1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

The TPU UK Clubhouse

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by mullered07, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. MoonPig

    MoonPig

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    5,729 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    886
    Location:
    Wakefield, UK
    Too high end and too long, haha

    Don't know if they still do, but Qwertee used to do that. Always loved that service.
     
  2. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    What's the cheapest power supply you guy's would put in my rig?

    Quick get finding :p

    My Cooler Master PSU sounds like a ticking time-bomb.... :(

    Only option so far is this which is even more scary.
     
  3. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,188 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    Off the top of my head:http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B009RMP44O/?tag=tec053-21
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,838 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,334
    well... fuck my life,

    Spent about 2hrs changing the coolers over. Plugged it back in and nothing comes on screen. so i put the untouched card and hooked it up to my monitor with the modded card down at the bottom. load windows up and check device manager and there is only one 6970 showing up. There is nothing that I can do to make the other 6970 show up.

    This is fucking horrific. I spent £100 on coolers to solve a problem but now im too scared to mount the remaining card unless my bad luck kills it off too...

    why does my life have to always be followed by a black cloud ready to shit on me at first opportunity

    :shadedshu:shadedshu:shadedshu

    Guess I'll get a GTX 680 on credit...
     
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Same lol slightly odd but meh :laugh:
     
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,314 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    My card is rattling so I'm worried if i should RMA the fucker :laugh:
    I love this thing :eek:
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,188 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    Right, have you taken a better look at your dead card yet? Maybe you missed something
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,838 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,334
    TIL - If you can RMA it, then do it. its not worth dicking around with the card.

    I have no idea why my 6970 didnt work after i mounted the new cooler. Ive mounted at least 10 or 20 GPU coolers and this time was no different other then me taking a long time to find out which mounting holes on the cooler fitted the 6970 cuz the bloody instructions didnt tell me.

    mounted it with the usual care i take - plugged it back in, powered it up, was never detected by windows again - nothing comes on screen either.

    I attached one of my replacement fans that I bought off ebay for a laugh - the fan spins up so i know its not completely dead.

    TBH I wouldnt put it past XFX to install some sort of system that prevents the card from booting up if you swap out the stock reference cooler with something else. Ive heard rumours of them doing this - There is something about the stock cooler that it needs to make the card work but i dont know.

    Im done messing about with aftermarket coolers anyway - its really not worth the risk, id rather just pay for a card that comes with a decent cooler like a MSI's Twin FrozR and be done with it.


    Im still tempted to contact XFX support for a laugh and see if they will RMA but ive already removed the stock cooler and its long out of warranty. I bet they'd send it back as soon as they see its been 'tampered' with, I know they can be right bastards when it comes to RMA's
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,838 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,334
    Ive been looking at it for the last 3 hours. tried different PCI-E slots, different PCI-E power cables, Different DVI cables. anything short of replacing the stock cooler which i cant do as the ramsinks are glued on with thermal glue that comes with the Alpenföhn Peter and even if i did managed to get them off - Ive pretty much dumped the original thermal pads and stuff that goes on the ram and VRMs.

    I dont think there is any way to save it. Id give it CPR but Im sure AC MX-4 is not suitable for human consumption.
     
  10. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Fixed half the issue with the PSU of mine, turns out wires had come loose and caught in the fan. I'm hoping Cooler Master will help me out with the rest though even though it's been modded. :/

    My cousin is after a 570 direct cu water block, you guy's know anywhere that still sell them?
     
  11. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,314 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    EK have a nice one http://www.thewatercoolingshop.co.uk/ek-fc5x0-gtx-gw-plexi-3831109855638.html
     
    Techtu says thanks.
  12. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Thanks, I'll see what he thinks to it.
     
  13. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    Cooler Master have earned themselves (from now on) a very loyal fan indeed! They are allowing me to RMA this PSU I brought second hand and also been modded, as it has some strange noise issue's I suspect it's just the fan but nonetheless they are doing something about it! :rockout:
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Millennium

    Millennium New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    610 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    London, UK
    nice one them!
     
  15. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Fingers crossed they don't charge you once they have it.
     
  16. Techtu

    Techtu

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,143 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    Location:
    In the night garden
    That's what I thought but from the conversation I've been having with one of the team it won't cost a thing as the fault (noisy fan) is through no fault of the user or mod and still under warranty, so I'm holding them to that. :D

    Your also probably wondering why I don't just replace the fan myself, well that would be down to the fan on the PSU being 135mm with oddly placed screw holes and being soldered to the PCB, Cooler Master even gave me the go ahead to check if it was actually soldered or not without voiding the warranty (this is before they knew it had been modded).
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,838 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,334
    does £120 for a secondhand 6970 sound good?

    I need to sell mine but im not sure for how much lol
     
  18. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Hi guys, long time no see. :p
     
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,314 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    hey there :)
     
  20. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Sweet.

    :rockout:
     
  21. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,188 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    A good starting price I think.

    So who is willing to live under the bridge for a month to be able to afford a Titan? :p
     
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Not me, i just use a little laptop now, cba with all that anymore. Too much money, too much time, i'm still interested in it, but i'm not spending all my time and money on it no more.
     
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,838 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,334
    get a badass £3000 gaming laptop!!
     
  24. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    I wish I had £3k to blow on a mega lappy, but if I had £3k I would probs spend it on a motorbike tbh.
     
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,838 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,334
    OoOOoO I like motorbikes too!

    I want an oldskool Kawasaki ZxR 400-750cc or a Triumph Daytona. Ducati's are nice too so long as their the oldskool models
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page