1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    [​IMG]
  2. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    Im just getting FAHMon to calculate my PPD on the 3850, what did you say yours was?

    I figure we have roughly the same setup
  3. driver66

    driver66 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,046 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    indiana
    Yes my CPU usage is usually 3-5% when i run my 8800
  4. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    My 3850 is claiming 1410ppd so I'm not worried about it. I'm just trying to figure out how to get the maximum out of my CPU. Let me know what your CPU ppd and GPU ppds are though, our systems are very similar.
  5. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,652 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Wahoo

    Put arm over shoulder, pat.

    Our team is averaging just shy of 242,000 PPD! That makes us the 47th team in productivity.:toast:
    More than 25k PPD
  6. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    @ Thermo here is a pic of my Resource Monitor and I have 4x FahCore_a1.exe running on mine.

    [​IMG]

    You should have the same with yours, mine is a dual core Opty at 2.8 and it gets 400~500PPD so you should be getting more with your setup.
  7. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,305 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I get 900-1100 PPD on my E8500, exact same settings minus the -verbosity 9 flags. However as Oily points out, you should have 4 of the FahCore_a1.exe running, not just 2. Not sure why it'd only have 2 going. I'll let you know what my research turns up.
  8. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Unfortunately there has been a downward trend in production this month, it was a higher at the beginning. That being said it's still really great. I'm going to fire up my folding programs for the rest of the month for the push to the top 100 even though my roommates don't like me doing it because it increases the electric bill.
  9. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,685 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I did have that many last night when I was using [-smp 2], but I thought maybe that was to many processes so I just used [-smp] instead. That being said, when I had that many running I still only accomplished 4% in 7hrs so I thought I would try it this way.
  10. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    Right i have the 3850 and MPICH SMP with -SMP flag set up. Will give it a fair few hours (while i go to work) so it can calculate the PPD.
  11. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    I have the flag set up like this, without the 2.Maybe you could delete the core and work unit from the folder and then start it up again and see if it kicks all four into life again.

  12. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,652 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Maybe people folding for Stephanie?
    More than 25k PPD
  13. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,652 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188

    My A64 4000+ at stock speeds (2.4GHz) is currently cranking out 509 PPD on a 401 PT WU. Sure seems like your dual core, at 400MHz more, should be doing better than it is.
    More than 25k PPD
  14. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    how long before i have any stats? i just started 2 hours ago on cpu and gpu.

    i7 920 @ 3.8ghz & gtx295 @ stock

    how fast will this fold?
  15. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,377 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Depending on the clocks on the card, should be fast. My 260's do a WU in about 2 hours, don't have the CPU folding.
  16. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    10k-12k PPD for the 295 iirc. Not sure on the CPU but I'm guessing 3-5k. Get F@hmon going and see what PPD you're getting.
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    so 2 295's + i7 would do ~25k ppd?

    295 is getting REALLY HOT!
  18. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,377 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Yea, the cards get insanely hot while folding. I can't run the same OC I use for benching or gaming when folding.
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    where do i go to view my stats? the stanford site doesnt seem to update very often.
  20. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,305
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Holy Crap, is Fitseries3 folding?:laugh:
    Thanks for helping man. The I7 has been estimated to do 5k ppd on all cores. With a GPU running, you can only use 3, saving one core for the GPU's. You will to disable Sli and fold a separate client on each of the 295's cores. I can help you set it up if you would like. Are you game?
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    idk... if its not super easy then no. i change my setup alot so it may not be ideal to keep changing it all the time. im not running this all the time either. i dont have the $$$ to pay for the electricity this machine uses.
  22. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,377 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    [​IMG]

    Do all those #s for PPD and speeds of my card add up? Considering that Buck has a 3870x2 capable of 10k PPD, I'm surprised that what is a much better card does worse. :confused: Also, I leave the tri sli bridge on since I just turn sli off after gaming when I start folding, is that bad?
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2009
  23. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,652 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Get FAHMON going and then click on your name.
    More than 25k PPD
  24. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    There we go Thermo, that is all at stock as well

    Attached Files:

  25. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,305
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    I have all Nvidia GPU's in my farm(20 to be exact). My best cards are 9800GTX+ and are averaging 6032 on 384 pt WU. Those are decent numbers for your 260's. Do you have them overclocked? I don't see a problem with leaving the Sli bridge on during folding. With Sli disabled the bridge is not active.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page