATA 6 Gb/s.

    :roll:

    I make recommendations based on deployment. Your deployment is flawed.:p

    Here's the board's product page. Don't worry, next time I won't offer you any help. I guess you won't be doing RAID like you planned either.:laugh:


    +



    = you FAILED.


    :nutkick:


    http://www.gigabyte.us/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4065#sp

    WD REDs in RAID? You bet. As a SINGLE DRIVE? Not that great of an idea...you'll have near zero error correction. mkay?


    :roll:


    From this point forth you shall be my example of someone asking for help, doing the opposite, and then running into problems. This is bloody great! :roll: Subb'd!!! :p You should have got the AMD rig, and avoided all of these problems, since that platform is much better featured.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,131 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,657
    MxPhenom 216.......:laugh: :shadedshu

    I mean really, you just threw good money after bad. Why didnt you just get a damn NAS as EVERYONE told you.
     
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    No one told me to get a NAS lol. I don't know where you have been, but they haven't.
     
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,315 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    you can't do soft raid on these machines?
     
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Of course.

    But...

    Not with proper error correction, and you'll be taking a performance hit, negating the benefits of the RED drives.

    If RED drives were good for all situations, they'd have simply replaced the green drives.
     
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    How does an Intel board, regardless of controller, not have RAID abilities. I was under the assumption that any board can do it these days?
     
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,131 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,657
    I was on TS when you talked about starting the project. TWO PEOPLE told you to get a NAS. I even agreed with them saying "I need to get one to back up my wife's laptop automatically so I can stop using an external all the time." Then one guy said it was over kill and he built his own and you were all like "That's what I wanna do!".

    And so the stone of fail rolled on.

    You assumed.
     
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Dude..I asked you why you choose that combo...then right after, told you not to get RED drives. FOR THIS EXACT REASON. Then I told you to go research why. Because clearly you weren't listening.

    You were pretty confident, so I wasn't gonna burst your bubble. I mean really.. why do I care what you buy? It's not for me.. it's for you. I was just trying to prevent you from some heartache, even, when I recommended the AMD rig in the first place. FM2 platform boards have 6 or 8 drive ports, and support RAID no problem.
     
  17. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,053 (6.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,270
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    No one said get a NAS, everyone just said thats a stupid idea, and not worth it. "You just need more storage, not a server."

    Right you asked me, why, and then you never said anything about the board not supporting RAID. You never specified the reason why to not get the board, and why not to get the Reds.
     
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I told you to get a NAS. you said you wanted to run VMs, so I shut my mouth.


    :toast:

    Again, a singular voice out there..and you listened to the masses.

    :roll:

    Lesson learned.

    And to those reading that think I'm being a bit hard on Phenom here(someone loves you, phenom!:p), he and I spend on average about 4 hours a day talking to each other, and I kinda consider us having a good friendship, so I'm just being honest here.

    Nah, I told you to research. No big deal. Word for word.. I told you "look it says this on the website...go and check it out". You clearly only heard what you wanted to hear.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2013
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,131 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,657
    Dave said to get a NAS man.

    Edit: beat me to it.

    You know I love ya Phenom. But this conversation I remember man. I took note because I need to get a NAS and was listening carefully.
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Truly though, for the cost, a decent NAS is going to cost what that hardware did, so no big deal. He said he wanted to play with VMs and remoting in...and then I told him he's not going to have as easy of a time as he thinks...and he sluffed it off.

    Meh.


    You'll be fine, but you are going to have to re-work your idea of what you're doing a little bit..or not...Just run software RAID.

    FYI, other than what I mentioned, I don't actually think RED drives are any different physically than Green drives. Just no parking, and no error correction. They get their faster speeds from the lack of parking. It'll be interesting to see some performance form those RED drives on SATA 3 Gb/s, too. They'll do 120 MB/sec in SATA 6 Gb/s, but so do the green drives, in my testing. Green drops to 102 in SATA 3 Gb/s..which I thought was weird.
     
  21. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,791 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    I'm pretty sure that honorable distinction should remain with Ducky:)
     
  22. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,781 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,342
    [​IMG]
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have a AMD system I would trade you for that Intel, It supports hardware raid and is mATX. Just a thought.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,029 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,094
    Where are you getting that the Red drives don't have any error correction? That is simply not true. The Red drives have TLER enabled, a feature that used to be on pretty much all desktop drives. The drive can still handle error correction on its own, however TLER limits the amount of time it will leave the controller waiting for a response. Drives without TLER will not send a response to a command until after the error recovery is completed, if the RAID controller has to wait too long it will mark the drive as bad and drop it from the array. TLER forces the time that the drive waits to send a response to a much shorter time, so the drive will respond to the RAID controller informing it that there was an error. The controller can then issue the drive a command on how to handle the error correction, but if no command is issued the drive will handle the error correction(remap the bad sector) on its own. There is no lack of error correction on a drive with TLER enabled, TLER was a standard feature in desktop drives for years until WD got greeding and disabled it(and eventually removed it entirely) on their desktop drives to stop people from buying the cheaper drives for RAID arrays.

    Unfortunately, no. Though you can pick up a cheap stand-alone RAID controller to set up a hardware RAID if you want.

    Something like this: HighPoint RocketRAID 620 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 SATA I...

    Mind you, the SATA 6.0Gb/s ports aren't really important since the mechanical drives won't even come close to using the bandwidth SATA 3.0Gb/s provides, but the card is so cheap it is a nice bonus to have SATA 6.0Gb/s ports.

    120MB/s isn't even enough to saturate a SATA 1.5Gb/s connection...
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,049 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,205
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    That's not what WD told me, but it seems your are quite correct. Poor phone support. :p Anandtech has a good review.

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/6157/...eview-are-nasoptimized-hdds-worth-the-premium

     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page