1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's F@H Team

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by W2hCYK, Jun 10, 2006.

  1. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    So when I started the F@H I already had afterburner and GPUZ running, then I closed GPUZ and immediately the afterburner software showed 1.65 vcore to my GPU!!!!! I thought it to be a glitch, but then I closed afterburner and reopended it and although it showed 1.350 for voltage on the slider the window showed 1.65, then I closed it and opened GPUZ and it showed the same.


    WTF is up?

    [​IMG]



    Is this for real?
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Have you tried restarting the PC? Possible glitch, don't think it'll just change like that...
     
  3. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    Well I just screwed aroudn with it some more, and the chokes change pitch when it jumps, as well the GPU temp dropped four degrees when I dropped the voltage and the core then ramped them both back to 1.35 and 950Mhz

    Now it is stable at 1.35 except afterburner is showing spikes of 2V and the chokes definitely change when it happens.

    Yep, stressing the card while FAH is running causes a distinct jump to 1.65 volts, I just dropped it to 760 core and 1.3 volts.

    And then it jumps back to 1.65
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    Found the issue. DO NOT RUN TWO VOLTAGE SENSOR AWARE UTILITIES ON THESE CARDS!!!!!!


    For example running GPUz and Afterburner was a no no. Some members at other forums noticed this same issue and actually measured the voltage, yes it was at 1.65 and yes it did spike to two volts for a few ms.


    Might make for awesome overclocking but damages will be done for any length of time in use at that voltage.


    EDIT** And now all my little pixilation is gone from aero at normal speeds again. I wonder if the card is damaged?**

    See the aero edge of GPUz in the screenshot above.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,999 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    P5732 is a GPU2 project. You need to follow (if you haven't already) the instructions in this post to get the V7 client to pick up a core_16 WU which will get you 2-3 times the PPD. http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2248985&postcount=1508 If you've already done this, the client will do a GPU2 WU first before trying to get the core_16 WU.
     
  6. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    :banghead: I most have left one rig with Windows update on. My rigsitter just reported (5 days late) that it had restarted from an update. I should be running on two cylinders from now on unless I will pick up the -bigadv I lost 56 % in (2684), in that case I will get around 3500 PPD on that rig. I really should install some monitoring software. Suggestions?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    It is still running and now processing the new clients OK.

    Project 11294

    P112924 : Test simulations of a single full-length amyloid beta (Abeta) monomer in water at 370K :

    A pathological marker of Alzheimer's disease is the senile plaques composed of Abeta peptides in patient brains. The simulation system is composed of a single full-length Abeta in water. These simulations will serve as a test of force-field usage (ffamber96), system setup and to build up possible Markov states for Abeta monomer, which will serve as great starting points for future oligomerization studies.

    Points and final deadlines:

    project 11294: 1835 points, preferred deadline 6 days, final deadline 10 days

    I am running this at just over 5 hours. ** At 800Mhz core**

    I just upped the core and voltage back to my default 1010Mhz and 1.35 and it is stable and running smooth, the fold time has dropped significantly too, so these should be knocked out sooner.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  8. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,396 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    the man speaks utter sense steevo i couldnt get x16 work for the last 2 months(prob me) and now ive got it sorted my ppd has gone up A lot, I run 950 1250 24/7 for folding fine and its doing 8946.67ppd 1835.00 per WU base credit on this project 11294 (15, 214, 19)

    ive also upped the clocks on my P4 D gt240 bedroom combo to eek out a few more points
    when i get a proper cooler for it instead of the utter ghetobolloxup of a HSF iv thrown together for it(old intel heat sink with random 120 fan fixed fairley oddly above it with pvc tape) il easy get that to 4ghz and it might actually start doin summat:D

    got me to 16 somehow in the foldin pie list:D
     
  9. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    Completed three work units this afternoon. 10K per day for my card at 1044Mhz core.


    Should have done this sooner. Perhaps I will throw this and SMP on three new quad core machines going in to the fleet this week.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  10. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,999 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    Is everyone morning the departure of F150? It's too quiet here.

    M, I don't know which ones work and I know that most of them will crash a system Folding on the GPU, because, well, it's using the GPU as well. Teamviewer might work. LogMeIn? Both of those have free versions. If you spent some time going (remote locations, in a hotel, nothing to do..) through this thread and the FAH assistance thread (Oh joy!) you'd find conversations about this very thing. I just don't recall what some have used.
     
  11. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    The main reason that I didn't install some remote software already was my fear of adding instability and taking away CPU cycles. I have to relay on my rigsitter. Justed ordered a IPAD2 for her, so she owes my rigs some attention.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  12. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Just upgraded another 920 till a i7 970, got it setup with linux and -bigbeta....

    But dont seem to be picking up any -bigbeta work units on any of my rigs :(
     
    thebluebumblebee and mstenholm say thanks.
  13. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    They have been very scarce lately M8, it's a 25% chance that you might get one. I have 2 Linux boxes folding -bigbeta (i7-970 and 2xE5620) and I've only picked up one o far.
     
  14. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Yeah I picked up 2 in a row when I setup my first box...but nothing from then.

    Ahh well, should net me about 60k PPD with the P26** WU's I have been getting lately.
     
  15. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Have one that is dropping tomorrow, we'll see how much that WU is worth:D
     
  16. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Well things have changed, I came into some money, and I will be installing some solar panels on my home, I should be back and folding soon.
     
  17. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,999 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    Don't you think it would have less of an impact than your rigs sitting for days at a time doing nothing?
    Hey, send reminders.:)
     
  18. F150_Raptor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    355 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I'm still lurking around.

    @ mstenholm, when I ran windows I never ran any of the windows updates on my folding machines. Do you need to remote into them, or are you looking for a way to just monitor progress. I have HFM report each time it updates to a dropbox account that I have, which I can view from my cell phone. If a problem arises, them I call someone and have them go over and restart it.
     
    Steevo and mstenholm say thanks.
  19. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,047 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,154
    I only need to monitor them. I will look into the HFM method, once I'm back.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    You fold loco. :cool:
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  21. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,396 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    :)


    you goaded me so im at 1050 1250 ;)
     
  22. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    Max stable at 1068 :laugh:

    I wonder what 1.45 would net me as with A/C running and the house at 68F it is running 38C on the core.

    My memory sucks though, maxes out for F@H at 125x a few clicks above 1260 and I get issues with the units.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  23. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,396 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    i can get it to1100 but not stable at 1.32 max volts how you getting it to 1.45 as its watercooled so might do it with more v:)
     
  24. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    Yeah temps for me allowed huge gains at the same voltage. This card only ran for a few days before it had water on it. And it was a jump of over 200Mhz stable at the same voltage.

    I was thinking about putting it outside this winter as I run a antifreeze mix for coolant and see what a suicide run would get me in Vantage.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  25. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,396 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    so howd i get mine to 1.35-1.45? im brave enough its only a gfx card lol

    ive been thinkin up a phase change block but not had the money or time yet

    also steevo given your sys spec i wouldnt mind compareing benches m8 just to see what my ol cpu is saying as we have same gfx it would interest me greatly as i believe my mem bandwith to be my bottleneck

    also does the antifreeze help?
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (1 member and 0 guests)

Norton

Share This Page