1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The Official Sandy Bridge-E Overclocking thread

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by qubit, Oct 26, 2011.

  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
  2. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    good idea!im new at it so got nothing to offer but heaps to read/learn from such tips.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,812
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    New Memory?


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2011
  4. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    859 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    697
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,812
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    9-10-11-28 2133 MHz @ 1.65v is on the stickers.

    XMP on 1155 sets 9-10-9-27 @ 1866MHz, 1.5v. Works just fine with all 4 sticks and default CPU voltages(1.05v on IMC). My kit may not reflect retail specs and such. Not sure if anyone else has these yet.;)

    I'll have 2011 numbers as time permits. Not sure on when the platform launches, maybe January, I dunno, but we did get a lot of board annoucements today, so perhaps sooner? I am not sure... I'll do a proper review in the coming months when I get the rest of the parts...jsut be aware that G.Skill has a specialized line for SKT2011, as you can see.
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    @cadaveca

    So are you saying that you actually have an SB-E system in for testing? If so, I'm soooo jealous! :eek: qubit wears his best green-with-envy face

    Can you give us any model numbers or anything?
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,812
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No, I do not have CPUs or boards...yet. Some boards will be no problem to get(obviously), but like with SKT1155, I do expect to not have a CPU until after launch, and I'll have to buy my own like I did with 1155, and still have to do with AM3+. I had 1155 boards at least a month before that launch, and hope to get a CPU direct from Intel, but that's just a hope at this point. I'll need an unlocked chip, and that's not going to come very cheaply is I have to buy my own.


    However, I do expect to have board reviews either at launch, or shortly after. I am working towards making that a possibility, including updating my benchmarks; the ram is but one small part.

    I mean, after all, it's just ram, and the only thing really special about it is the binning of 4 stock together, and SPD/XMP profile for X79, as there are only so many memory IC's available on the market today. There's nothing really "fancy" under the hood, that i can tell so far.
    qubit says thanks.
  8. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    859 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    697
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    This was posted by HWBot on Facebook, Sandy Bridge-E is looking like a beast!

    [​IMG]
    mediasorcerer and qubit say thanks.
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,526 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,922
    Anyone have an idea of what the prices of the CPU's/Motherboards will be with SB-E?
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,812
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Sure do. Would rather wait and see what retailers do though. FX-8150 ain't no $245.
  11. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,223 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,450
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    Is it relevant that the date on the 3DMark score is 2005? Not trolling, curious as to why the date would be so wrong, seeing as other indicators such as forceware drivers indicate date proximity.
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,812
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Newly cleared BIOS, time not set?
  13. the54thvoid

    the54thvoid

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,223 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,450
    Location:
    Glasgow - home of formal profanity
    I figured it's not a big issue.

    Would a cleared bios reset to the board's manufacture date? In which case it needs to be a socket 2011 board which surely wouldn't be from 2005 (it'd be a UEFI bios surely as well.)

    Meh, I'll wait for concrete reviews. I've set money aside for IB but I'm being swayed toward SB-E again.... It's been a while since I've been so eager on a tech review.
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,812
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It depends. Some reset to the earliest available, while others reset to the date the BIOS was made.

    I cannot comment to performance...I do not have a CPU yet.
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    My Crosshair III Formula from 2009 defaults to 2002 when the BIOS is cleared. :slap:
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    I don't either and the suspense is killing me. :cry:

    I googled for SB-E overclocking, but there's no prerelease goodies out there just yet. :ohwell:

    EDIT

    Tell a lie, here's some prices:

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4626/info-on-sandy-bridgee-pricing
  17. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    2500 MHz, 4 sticks, and cas 7? Impressive. I could finally let my sector 5s stretch their legs... it's just too bad it doesn't do squat outside of benchmarks.
  18. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Subbed, I'm looking forward to upgrading to SB-E as I skipped 1155 for obvious reasons :)
    My old Rampage 2 Extreme is still rocking but it's time for the Rampage 4 to take the throne in my case!
  19. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    859 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    697
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
  20. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
  21. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Checked with a local computer hardware store. They said they would have this stuff in stock next week! :D

    But they didn't want to confirm price ranges :ohwell:
  22. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,028 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,139
    Keep us posted. Some of us live far away from the high-tech highway :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  23. MetalRacer

    MetalRacer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    859 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    697
    Location:
    The Lone Star State
    Microcenter prices are looking a little high.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    KieX says thanks.
  24. johnnyfiive

    johnnyfiive

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    876
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    At least they have them already, that's awesome.
  25. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,504 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Nobody take the plunge yet?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page