1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    Yeah, and you are creeping up on me. Gonna have to get more serious about the SMP client and systems. :D
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,714 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    I wish the SMP client worked reliably as a service, my x2 4400+ can't use it because the service function doesn't work.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I dont believe it, just got back in and cranked comp up and started F@H SMP client, I was upto 46% before I went out and now it has started all over again from the start? That took a good 8 hours of folding :(

    Has this happened to anyone else before?
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    You will probably need to up your core voltage, mine did the same at 3.2Ghz stable for a week of folding then it needed more. Strange.
    oily_17 and Alcpone say thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Upped a notch, all good so far and its actually doing a percentage faster now :)
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,714 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    Hmm, I was having the same problem on my 805 machine. I was at 67% then I closed the client for a second, and restarted the client and it started back at 2%. I'll have to try upping my core voltage.

    Steevo, your slipping away from me, looks like it is time to get rid of that 805 and replace it with a E4300. And I just upgraded that machine too...
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    I still have a couple up my sleeve. :D All in good fun though, and for a good cause.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  8. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Im gonna keep up with dom the best I can, I know kreij is a techie and he has numerous rigs he can put it on so thats a no no lol

    I dont want dom to get away as he cleverly forgot to help me get SMP going on my rig for his own personal gains... gowd dam you dom lol j/k
  9. insider Guest

    Should look something like this after everything on the front side of the PCB is sinked:
    [​IMG]

    The mosfets do get hot, this increases the heat on the entire PCB itself, in turn further increasing the temps on the GPU/memory chips a bit.

    I used much smaller sinks for the mosfets (they were tiny copper DDR1 ramsinks) from the ones pictures above, the 2 vregs had bigger square sinks on them.
  10. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Nice pic ^^^LOL

    Just made #8.

    Thanks for the tip on upping the voltage in SMP client,Steevo :toast:

    I was also getting some bugs with it,will give the voltage a try and see what happens.
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :laugh: Well I was messing with my mem tim and Im thinking one of the sticks is bad or doesnt like 4-4-4-12 @ 1000Mhz cuz thats what I been doing for the past days cuz It wouldnt boot and I had to leave it off and when I got on you weren't on messanger and I saw Steevo was helping you

    So is kreij using smp ? I dont think he is cuz I caught up to him

    What speed are you folding with specs. so how much mins does it take you to finish each %
  12. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Yeah thats a good excuse lol j/k

    I think he is you know and he is adding rigs all the time, he will tell you for sure though :)

    As for speed and time's im afraid thats classified information and if I told you your comp would blow up in 10 seconds, ok ok I will tell you lol

    Ive knocked down to 3.29Ghz/470FSB @ 1,355v and I do a % in 13 mins :)
  13. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    I average 4.13% per hour while using my work system. I have figured I use 4 hours of CPU useage during a 9 or 10 hour day.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Im getting like 16 mins+ per % :confused:

    Does how many Processes running in Win Task Manager matter ?
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    Should be 4.


    Different work units process faster. I am getting WU's with a four day max turnaround time.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I meant the total processes ;)

    And I been using smp for over a week and they all only been 24hrs.+/- to finish each one and thay all been in the 15-17 mins per %
  17. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Im doing my 2nd SMP work unit now, each percentage is taking 18mins, so its like steevo says it varies, got me 1760 points for my first unit though :D
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,714 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    Damn, had a power outage this weekend and half my machines at work didn't get turned back on and I don't feel like driving all the way into work to turn them on...
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Ive had my system off since last night because I was at my girlfriends, so im behind 28 hours or so with my folding, I have to keep up with dom :)
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Team Ranking (incl. aggregate) 552 of 71681 :toast: keep folding guys

    Im catching up to you KennyT772 :D
  21. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Your doing well Dom :toast:

    I just haven't got the power to keep up with your clock! When folding interferes with your hardcore gaming you've got to sit down and ask yourself the question? Is the rig for folding or gaming, ive decided gaming :)
  22. acousticlemur

    acousticlemur New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    675 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Michigan, US
    ok, im in too, how long should it take me to do a WU judging by my specs?
  23. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Welcome to the team:toast:

    My 3200+ takes 1-2 days for each WU,I just let it fold away all the time.
    Doesn't matter how long it takes,every bit helps.:)
    acousticlemur says thanks.
  24. nflesher87

    nflesher87 Staff

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,499 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    487
    Location:
    Texas
    my fiance's computer has your proc socket 939 and does them in about 3 days at stock speed and that's at about 75% cpu you should do em in 1.5 I'd say at 100%
    acousticlemur says thanks.
  25. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I'm not running any rigs with SMP at the moment. My quad at home gets too hot with the temps rising outside and I have not had a chance to reseat my HS with new goop yet.

    For some reason the SMP client doesn't work right on my PD 3.0 here at work. I starts up fine but it seems to hand and never gets to the point where it says "Complete 0 out of 200000 steps". I'll have to fiddle around with it some more, you guys are getting too far ahead :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page