1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

?

Is an independant Scotland going to be bad for the remainder of the Un-United Kingdom?

Poll closed Saturday at 6:55 PM.
  1. Yes without a doubt it would have serious social/economic repercussions

    37.5%
  2. Yes but only a marginal effect

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No not at all but would prefer we remain intact anyway

    25.0%
  4. No not at all, they can do whatever they want, we will be better off without them

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Does anyone outside of Scotland really care anyway?

    37.5%
  1. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,648 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,490
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I have more parts than I can shake a stick at, my cupboards are full, really should get into the habit of selling stuff before I actually buy the replacements. :laugh:
     
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    no, you should become a collector, or make a Table out of the PCBs :laugh:
     
  3. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I'm looking for some Christmas time upgrades for me and a mate if you ever venture into the cupboard :laugh: I have a bits cupboard but it doesn't get entered much lately, mostly because I'll get lost or trapped under piles of broken mobo's... I am a victim of hoarding :(
     
  4. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,648 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,490
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Mainly DDR3 memory, hard drives, an occasionally working HD6950/6970, PSU's, Optical drives, fan controllers etc etc
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  5. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Tatty, make a thread...
     
    KieX, scaminatrix and Bo$$ say thanks.
  6. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    I love HDD's and PSU's lol looking for a quad core upgrade for a mate too (mobo + CPU, preferably DDR3) but I'll stick a thread up when he gives me the money. I shall be PM'ing you when I get some moneys Tatty :)
     
  7. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    I really want to get some spare HDDs going. I have 5 (+1 SSD Rack) slots in this FT02. One of the slots is a hotswap, so that stays empty. Otherwise it's:

    SSD Rack: Corsair Nova II 60GB
    HDD Slot 1: Hot-swap bay
    HDD Slot 2: Western Digital Green 2TB

    Then i want:

    HDD Slot 3: 250/320GB HDD with Windows 8 Beta
    HDD Slot 4: 250/320GB HDD with Linux Mint 12
    HDD Slot 5: 500/750GB HDD for games
     
  8. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    With current HDD prices why don't you go down the VM route instead?
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,648 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,490
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Can't be arsed to be honest, maybe over Xmas hols when I have some time :eek:
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,736 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,292
    bleh, Just checked on whats going on with my RMA.

    They are sending me back another F1 750GB:cry::cry::cry: I was soooooo hoping they would send me back an F3.

    No worries anyway I now have that 750GB samsung and 1 WD 640GB to put in. :toast:


    secondly....would anyone here pay £20 for a case fan? :laugh:
     
  11. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Naw, i'm not looking to actually buy any. Just my dream at the moment :p

    So, so lazy. Send it all up to me, i might sell it for you ;)

    No. Noone sane would.
     
  12. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    Not on a single fan. Although I just spent £55 on a few of those rather nice Enermax Batwing fans with the aluminium side:

    [​IMG]

    The stock fans of this Fractal Design case are rather loud and ugly.:rolleyes:
     
  13. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,736 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,292
    well I was thinking of replacing the 1850 GT's on my Antec 902 with some of the faster 3000rpm models - they are something like £20 per fan and thats not even including postage!!
     
  14. KieX

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,408 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,461
    Location:
    London, UK
    I got one of the 4260 models, absolute beast. Bought it for fun and then never used it because it's so loud. :laugh:

    If you want it PM me an offer.
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,736 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,292
    well I was looking to pair 2 of them together, but if i did that it might overload the fan controller im using
     
  16. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Right off to work guys, sorting your letters out. Back at 6am
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  17. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    My new surround sound system arrived today

    and it's amazing!!!
     
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,736 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,292
    what did you get??? It better not be a Logitech Z5500.

    Logitech Need to really update the tech used on that speaker set. the formulas been unchanged since they first launched.

    I know they tried to make a successor, but they have all fallen behind the awesomeness of the Z5500.

    They need to hire Onkyo or Yamaha to make their speakers for them. give the successor to the Z5500 some really nice clarity and soundstage


    ---------

    After fighting with myself all night about what to upgrade. I have resigned myself to the fact that nothing else apart from adding more hard drives needs upgrading and any upgrading would need heaps more money. but more money would also be a waste of money - Switching my 6970s for 590s would be a total waste with this 23" monitor, So that would need to be upgraded to a 27-28" but sitting so close to the screen like that would be retarded
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  19. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    it's an onkyo tx-nr509

    so no, it's not really a Logitech set up is it :laugh:
     
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,736 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,292
    Did you get it as part of a set or just the Amp?
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  21. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    part of a set and luckily the speakers which came with it were actually pretty good
     
  22. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,021 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    z5500 are still expensive. I followed your purchase thread Cheesy, good choice, the satellite speakers that come should be good enough for your needs right now but its good to know later on you can just swap them out. How did the tv work out? Does it passthrough sound for freeview?

    Logitech are just desktop speakers, the x540s i have are good enough for games and that, for the price obviously. Z906 are the highest end logitech speakers right now i think.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  23. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    I never got round to setting up the TV.to return sound , I don't have the cables I need at the moment, I just connected it to the ps3 and watched a few blu-rays and listened to a few CD's
     
    KieranD says thanks.
  24. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,021 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    Sounds good, LOL.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,736 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,292
    I was gonna say the Z5500's are still top of the range. but after checking on the Logitech website, It would seem they have been discontinued infavour of the Z906's.

    many reviews class the Z906's to be a step backwards rather then a step forward and a worthy successor to the Z5500.

    long story short - they could have really improved on the Z5500s - Add a tweeter, add a HDMI input & a better decoder for the new hi-res (DTS-HD and DolbyTrueHD) formats

    but they didnt, all they really did was cut some of the bling and trim some of the fat off the Z5500's, repackaged it and called it the Z906.

    Notable changes are smaller/lighter sub and no LED display for the control pod.

    IMO the control pod was one of the reasons that made the Z5500 that bit much more amazing
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page