1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The AMD Phenom II OC'ers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Its at stock speed though, is the thing. I'm gonna tell him to clear cmos.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    HTPC Question; More cores or faster cores? Right now battling between the idea of a 555 Black @ x2 3.8Ghz or x4 @ 3.2Ghz? Trying to keep the vcore near stock or undervolted due to heat.

    What you guys think? The PC does get used but barely and I very rarely ever have to encode on it.
     
  3. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,898 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    I would say save your money and overclock that dual core.
     
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,627 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,504
    Who me? :laugh:

    What are you using the HTPC for gaming, other, etc...?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Hi Kevin!!! The x2 unlocks just fine to x4. Still keep it to a faster x2?

    LOL@Norton

    It's basically an all around use rig but mainly to watch AVI's and Win MCE.

    edit

    WELCOME BACK NORTON & KEVIN!!! XD
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
    Norton and Sir B. Fannybottom say thanks.
  6. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,898 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    If it's just for movies I would say keep it a dual core and have it cool and quiet and when you need the extra boost you could load up a bios setting of it at 3.8ghz and use it like that

    EDIT: I never left :)
     
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,627 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,504
    Probably more cores- thanks to it being an unlockable 555, you have the options

    i.e. should I buy a 2 core or a 4 core... BOGO courtesy of AMD :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    LOL @ never left

    Well hey I just did a 3dm06 run on it and CPU sensor shows 55C on stock @ x4 3.2Ghz. GPU shows 46C. Guess I will keep it there and start working on undervolting. But more thought into this, with very little ram in that machine, I probably wont make use of the extra cores since I cant multitask on it much....

    Hmmmm

    Oh also here's my 3dm06 results

    [​IMG]

    Not too too bad for a 720p gamer. just a touch slower than the wifes power hungry 3870. But that's also stock clocks with CPU @ X4 3.2Ghz.
    Here's the temps
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  9. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    4.5ghz@1.648v

    [​IMG]

    with very sweet temperature see at attached file
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  10. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,898 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    those are some low temps for a HTPC, yeah I would say keep it at a quad core then, even oc it a bit

    Beaast! What kid of cooling you got on that? A 360 rad?
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  11. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    It's a modified H50 loopy with push and pull

    HERE:
    [​IMG]
     
    Norton and Sir B. Fannybottom say thanks.
  12. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,898 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
  13. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,627 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,504
    Nice!

    and you were ticked cuz it wouldn't unlock to 6 core:laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    Yeah it wouldn't unlock. So upset!
     
  15. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    Want to see the water running very well on those tubes.
     
  16. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,898 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    ahh kk what's your full load like?
     
  17. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    38-40 full load on prime95, this chip is very cool rather than my previous fx-4100.
     
  18. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,898 (2.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,176
    ... Your full load is me watching youtube... Wanna switch? :D
     
  19. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    That voltages made my chip stable, amd can handled that voltages, i've been searched about the highest voltages for my chip, i'm not worrying. Happy now.
     
  21. Irony

    Irony

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,721 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Outer Rim system of the interwebz
    I've run mine at 1.65 before, for benching at higher clocks. But not for 24/7; I didn't want to risk it with safe voltage for thubans at 1.55.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Yea 24/7 don't keep it above 1.55 man, back it down for everyday use
     
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    @huskie, while your voltage is scary for 24/7, the clock speed makes me happy. :respect:
     
  24. HUSKIE

    HUSKIE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    730 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    143
    Location:
    Unayted Kingdam
    I'm not using 24/7 because i have job 12hrs straight. That's good for my pc.
     
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    So you turn it off? Or does it downclock/undervolt when not in use?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page