1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's GTX 600 Owners Club!

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by 20mmrain, May 5, 2012.

  1. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    **TPU's GTX 600 Series Owners Club**

    *Note Decided to open to all GTX 600 Series Cards.

    [​IMG]

    The Idea came from getting tired of looking through a bunch of different threads here to find out information about the "GTX 600" Series. I have also seen the suggestion given a few times times by other TPU members.

    Useful Links for GTX 600 series Owners or Soon To Be Owners

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
    Alcpone, mauriek, Lionheart and 4 others say thanks.
  2. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I'll Start it off with mine!

    2 X EVGA GTX 680's SLI (Reference Cards) Water Cooled= EK Water Cooling Blocks w/ EK Backplates

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

  3. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Nice.What kind of oc do you get on water?
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,576 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,231
    this thread should be in the 'club' subsection part of the forum. not the Nvdia graphics section.
  5. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    20mmrain says thanks.
  6. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Ahh Shoot your Right! Maybe we can get a moderator to change that. I completely forgot about that section. I'll send a shout out to a couple of them.

    I can run about 1285Mhz Stable (1295Mhz Max) I am limited on voltage not Temps. The max Temps I have seen on an 80 degree day were 38c top card. That was overclocked running EVGA OC Scanner

    After thought.... Would it be better to open it up to all GTX 600 series owners???
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  7. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Nice rig 20mm, to bad you are one of only 5 people to have a GTX680 :( At least it's exclusive ;)

    :toast:
  8. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Well that is what I was asking.... Should I open this up to all GTX 600 Series owners???

    Actually I think I will

    I requested a title change and change of location to the Club area. If the accept the change it will be TPU's GTX 600 Series Owners Club
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  9. Animalpak

    Animalpak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,079 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    c mon MOAR pics !!
  10. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    Happy GTX 680 owner here :)

    Although I have to admit its a shame that there is a somewhat low limit on the voltage. Max temperatures I've seen on my card is 53° C but I can't pass 1205 MHz without getting TDRs. :(

    These cards definitely feel voltage deprived lol.
  11. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    looks rubbish compared to 20mm but i'll just blame it on my phone camera,

    I too wish these could have more voltage, Does anyone know if anyone else apart from EVGA will be making backplates? i think they look awesome but seems wrong to put EVGA backplate on mine when its not

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Lionheart says thanks.
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Which make is that 680 bud? So I can post your name?

    Nice set up man.... I think your system looks sick.
    Finners says thanks.
  13. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    its a PNY
  14. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    839 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Galaxy GTX 680 here! I'll post some pics when there's better light, its crappy out and the lighting sucks in here.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: May 8, 2012
  15. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    I'll Post whether reference or not once you post the pics. I believe you have it.... so I'll just wait for the pics :) to finish it off.
  16. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,033 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    797
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    I will be getting one shortly but they are just so damn expensive here in Aus:( but I'm sure I can find one for a decent price:toast:

    Very nice setup 20mm & Finners:)
  17. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,328 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    746

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 6, 2012
    20mmrain, Lionheart and Animalpak say thanks.
  18. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Sure can.... nice card BTW. I have always been a fan of that brands Logo... To bad I can't get a hold of one :( in the US. I would totally switch brands just because of looks. I know I know stupid :).... and yes I know it looks just a like a re-branded Galaxy.
  19. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,891 (6.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,191
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I plan to join this club in june when I get my Evga Superclocked+ Signature edition with the backplate GTX680! :) :)
    20mmrain says thanks.
  20. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    I felt I should contribute to feed the need for pictures so here we go :)

    [​IMG]

    I forgot to mention I have a GELID ICY VISION installed :)

    [​IMG]

    and here is my current OC.

    [​IMG]

    Yeah, I'm an old school air cooling kind of guy :)
    20mmrain says thanks.
  21. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Looks good to me... Hey I salute Air cooling.... not long ago with my HD 7970 setup.... I had two Artic Cooling heat sinks on those before I upgraded to water cooling. Your rig looks awesome man .... Welcome!!
    Tardan says thanks.
  22. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,328 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    746
    well i was thinking about an EVGA card, but they was always out of stuck and always every since i had money for a GTX680 and Palit's JetStream GTX 680 came too late so i am after a cooler but i dunno maybe the new closed water cooler from AC or a Gelid Icy Vision again bcs Tardan showed me it can be mounted even i only want my card to still be only 2 slots.

    thx Tardan for confirming that a Gelid Icy Vision can fit on a reference GTX 680 pcb.
  23. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,772 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    Thats funny got a second card??? LOL Wanna trade :D

    On a separate note.... I guess this as good as time as any to dive in to a GTX 680 conversation.....

    I am noticing everyone posting their screen shots with their clocks and overclocks. I would love to do that but for some reason.... my clocks don't represent correctly in GPU-Z. Here's what I mean....

    Under the main tab it reads:
    Base Clock: 1006
    Boost Clock: 1059 >Just like everyone else.

    But my cards (because of Nvidia's Boost technology) Actually run at
    Base Clock:1006
    Boost Clock: 1124 >No I did not flash the BIOS

    It shows the correct higher Clocks under the GPU-Z Sensors Tab
    It also shows the correct higher clocks under EVGA On Screen Display, EVGA Precision X and half a dozen other monitoring programs....
    But it does not show the correct clocks (Stock or While Overclocked) under GPU-Z Main Tab

    I am fairly confident that the higher clocks are correct.... (because several other programs are showing the higher clocks.) I have also heard and read that just because Nvidia says the GTX 680's clocks are 1006 and 1059 that does not mean that people won't receive cards that actually run higher then Nvidia's Minimum clocks. (As long as your card stays under Nvidia's thermal limit your cards can keep in creasing by so many MHZ)
    It's just frustrating I can't show my real overclock as easily....If you look at GPU-z Main page it will show a
    Boost clock of 1220Mhz (When in reality)
    its a boost clock of 1285Mhz

    Like I said I have talked with overs in other forums experiencing this... and I am sure I have figured out why.... but is anyone else here at TPU experiencing something like this?.
    Last edited: May 5, 2012
  24. Finners

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    127 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    yeah i get similar, mine goes up to 1226 i think then drops down to 1215 when the temps creep up. but gpu-z shows 1203.

    As far as i know nvidia have set it to have a maximum boost of 1124 if the temps are low enough for them to think its safe, as your under water that would be why. the 53Mhz boost GPU-z reads is the minimum the card will boost
  25. Tardan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    100 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Canada
    My pleasure, glad to help :)

    I have the exact same symptoms. Not sure why it does that, the only way I can figure out my true boost clock is by enabling the OSD on Precision X. I get a rock solid 1256 MHz when I'm playing games or benchmarking on the OSD. In GPU-Z, it only says 1204 MHz boost clock. It's only a minor issue for me, but it would be nice to know why it happens.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page