1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,298 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,183
    Yes, sometimes the servers are just really busy.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    One other quick question.

    If your internet connection is unavailable when the WU finishes, will the program continue to retry access, or will it die and lose the WU.

    The reason I ask is my home rig is on dial-up (yeah, I know. I live in the sticks), and it is our only phone line. I cannot guarantee that the connection will be available when the WU finishes. (especially if it finishes while I am at work or something).
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2007
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    I wish I understood this..lol..
     
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,298 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,183
    It loads the results into the cue untill the next opportunity comes along to send it.


    And the only possible way for a WU to "die" is for it to be past the deadline, and that is not very likely as they are generous, or if it is a early finish unit that has become corrupted.


    Of their servers some are for sending, some for receiving, and some for processing the results, however I believe they are running their systems to the full all the time, based on my past experience.


    And I have alot of machines running, and been doing this for awhile, this is my second team, and hopefully the last team I fold for.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Thanks for the info Steevo, I will again resume folding on my home rig.

    I found some interesting things. When running the SMP client, all four cores peg at 100%.
    When running the non-SMP core, but setting the CPU utilization to 100%, it splits the load over the cores so each core is running at approx. 25%. This is the same on the Pentium D I am running at work which uses 50% usage on each core.

    Using the non-SMP core, I am pumping about 50000 steps (out of 5 million) about ever 12 minutes. If I remember correctly, the SMP core was pushing 50K in about 8 minutes. (on home rig)

    I think I will keep using the regular core as it's getting a bit warm here in Cheeseland and the wife doesn't want to turn on the air conditioner yet. ;)

    My cores are running about 20C over idle when folding. (hottest core at about 62c)

    When Thermalright comes out with their 120 Extreme or the IFX-14 (or whatever it is called) I will see if I can get some lower temps with a better cooler.

    I am glad to see people are still folding to help medical science.
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2007
  6. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I just put what was the better option LoL, cant remember what I put exactly? I might try and set it up again and see if that makes a difference, cant be lagging behind in the wu's for long or you will catch me up :laugh:
     
  7. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I will try and work it out, see if ive done something wrong, thanks for the info :toast:
     
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Keep up the feedback, I will return to the SMP core to help you troubleshoot if need be.

    It cooled off tonight so I bumped up to 3.03GHz.
    Temps are about the same, but not seeing a real boost in frame processing speed.
    (maybe about a minute or so better)
    I may need to go back to SMP core to see a real boost.

    Stupid ticks are horrible this year in WI. Had to stop writing to pull one off me. :banghead:
     
  9. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Running tonight at 3.104 GHz.
    Using SMP A1 core. All 4 processor cores at 100%.
    Hottest processor core at 71c.
    Turned fan speed on GPUs to 75% in 2D mode just to get heat out of case.

    No one probably cares, but I'm having fun :)

    Keep folding my friends ....
     
  10. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Lucky bugger, I cant seem to get the smp working still :(

    It is kinda fun doing it for the good of mankind and when they find cures we can be proud that we contributed something :toast:
     
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,298 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,183
    I finished two GPU clients, however I cut my phone line at home last night while grading my yard with a skidsteer, so it couldn't send it and no net till I run a new phone line. :(


    But at least my yard is almost ready to plant. :) 6:00-9:30 in the skidsteer and I feel like someone has beaten me.



    I care, I just wish I had that much power working in my home PC. That would be sweet. For now I must be happy with my 4000+.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Did you try deleting it and re-downloading it? Maybe it got corrupted on the way in.
     
  13. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I had to back off a little (down to 2.7GHz) as it's a bit warm this evening in Cheeseland.
    I don't want the system to do a thermal shutdown or throttling while I'm folding ;)

    The SMP core will continue where it left off with a stopped WU. I thought the FAQ said that it would not do this, so they must have updated that in one of the later betas.

    @Steevo ... How intrusive to users is the Fah-Core when running as an Idle-set process. I was just wondering as, like you, I am a Network Admin and could potentially bring about 40 more systems online folding. I have one running on my machine at work and I notice some delays when doing little things ... like compiling code projects.
    Thanks for any info you can supply.
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,930 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,025
    I'm not steevo, but I can say that for the most part it is pretty unnoticeable to users. Anything that needs the CPU to not be sluggish will have a higher priority and use the CPU over FAH.

    There are rare cases where something is set to a low priority(compilers can do this sometimes) and FAH will cause sluggishness sometimes, but nothing a normal user should notice.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  15. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Thanks for the response newtekie.
    I remebered after I posted that I had set the core priority to high on my machine at work. DOH! :banghead:

    I think I will talk to the president of the company soon to see if I can get his blessings to put our computers to good work on the off hours.

    Has anyone seen any issues with folding when things like automatic virus scanning kick in on the off hours ?
     
  16. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,298 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,183
    Depends on system load.


    I can manage it but on a few machines that don't have at least 512 of RAM I won't put it on, and laptops that are actually taken out of the place are not to good to run the client.



    I have a flock of mostly P4 2.4's with a few better performers. The latter half that actually do the folding work for me are the ones I built, 3.0Ghz of better with a Gig of ram. Only three of the 2.4's actually fold due to lack of resources during the day.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,930 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,025
    I wish I had your folding power steevo. I would put it on some of the computers I manage at work, but I got pissed at a few users and decided to completely remove internet access from every single computer excpet mine and my boss'. Soon they will learn to not call their System/Network Admin "the bottom of the totum pole".
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  18. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,298 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,183
    My peeps have learned.



    I just get the content filter back going again, and forward some of their e-mail to the boss for a few days. They get hot around the collar and are really nice to meh. :)
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,930 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,025
    I swear, they are like kids. Sometimes the only way to get their attention is to take their toys away.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  20. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    i just started folding with my 1950xt lets see just how fast this thing can really fold i don't believe it makes it 10x faster then usual but i don't really know much about F@H as i just started today

    running the console fah 5.19 beta 3 for ATi atm Batou1986 tpu team :rockout:

    lol my gpu is peaking at 71* so its doing something

    wtf happend to post count i know i had more than 421
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  21. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Welcome to the team Batou !
    Let us know your approximate times and WU sizes when you get a few done.
    I would like to know a little more about GPU folding.

    I could use my pair, but I think you have to take them out of crossfire mode to do it.
    Not sure I want to be switching back and forth all the time when foldng or gaming.

    The post counts got mesed up a couple of days ago. Some forum admin goofup I think.

    @Steevo & Newtekie : LOL .. The people in our plant don't give me any grief. Living out in
    the sticks helps as many of the people have been there for many years and we're all pretty
    close friends. Is someone gets a little insistant about interrupting what I am currently
    working on, to handle their request, I tell them, "I'll put it on the whiteboard".
    Which they know means it may not happen in their lifetimes. :D
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  22. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    On another note, the problem I have at home is that using the SMP client the core downloads very large WUs and it takes about three hours to send the results on dial-up.

    Grumble ...
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2007
  23. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,454 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
  24. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Nine hours is fast. How big was the Work Unit?

    My system at 3.1GHz was running though 50,000 steps in under 7 minutes (on a 500K WU).
    So approximately 11 hours for the whole WU.

    When I backed it off to 2.7GHz it was taking a little over 8 minutes for the same amount.
     
  25. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page