1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,786 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    I can reach 3.5 with about 1.4V, but I idle at 42C. My house was kinda hot last night though, I'll try again right now.
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Keep us posted.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,786 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    I'm at 3.6ghz and 1.42V but I'm idling at 40C I'm full loading at 71C now and my pc restarts (like I pressed the restart button) with no BSOD
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Those temps are really high man. Can't let it get that high, that can be why you need soo much voltage too. More heat + more voltage needed, viscous cycle.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,786 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    It's weird I've never reached these temps with my 925, and I used more voltage with it. I'm thinking I drop it down to 3.2ghz and 1.3V till I get my Ic diamond
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @Kevin
    Hit me up. May have something for you.
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  7. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,786 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    ygpm :)
  8. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,616 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,278
    anyone have anymore input on catnipkiller's issue?
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Really don't have an idea. So to get it right, every time he makes a DRAM voltage adjustment no matter what it is, it won't POST?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,246 (10.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,883
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    WOW that is high! My athlon x4 doesn't go over like 42 @ 1.45V 3.5ghz
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,772 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Cool CP! Hey man can I kiss Flow?
  12. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    So so sorry I couldn't help yah dude.:ohwell: Was going to send a cooler at close to near cost of shipping alone but due to being in CA for PERSONAL CHOICE, I won't do it. Sorry man.
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,423 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    i think thats poor design on your board right there. Asus doesnt even need to be jumped. even my old gen board automatically resets if it cant post.


    definitely overheating. are you using the stock cooler?
  14. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,786 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,078
    Nope I'm using a CNPS 9000, that was with the fans on max. I really think It's the shitty thermal paste I'm using. For my sisters rig I have a stock AMD cooler, with a Delta fan going full blast and it's idling at 22C and I'm only using the stuff that comes with CM heatsinks.
    Ahh, well thanks anyway.
  15. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,664 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    355
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Sounds like you need to apply some real thermal paste. ;)
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,423 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    get the CM cheap white one.
  17. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    Hey guys, quick question off-topic: how much faster a FX4100 would be compared to my athlon? Both oc'ed and not. Thanks in advance.
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Don't have experience with the 4100 but I suppose it should be considerably faster.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    FX4100 is quite a bit faster when comparing stock clocks. Overclock both to same core speed the Athlon would only be a hair faster BUT here's the kicker, the FX4100 overclocks ALOT better then the Athlon part. Where the Athlon can only get to 3.8-4Ghz the fx4100 could potentially get to 4.2-4.4Ghz.

    Worth switching? No, go with a 960T.
    anoobarak and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  20. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (12.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,224
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Jr has spoken! :respect:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,423 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    FX4100 is worse than an APU
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Most of the Phenom II lineup performs worse than an APU counterpart.
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,616 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,278
    Its expected newer arch n ram controller. Just no performance chip yet...
  24. anoobarak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    102 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Euroland
    So is my athlon worth switching to an 960t ? I'm seriously considering it as it could potentialy be unlocked to a thuban. One's sold in my country are BE versions so even easier overclocking for me.
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,423 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,909
    yes.
    anoobarak says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page